NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 73RD SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE SECOND SESSION (2002-2005) OF THE EIGHTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD AT 2.00 P.M.

ON THURSDAY, 24TH NOVEMBER, 2005 IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, BRICKDAM, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (69)

Speaker (1)

The Hon. Hari N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government (38)

- (i) People's Progressive Party/Civic (34)
- (ii) Non-elected Ministers (3)
- (iii) The United Force (1)

The Hon. Samuel A.A. Hinds, M.P., Prime Minister and Minister of Public Works and Communications (Absent - performing the functions of Office of the President)

The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs

The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Minister of Foreign Trade and International Co-operation

The Hon. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P., Minister of Local Government and Regional Development

The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs

The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Minister of Education

The Hon. Saisnarine Kowlessar, M.P., Minister of Finance

The Hon. Shaik K.Z. Baksh, M.P., Minister of Housing and Water

The Hon. Rev. Dr. Ramnauth D.A. Bisnauth, M.P., Minister of Labour, Human Services and Social Security

The Hon. Clinton C. Collymore, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development

- The Hon. Satyadeow Sawh, M.P., Minister of Fisheries, Other Crops and Livestock (Region No. 5 Mahaica/Berbice) (Absent)
- * The Hon. S. Rudolph Insanally, O.R., C.C.H., M.P., Minister in the Office of the President with responsibility for Foreign Affairs (Absent on leave)
- * The Hon. Doodnauth Singh, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs

The Hon. Dr. Jennifer R.A. Westford, M.P., Minister of the Public Service

The Hon. C. Anthony Xavier, M.P., Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport

The Hon. Bibi S. Shadick, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Labour, Human Services and Social Security (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

** The Hon. Manzoor Nadir, M.P., Minister of Tourism, Industry and Commerce
The Hon. Carolyn Rodrigues, M.P., Minister of Amerindian Affairs (Absent)

* The Hon. Harry Narine Nawbatt, M.P., Minister of Transport and Hydraulics (Absent - on leave)

The Hon. Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P., Minister of Health

Mr. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Chief Whip

Mr. Cyril C.L. Belgrave, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Donald R. Ramotar, M.P. (Absent)

Mr. Husman Alli, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Mr. Komal Chand, C.C.H., J.P., M.P.

Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P.

Mr. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

Mrs. Shirley V. Edwards, J.P., M.P.

Mr. Odinga N. Lumumba, M.P.

Mr. Heeralall Mohan, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam)

Mr. Ramesh C. Rajkumar, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)

Dr. Bheri S. Ramsaran, M.D., M.P.

Mrs. Philomena Sahoye-Shury, C.C.H., J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Housing and Water

Mrs. Pauline R. Sukhai, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini) (Absent)

Dr. Moti Lall, C.C.H., M.P.

Mr. Zulfikar Mustapha, M.P.

Mr. Neendkumar, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica) (Absent)

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)

*Non-Elected Minister

**Elected Member from The United Force

Members of the Opposition (30)

(i) People's National Congress/Reform (27)

Mr. Robert H.O. Corbin, M.P.

Mr. Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P.

Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip

Mr. Ivor Allen, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam)

Mrs. Deborah J. Backer, M.P.

Mr. Deryck M.A. Bernard, M.P. (Absent)

Mr. C. Stanley Ming, M.P.

Mr. Vincent L. Alexander, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica) (Absent)

Mr. Basil Williams, M.P.

Mrs. Volda A. Lawrence, M.P.

Dr. Dalgleish Joseph, M.D., M.P.

Miss Amna Ally, M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)

Miss Sandra M. Adams, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)

Mr. Jerome Khan, M.P.

Dr. George A. Norton, M.P.

Miss Myrna E.N. Peterkin, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica) (Absent - on leave)

Mr. James K. McAllister, M.P. (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

Dr. Carl Max Hanoman, M.P.

Miss Lurlene A. Nestor, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica) (Absent)

Mr. Abdul Kadir, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)

Mr. Ricky Khan, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)

Mr. Raphael G.C. Trotman, M.P. (Absent)

Mrs. Rajcoomarie Bancroft, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni)

Mr. Nasir Ally, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)

Miss Judith David, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Miss Genevieve Allen, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica) (Absent)

(ii) Guyana Action Party/Working People's Alliance (2)

Mrs. Sheila V.A. Holder, M.P.

Mrs. Shirley J. Melville, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)

(iii) Rise, Organise and Rebuild Party (1)

Mr. Ravindra Dev, M.P.

OFFICERS

Mrs. Lilawtie Coonjah, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

Mr. Maurice B. Henry, Head of Committees Division

COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The sitting commenced at 2.15p.m.

PRAYERS

The Deputy Clerk read prayers.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC.

By the Speaker (Chairman of the Committee of Selection):

Minutes of Proceedings of the 15th Meeting of the Committee of Selection held on 3rd November, 2005.

(Circulated)

STATEMENTS BY MINISTERS

The Minister of Foreign Trade and International Cooperation made the following statements:

- 1. On the level of price cut for ACP sugar exported to the EU; and
- 2. On the meeting of Trade Ministers of the World Trade Organisation (WTO) in Hong Kong for the Sixth WTO Ministerial Conference on December 13 18, 2005 to assess the state of play in the current Doha Development trade negotiations and renew relevant mandates for the conclusion of the negotiations by the end of 2006.

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS

Presentation and First Reading

LOCAL AUTHORITIES (ELECTIONS) (AMENDMENT) BILL 2005 - Bill No. 19/2005

The Minister of Local Government and Regional Development, on behalf of the Government, presented the following Bill which was read the first time:

A BILL intituled AN ACT to amend the Local Authorities (Elections)

Act to provide for the postponement of elections of councillors of local democratic organs.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

BILLS - Second Readings

ITEM 1 HIGH COURT (AMENDMENT) BILL 2005 - Bill No. 17/2005 published on 2005-11-09

The Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, informed the Assembly that he had received a letter from the PNC/R requesting a deferment of the second reading of the above Bill on account of representations made by the Leader of the Opposition to the President.

Thereafter, the second reading of the following Bill was deferred:

A BILL intituled AN ACT to amend the High Court Act. (Read a first time on 2005-11-10)

ITEM 2 - COMPETITION AND FAIR TRADING BILL 2005 - Bill No. 18/2005 published on 2005-11-09

At the request of the Minister of Tourism, Industry and Commerce, the second reading of the following Bill was deferred:

A BILL intituled AN ACT to promote, maintain and encourage competition and to prohibit the prevention, restriction or distortion of competition and the abuse of dominant positions in trade; to promote the welfare and interests of consumers, to establish a Competition Commission and for connected matters.

(Read a first time on 2005-11-10)

ADJOURNMENT

At 2.30 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, the Assembly was adjourned to Wednesday, 30th November, 2005.

HON. HARI N. RAMKARRAN, S.C., M.P.,

LAW CREE Learian

Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE,
Public Buildings,
Georgetown.

24th November, 2005.