NATIONAL ASSEMBLY MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE 78TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (2012-2014) OF THE TENTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD <u>AT 2.00 P.M.</u> ON TUESDAY, 8TH APRIL, 2014 IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, BRICKDAM, GEORGETOWN.

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (68)

Speaker (1)

The Hon Raphael G.C. Trotman, M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNMENT (34)

(i) <u>People's Progressive Party/Civic (34)</u>

Hon. Samuel A.A. Hinds, O.E., M.P., Prime Minister and Minister of Parliamentary Affairs

Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs

Hon. Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P., Minister of Agriculture

Hon. Mohabir A. Nandlall, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica),

Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs

Hon. Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett, M.P. (Region No. 9 – Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo), Minister of Foreign Affairs

Hon. Dr. Ashni K. Singh, M.P., Minister of Finance

Hon. Robert M. Persaud, M.P. (Region No. 6 – East Berbice/Corentyne), Minister of Natural Resources and Environment

Hon. Dr. Jennifer Westford, M.P. (Region No. 7 – Cuyuni/Mazaruni),

Minister of the Public Service

- Hon. Dr. Bheri S. Ramsarran, M.P., Minister of Health
- Hon. Mohamed I. Alli, M.P., Minister of Housing and Water
- Hon. Dr. Frank C.S. Anthony, M.P., Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport

Hon. Brindley H.R. Benn, M.P., Minister of Public Works

Hon. Priya D. Manickchand, M.P. (Region No. 5 – Mahaica/Berbice), Minister of Education

Hon. Jennifer I.M. Webster, M.P., Minister of Human Services and Social Security

Hon. Pauline Campbell-Sukhai, M.P., Minister of Amerindian Affairs

*Hon. Dr. Nanda K. Gopaul, M.P., Minister of Labour

Hon. Alli Baksh, M.P. (Region No. 2 – Pomeroon/Supernaam), Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture

Hon. Norman A. Whittaker, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 1 – Barima/Waini), Minister in the Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development

Hon. Bishop Juan A. Edghill, M.S., J.P., M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Finance

Ms Gail Teixeira, M.P., Government Chief Whip

Mr. Manzoor Nadir, M.P.

Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Bibi S. Shadick, M.P. (Region No. 3 – Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

Mr. Ganga Persaud, M.P.

*Non-Elected Minister

- Mr. Komal Chand, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Region No. 3 Essequibo Islands/ West Demerara)
- Mr. Odinga Lumumba, M.P.
- Mr. Neendkumar, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica)
- Mr. Dharamkumar Seeraj, M.P.
- Dr. Vishwa D.B. Mahadeo, M.P.
- Rev. Dr. Kwame A. Gilbert, M.P.
- **Mr. Joseph Hamilton, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Health
- Dr. Vindhya Vasini Persaud, M.S., M.P.
- Mr. Cornel Damon, M.P. (Region No. 2 Pomeroon/Supernaam)
- Mr. Faizal M. Jafarally, M.P. (Region No. 6 East Berbice/Corentyne)

Members of the Opposition (33)

(ii) <u>Members of A Partnership for National Unity(26)</u>

Brigadier (Ret'd) David A. Granger, M.S.S., M.P., Leader of the Opposition

Dr. Rupert Roopnarine, M.P.

Ms Amna Ally, M.P., Opposition Chief Whip

Mr. Basil Williams, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica), Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Mrs. Volda Lawrence, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Dr. George Norton, M.P.

