NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 81ST SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE SECOND SESSION (2002-2006) OF THE EIGHTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD AT 2.00 P.M.

ON TUESDAY, 31ST JANUARY, 2006 IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, BRICKDAM, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (69)

Speaker (1)

The Hon. Hari N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government (38)

- (i) People's Progressive Party/Civic (34)
- (ii) Non-elected Ministers (3)
- (iii) The United Force (1)
- The Hon. Samuel A.A. Hinds, M.P., Prime Minister and Minister of Public Works and Communications (Absent on leave)

The Hon, Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs

The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Minister of Foreign Trade and International Co-operation

The Hon. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P., Minister of Local Government and Regional Development

The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs

The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Minister of Education

The Hon. Saisnarine Kowlessar, M.P., Minister of Finance (Absent)

The Hon. Shaik K.Z. Baksh, M.P., Minister of Housing and Water

The Hon. Rev. Dr. Ramnauth D.A. Bisnauth, M.P., Minister of Labour, Human Services and Social Security

The Hon. Clinton C. Collymore, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development

- The Hon. Satyadeow Sawh, M.P., Minister of Fisheries, Other Crops and Livestock (Region No. 5 Mahaica/Berbice) (Absent)
- * The Hon. S. Rudolph Insanally, O.R., C.C.H., M.P., Minister in the Office of the President with responsibility for Foreign Affairs (Absent on leave)
- * The Hon. Doodnauth Singh, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs
 - The Hon. Dr. Jennifer R.A. Westford, M.P., Minister of the Public Service
 - The Hon. C. Anthony Xavier, M.P., Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport (Absent)
 - The Hon. Bibi S. Shadick, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Labour, Human Services and Social Security (Region No. 3 Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)
- ** The Hon. Manzoor Nadir, M.P., Minister of Tourism, Industry and Commerce
 The Hon. Carolyn Rodrigues, M.P., Minister of Amerindian Affairs
- * The Hon. Harry Narine Nawbatt, M.P., Minister of Transport and Hydraulics

The Hon. Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P., Minister of Health

Mr. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Chief Whip

Mr. Cyril C.L. Belgrave, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Donald R. Ramotar, M.P.

Mr. Husman Alli, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Mr. Komal Chand, C.C.H., J.P., M.P.

Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P.

Mr. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica) (Absent)

Mrs. Shirley V. Edwards, J.P., M.P.

Mr. Odinga N. Lumumba, M.P.

Mr. Heeralall Mohan, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam)

Mr. Ramesh C. Rajkumar, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)

Dr. Bheri S. Ramsaran, M.D., M.P.

Mrs. Philomena Sahoye-Shury, C.C.H., J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Housing and Water

Mrs. Pauline R. Sukhai, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)

Dr. Moti Lall, C.C.H., M.P.

Mr. Zulfikar Mustapha, M.P.

Mr. Neendkumar, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)

*Non-Elected Minister

**Elected Member from The United Force

Members of the Opposition (30)

() People's National Congress/Reform (27)

Mr. Robert H.O. Corbin, M.P. (Absent -on leave)

Mr. Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P.

Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly (Absent on leave)

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip

Mr. Ivor Allen, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam)

Mrs. Deborah J. Backer, M.P.

Mr. Deryck M.A. Bernard, M.P.

Mr. C. Stanley Ming, M.P.

Mr. Vincent L. Alexander, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Basil Williams, M.P.

Mrs. Volda A. Lawrence, M.P.

Dr. Dalgleish Joseph, M.D., M.P.

Miss Amna Ally, M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)

Miss Sandra M. Adams, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)

Mr. Jerome Khan, M.P. (Absent)

Dr. George A. Norton, M.P. (Absent)

Miss Myrna E.N. Peterkin, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica) (Absent - on leave)

Mr. James K. McAllister, M.P. (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West Demerara) (Absent)

Dr. Carl Max Hanoman, M.P. (Absent)

Mr. Joseph Hamilton, M.P.

Mr. Abdul Kadir, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)

Mr. Ricky Khan, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)

Mr. Dave Danny, M.P.

Mrs. Rajcoomarie Bancroft, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni)

Mr. Nasir Ally, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)

Miss Judith David, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Miss Genevieve Allen, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

(ii) Guyana Action Party/Working People's Alliance (2)

Mrs. Sheila V.A. Holder, M.P.

Mrs. Shirley J. Melville, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)

(iii) Rise, Organise and Rebuild Party (1)

Mr. Ravindra Dev, M.P. (Absent)

OFFICERS

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Clerk of the National Assembly
Mrs. Lilawtie Coonjah, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The sitting commenced at 2.14p.m.

PRAYERS

The Clerk read prayers.

MOTION

BUDGET SPEECH 2006 - MOTION FOR THE APPROVAL OF THE

ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 2006

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 2006.

(Moved by the Minister of Finance on 2006-01-23)

The following Members spoke to the motion:

Mr. Vincent Alexander,

The Minister in the Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development,

Mr. Stanley Ming,

The Minister of Housing and Water was speaking to the motion when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.32 p.m., the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 5.17 p.m., the sitting was resumed.

The Minister of Housing and Water continued and concluded his speech.

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

Mrs. Volda Lawrence,

The Minister of the Public Service

and

Mr. Abdul Kadir.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 7.28 p.m., the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 8.02 p.m., the sitting was resumed.

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

The Minister of Amerindian Affairs,

Mr. Nazir Ally,

Mr. Ramesh Rajkumar,

Miss Rajcoomarie Bancroft, Mr. Heeralall Mohan

Presiding by Mr. Neendkumar

While Mr. Heeralall Mohan speaking to the motion, the Speaker withdrew for a short while from the sitting and Mr. Neendkumar presiding during his temporary absence.

Mrs. Shirley Edwards also spoke to the motion.

ADJOURNMENT

At 10.10 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, the sitting was adjourned to Wednesday, 1st February, 2006.

HON. HARI N. RAMKARRAN, S.C., J.P.,

May learnay

Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE,
Public Buildings,
Georgetown

31st January, 2006.