NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 3RD SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (1992-1993) OF THE SIXTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON FRIDAY, 8th JANUARY, 1993

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (72)

Speaker (1)

The Hon. Derek C. Jagan, S.C., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's Progressive Party/Civie (42)

- The Hon. Samuel A. Hinds, M.P., Prime Minister
- The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Senior Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House)
- The Hon. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Senior Minister of Home Affairs (Government Chief Whip)
- The Hon. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P., Senior Minister in the Ministry of Public Works, Communications and Regional Development
- *The Hon. Asgar Ally, M.P., Senior Minister of Finance
- *The Hon. Rev. Dr. Ramnauth Bisnauth, M.P., Senior Minister of Education and Cultural Development
- *The Hon. Bernard C. DeSantas, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs
- *The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Senior Minister of Labour, Human Services and Social Security
- The Hon. Moses V. Nægamaotoa, M.P., Senier Minister in the Office of the President
- The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Senior Minister of Foreign Affairs
- The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Senior Minister of Health
- The Hon. M. Shree Chan, M.P., Senier Minister of Trade, Teurism and Industry (Absent)
- Ms Janet Jagan, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- The Hon. Clinton C. Callymere, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture
- The Hon. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Labour, Human Services and Social Security
- *The Hon. F. Vibert DeSauza, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Public Works, Communications and Regional Development
- *The Hon. George E. Fung-On, M.P., Minister in the Office of the President

/....

^{*}Non-elected Member

```
Mr. Cyril C. Belgrave, M.P.
Mr. Brindley H. Benn, M.P.
Mr. Fazil M. Ali, M.P.
Mr. Husman Alli, M.P.
Mr. Shaik K.Z. Baksh M.P.
Mr. Komal Chand, M.P.
Ms Shirley V. Edwards, M.P.
Mr. Randolph Evans, M.P.
Dr. Hughley H. Hanoman, M.P.
Ms Una A. James, M.P.
Mr. Alston A. Kissoon, M.P.
Dr. Moti Lall, M.P.
Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P.
Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P.
Mr. Lawrence E. Rodney, 'M.P.
Ms Pauline Sukhai, M.P.
Mr. Winslow M. Zephyr, M.P.
Mr. Khadim Bacchus, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)
Mr. Samad A. Baksh, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam)
Mr. Harrinarine Baldeo, M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)
Mr. Joseph M. DeSouza, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)
Mr. Eugene La Cruz, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)
Mr. Bagot Paul, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni)
Mr. Kum Karan Ramdass, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)
Mr. Ramratan, M.P. a/k Balkarran (Region No. 3 - Escequibe Islands/
   West Demerara)
```

Members of the Minority (29)

(i) People's National Congress (26)

```
Mr. H. Desmond Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minority Leader
Mr. Sase Narain, O.R., S.C., J.P., M.P. Mr. Robert H.O. Corbin, M.P.
Mr. Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P.
Dr. Patrick L. McKenzie, A.A., M.P., Chief Whip
Ms Clarissa Riehl, M.P.
Dr. Kenneth F.S. King, M.P.
Mr. Deryck M.A. Bernard, M.P.
Dr. Faith A. Harding, M.P.
Ms Amna Ally, M.P.
Ms Jean M.G. Persico, A.A., M.P.
Mr. Arthur A. Alexander, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly
Mr. Simon H. Ng-See-Quan, M.P.
Mr. Dunstan Barrow, M.P.
Mr. David Subnauth, M.P.
Mr. Reynold N. David, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)
Ms Jennifer A. Ferreira, M.P.
Mr. Aftabuddin Ahamad, M.P.
Mr. Kenrick Tyndall, M.P.
Mr. Phillip Bynoe, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)
Mr. Andy Gouveia, M.P.
Mr. Hukumehand, M.P. a/k Parag, Ms Joan C. Richards, M.P.
Ms Gwenneth A. Brouet, M.P.
Mr. John A. Fredricks, M.P.
Mr. Ivan Peters, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)
```

(ii) Working People's Alliance (2)

Dr. Clive Y. Thomas, M.P.

Mr. Matheson Williams, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)

(iii) The United Force (1)

Mr. Manzoor Nadir, M.P.

OFFICERS

Mr. Frank A. Narain, A.A., Clerk of the National Assembly Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

<u>Leave</u>

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Ms Janet Jagan for that day's sitting.

MOTIONS RELATING TO THE BUSINESS OR SITTINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY AND MOVED BY A MINISTER -

Suspension of Standing Order No. 46(2)

The Senier Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House) maved the following motion which was put and <u>carried</u>:

RESOLVED, That Standing Order No. 46(2) be suspended to anable the Assembly to proceed at its sitting on Friday, 8th January, 1993, with the second reading and the remaining stages of the Local Authorities (Postponement of Elections) Bill 1992 - Bill No. 32/1992 published 1992-12-31.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION -

ITEM 1 - APPROVAL OF GOVERNMENT'S POLICY IN PRESIDENT'S ADDRESS

Assembly resumed the debate on the following motion:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly expresses its sincere thanks and appreciation to His Excellency the President, Dr. Cheddi B. Jagan, for his Address to the National Assembly which was made on the occasion of the Ceremonial Opening of the First Session of the Sixth Parliament of Guyana on Thursday, 17th December, 1992, and approves of the policy adumbrated therein.

Mr. Arthur Alexander, Dr. Clive Thomas and Dr. Kenneth King spoke to the motion.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 3.57 p.m. the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.30 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

RESUMPTION OF DEBATE ON PRESIDENT'S ADDRESS

The Senior Minister of Finance and the Minority Leader spake to the motion.

The Senior Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House) replied.

Thereafter the motion was put and carried.

BILL - Second and Third Readings

ITEM 2 - LOCAL AUTHORITIES (POSTPONEMENT OF ELECTIONS) BILL 1992 - Bill No. 32/1992 published 1992-12-31

The Prime Minister moved the second reading of the following Bill:

A BILL intituled AN ACT to amend the Local Authorities (Elections) (Amendment) Act to provide for the postponement of elections of councillors of municipal councils.

Mr. Robert Corbin, Dr. Clive Thomas, Mr. Manzoor Nadir and the Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs spoke to the motion.

The motion was put and carried.

The Bill was read a second time and was thereafter taken through its remaining stages and passed with the following correction:

Clause 1 - the year "1993" was substituted for the year "1992" in the **short** title.

ADJOURNMENT

At 8.02 p.m., on a motion by the Senior Minister of Agriculture, (Leader of the House), the Assembly was adjourned to a date to be fixed.

Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OF FICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown.

11th January, 1993