****Non-Elected Member**

- Mr. Carl B. Greenidge, M.P.
- Lieutenant Colonel (Ret'd) Joseph F. Harmon, M.S.M., M.P.
- Mr. Ronald A. Bulkan, M.P.
- Mr. Keith Scott, M.P.
- Ms Dawn Hastings-Williams, M.P. (Region No. 7 Cuyuni/Mazaruni)
- Mr. Winston Felix, D.S.M., M.P.
- Dr. Karen Cummings, M.P.
- Ms Jennifer J. Wade, M.P. (Region No. 5 Mahaica/Berbice)
- Mr. Sydney Allicock, M.S., M.P.
- Ms Africo Selman, M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica)
- Mr. Desmond Trotman, M.P.
- Mr. James A. Bond, M.P.
- Mr. Ernest Elliot, M.P., (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica)
- Ms Vanessa Kissoon, M.P. (Region No. 10 Upper Demerara/Upper Berbice)
- Mrs. Mabel Baveghems, M.P.
- Mr. John Adams, M.P. (Region No. 3 Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)
- Mr. Christopher A. Jones, M.P.
- Mr. Renis Morian, M.P. (Region No. 10 Upper Demerara/Upper Berbice)
- Ms Rennita L. Williams, M.P. (Region No. 1 Barima/Waini)
- Miss Annette N. Ferguson, M.P.

(iii)<u>Members of The Alliance For Change (7)</u>

- Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P.
- Mr. Moses Nagamootoo, J.P., M.P.
- Mrs. Catherine Hughes, M.P.
- Mrs. Valerie Garrido-Lowe, M.P.
- Dr. Veersammy Ramayya, M.P. (Region No. 6 East Berbice/Corentyne)
- Ms June Eula Marcello, M.P. (Region No. 8 Potaro/Siparuni)
- Mr. Trevor Williams, M.P.

OFFICERS

- Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Clerk of the National Assembly
- Ms Hermina Gilgeours, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly (a.g.)

COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The Sitting commenced at 2.03 p.m.

PRAYERS

The Clerk read the prayers.

OATH OF A NEW MEMBER

Mr. Ernest Elliot

The Speaker informed Members, that following the resignation of Mr. Jaipaul Sharma and his call upon the Representatives of A Partnership For National Unity List of Candidates, he had been informed that the name of Mr. Ernest Elliot was extracted from the list and that Mr. Elliot was on the 7th April, 2014, declared to be an elected Member of the National Assembly.

The Speaker stated that before Mr. Elliot could take part in the proceedings of the Assembly, he would have to make and subscribe the oath before the Assembly, as required by Article 167 of Constitution.

As Mr. Elliot was present, the oath was administered to him by the Clerk.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Congratulation to Mr. Ernest Elliot

The Speaker, on behalf of the Assembly and himself, congratulated Mr. Ernest Elliot on his return to the Assembly as a Member, after serving in the 9th Parliament. The Speaker also welcomed him to the Assembly and extended best wishes to him.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

(i) <u>GOVERNMENT'S BUSINESS</u>

MOTION

BUDGET SPEECH 2014 – MOTION FOR THE APPROVAL OF THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 2014

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 2014.

(Moved by the Minister of Finance on 2014-03-24)

The following Members spoke to the motion:

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan

The Prime Minister and Minister of Parliamentary Affairs

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.40 p.m., the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 5.35 p.m., the sitting was resumed.

Brig. (Ret'd) David Granger also spoke to the motion.

Thereafter, the Minister of Finance replied.

CONCLUSION OF BUDGET DEBATE

Following the conclusion of the general debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 2014, the Assembly resolved itself into Committee of Supply to consider and dispose of the Report of the Business Sub-Committee of the Committee of Supply.

In Committee of Supply

The Speaker reported that the Business Sub-Committee of the Committee of Supply met on Monday, 7th April, 2014, considered the allocation of time for the consideration of the 2014 Estimates of Expenditure in the Committee of Supply, and passed a Resolution on the matter.

8.

/...9

Copies of the Sub-Committee's Minutes, Resolution and Time Table were circulated to Members at that day's sitting on Tuesday, 8th April, 2014.

On a motion by the Minister of Finance, the Committee of Supply agreed with the Business Sub-Committee in its Resolution.

The Speaker stated that in accordance with the Resolution, the Committee of Supply would commence consideration of the 2014 Estimates of Expenditure on Wednesday, 9th April, 2014.

Assembly resumed

ADJOURNMENT

At 7.58p.m., on a motion by the Prime Minister and Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m., on Wednesday, 9th April, 2014.

HON. RAPHAEL G.C. TROTMAN, M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Brickdam, Georgetown.

8th April, 2014.