NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 74TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (2012-2014) OF THE TENTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON WEDNESDAY, 2ND APRIL, 2014 IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, BRICKDAM, GEORGETOWN.

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (68)

Speaker (1)

The Hon Raphael G.C. Trotman, M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNMENT (34)

(i) People's Progressive Party/Civic (34)

Hon. Samuel A.A. Hinds, O.E., M.P., Prime Minister and Minister of Parliamentary Affairs

Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs

Hon. Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P., Minister of Agriculture

Hon. Mohabir A. Nandlall, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica), Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs

Hon. Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett, M.P. (Region No. 9 – Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo), Minister of Foreign Affairs

Hon. Dr. Ashni K. Singh, M.P., Minister of Finance

Hon. Robert M. Persaud, M.P. (Region No. 6 – East Berbice/Corentyne),

Minister of Natural Resources and Environment

Hon. Dr. Jennifer Westford, M.P. (Region No. 7 – Cuyuni/Mazaruni),

Minister of the Public Service

Hon. Dr. Bheri S. Ramsarran, M.P., Minister of Health

Hon. Mohamed I. Alli, M.P., Minister of Housing and Water

Hon. Dr. Frank C.S. Anthony, M.P., Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport

Hon. Brindley H.R. Benn, M.P., Minister of Public Works

Hon. Priya D. Manickchand, M.P. (Region No. 5 – Mahaica/Berbice), Minister of Education

Hon. Jennifer I.M. Webster, M.P., Minister of Human Services and Social Security

Hon. Pauline Campbell-Sukhai, M.P., Minister of Amerindian Affairs

*Hon. Dr. Nanda K. Gopaul, M.P., Minister of Labour

Hon. Alli Baksh, M.P. (Region No. 2 – Pomeroon/Supernaam), Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture

Hon. Norman A. Whittaker, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 1 – Barima/Waini), Minister in the Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development

Hon. Bishop Juan A. Edghill, M.S., J.P., M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Finance

Ms Gail Teixeira, M.P., Government Chief Whip

Mr. Manzoor Nadir, M.P.

Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Bibi S. Shadick, M.P. (Region No. 3 – Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

Mr. Ganga Persaud, M.P.

Mr. Komal Chand, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Region No. 3 – Essequibo Islands/ West Demerara)

Mr. Odinga Lumumba, M.P.

Mr. Neendkumar, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Dharamkumar Seeraj, M.P.

Dr. Vishwa D.B. Mahadeo, M.P.

Rev. Dr. Kwame A. Gilbert, M.P.

**Mr. Joseph Hamilton, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Health

Dr. Vindhya Vasini Persaud, M.S., M.P.

Mr. Cornel Damon, M.P. (Region No. 2 – Pomeroon/Supernaam)

Mr. Faizal M. Jafarally, M.P. (Region No. 6 – East Berbice/Corentyne)

Members of the Opposition (33)

(ii) Members of A Partnership for National Unity(26)

Brigadier (Ret'd) David A. Granger, M.S.S., M.P., Leader of the Opposition

Dr. Rupert Roopnarine, M.P.

Ms Amna Ally, M.P., Opposition Chief Whip

Mr. Basil Williams, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica), Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Mrs. Volda Lawrence, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Dr. George Norton, M.P.

**Non-Elected Member

Mr. Carl B. Greenidge, M.P.

Lieutenant Colonel (Ret'd) Joseph F. Harmon, M.S.M., M.P.

Mr. Ronald A. Bulkan, M.P.

Mr. Keith Scott, M.P.

Ms Dawn Hastings-Williams, M.P. (Region No. 7 – Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Mr. Winston Felix, D.S.M., M.P.

Dr. Karen Cummings, M.P.

Ms Jennifer J. Wade, M.P. (Region No. 5 – Mahaica/Berbice)

Mr. Sydney Allicock, M.S., M.P.

Ms Africo Selman, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Desmond Trotman, M.P.

Mr. James A. Bond, M.P.

Mr. Jaipaul Sharma, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica) (Absent – on leave)

Ms Vanessa Kissoon, M.P. (Region No. 10 – Upper Demerara/Upper Berbice)

Mrs. Mabel Baveghems, M.P.

Mr. John Adams, M.P. (Region No. 3 – Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

Mr. Christopher A. Jones, M.P.

Mr. Renis Morian, M.P. (Region No. 10 – Upper Demerara/Upper Berbice)

Ms Rennita L. Williams, M.P. (Region No. 1 – Barima/Waini)

Miss Annette N. Ferguson, M.P.

(iii) Members of The Alliance For Change (7)

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P.

Mr. Moses Nagamootoo, J.P., M.P.

Mrs. Catherine Hughes, M.P.

Mrs. Valerie Garrido-Lowe, M.P.

Dr. Veersammy Ramayya, M.P. (Region No. 6 – East Berbice/Corentyne)

Ms June Eula Marcello, M.P. (Region No. 8 – Potaro/Siparuni)

Mr. Trevor Williams, M.P.

OFFICERS

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Clerk of the National Assembly

Ms Hermina Gilgeours, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly (a.g.)

COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The Sitting commenced at 2.22 p.m.

PRAYERS

The Clerk read the prayers.

5.

QUESTIONS ON NOTICE-

For Written Replies

1. CONSTRUCTION OF THE PARAMAKATOI PRIMARY SCHOOL

Member Asking: Mrs. June Marcello, M.P.

Minister Answering: The Minister of Education

(i) Could the Hon. Minister tell this House why construction of the Paramakatoi Primary School, Region 8 that started in April, 2012, has not been completed?

(ii) Could the Hon. Minister tell this House when construction of the Paramakatoi Primary School would be completed?

(Notice Paper No. 293 (Q 195 Opp. 193) published on 2014-02-13)

The Minister of Education did not pass copies of the answer to the above question to the Clerk of the National Assembly for circulation to Members at that sitting, as required by Standing Order No. 22(4).

PERSONAL EXPLANATIONS-

The Minister of Education gave the following personal explanation:

Remarks made by Hon. Priya Manickchand, M.P.

"Sir, may it please you, Mr. Speaker, I made a remark yesterday while Mrs. Lawrence was speaking and I want to make it clear that, that remark was not intended to disrupt Mrs. Lawrence, in fact I have said that to her myself, or to in any way disrupt the House and/or offend your Honour in any way."

PUBLIC BUSINESS

(i) GOVERNMENT'S BUSINESS

MOTION

BUDGET SPEECH 2014 – MOTION FOR THE APPROVAL OF THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 2014

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 2014.

(Moved by the Minister of Finance on 2014-03-24)

The following Members spoke to the motion:

Dr. George Norton

The Minister of Health

Mrs. Catherine Hughes

Mr. Cornel Damon

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 5.05 p.m., the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 5.55 p.m., the sitting was resumed.

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

Ms Jennifer Wade

The Minister in the Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development

Ms Annette Ferguson

Mr. Ganga Persaud

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 7.53 p.m., the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 8.16 p.m., the sitting was resumed.

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

Ms Dawn Hastings

The Minister in the Ministry of Finance

Mr. Faizal Jafarally

ADJOURNMENT

At 9.47 p.m., on a motion by the Prime Minister and Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m., on Thursday, 3rd April, 2014.

•••••

HON. RAPHAEL G.C. TROTMAN, M.P.,

Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE,

Public Buildings,

Brickdam,

Georgetown.