NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 5TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (1992-1993) OF THE SIXTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 F

ON TUESDAY, 16TH MARCH, 1993

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHIMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (72)

Speaker (1)

The Hon. Derek C. Jacan, S.C., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's Progressive Party/Civic (42)

- The Hon. Samuel A. Hinds, M.P., Prime Minister (Absent on leave)
- The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Senior Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House)
- The Hon. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Senior Minister of Home Affairs (Government Chief Whip)
- The Hon. Harripersaud Mokta, M.P., Senior Minister in the Ministry of Public Works, Communications and Regional Development
- *The Hon. Asgar Ally, M.P., Senior Minister of Finance
- *The Hon. Rev. Dr. Ramneuth Bisnauth, M.P., Senior Minister of Education and Cultural Development
- *The Hon. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs
- *The Hon. Dr. Henry R. Jeffrey, M.F., Senior Minister of Labour, Human Services and Social Security
- The Hon. Moses V. Nacemootoo, M.P., Senior Minister in the Office of the President
- The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P.; Senior Minister of Foreign Affairs
- The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Senior Minister of Health
- The Hon. M. Shree Chan, M.P., Senior Minister of Trade, Tourism and Industry
- Ms Janet Janan, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- The Hon. Clinton C. Collymore, M.F., Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture
- The Hon. Indranic Chandarpal, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Labour, Human Services and Social Security
- *The Hon. F. Vibert DeSouza, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Public Works, Communications and Regional Development
- *The Hon. George E. Fung-On, M.P., Minister in the Office of the President

```
Mr. Cyril C. Belgrave, M.P.
Mr. Brindley H. Benn, M.P.
Mr.FazilM.Alı,M.P.
Mr.Husman Alli, M.P.
Mr. Shaik K.Z. Daksh, M.P.
Mr. Komal Chand, MP.
Ms Shirley V. Edwards
Mr. Randolph Evans, M. P
Dr. Hughley H. Hanoman, M. P
MsUna A. James, M.P.
Mr. Alston A. Kissoon, M.P.
Dr. MotiLall, M. P.
Mr.KhemrajRamjattan, M.P.
Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P
Mr. Lawrence E. Rodney, M.P.
MsPauline Sukhai, M.P.
Mr. Winslow M. Zephyr, M.P.
{\tt Mr.Khadim\,Bacchus}, {\tt M.P.(National\,Congress\,of\,Local\,Democratic\,Organs)\,Mr.\,Samad}
A.Baksh, M. P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam)
Mr. Harrinarine Baldec, M. P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)
Mr. Joseph M. DeSouza, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)
Mr. Eugene La La Cruz, M. P. (Region No. 9-Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo) Mr. Bagot
Paul, M. P. (Region No.8 - Potaro/Siparuni) (Absent)
Mr. Kum Karan Ramdass, M.P.(Region No, 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)
Mr. Ramratan, M.P.a/k Balkarran(Region No.3—Essequibo Islands/
     West Demerara)
```

Members of the Minority (29)

(i) People's National Concress (26)

```
Mr. H. Desmond Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minority Leader
Mr. Sase Narain, G.F., T.C., J.P., M.P.
Mr. Robert H.O. Corbin, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Mr. Winston S, Murray, C.C.H., M.P.
Dr. Patrick L. McKenzie, A. A., M P., Chief Whip
Ms Clarissa Riehl M.P.
Dr. Kenneth 7 3. King, M.P.
Mr. Deryck M. /. Bernard, M. P.
Dr. Faith A. Harding, M.F.
Ms Amna Ally, M,P.
Ms Jean M.G. Persico, A.A., M.F.
Mr. Arthur A. Alexande , M.P., Deputy Speaker of the
    National Assembly (Absent - on leave)
Mr. Simon H. Ng-See-Quan, M.P.
Mr. Dunstan Barrow, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Mr. David Subnauth, M.P.
Mr. Reynold N. David, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)
Ms Jennifer A. Ferreira, M.P. Mr. Aftabuddin Ahamad, M.P.
Mr. Kenrick Tyndall, M.P.
Mr. Phillip Bynoe, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)
Mr. Andy Gouveia, M.P.
Mr. Hukumchand, M.P. a/k Parag
Ms Joan C. Richards, M.P.
Ms Gwenneth A. Brouet, M.P.
Mr. John A. Fredericks, M.P.
Mr. Ivan Peters, M.P. (Region No. / Demerara/Mahaica)
```

(ii) Working People's Alliance (2)

Dr. Clive Y. Thomas, M.P.

Mr. Matheson Williams, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs) (Absent)

(iii) The United Force (1)

Mr. Manzoor Nadir, M.F.

OFFICERS

Mr. Frank A. Narain, A.A., Clerk of the National Assembly Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

AMMOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to:-

- (i) the Hon. Frime Minister for 16th and 17th March, 1993,
- (ii) Ms Janet Jagan up to the 19th March, 1993, and

INTRODUCTION OF FILLS -

Presentation and First Prading

(1) <u>SPIRITS (AMENDMENT) PILL 1993 - Bill No. 4/1993</u>

In accordance with article 171(2) of the Constitution, the Senior Minister of Finance signified Cabinet's recommendation and, on behalf of the Government, presented the following Bill which was read the first time:

A BILL intituled AN ACT to amend the Spirits Act.

(2) EXCISE PEGULATIONS (AMENDMENT) PILL 1993 - Bill No. 5/1993

In accordance with article 171(2) of the Constitution, the Senior Minister of Finance signified Cabinet's recommendation and, on behalf of the Government, presented the following Fill which was read the first time:

↑ PILL intituled AN ACT to amend the Excise Pegulations Act.

(3) CONSUMPTION TAX (AMENDMENT) BILL 1993 - Bill No. 6/1993

In accordance with article 171(2) of the Constitution, the Senior Minister of Finance signified Cabinet's recommendation and, on behalf of the Government, presented the following Bill which was read the first time:

A BILL intituled AN ACT to amend the Consumption Tax Act.

PUBLIC PUSINESS

MOTION

ITEM 1 - MOTION FOR THE APPROVAL OF THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1993

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1993.

The following Members spoke to the motion:

Dr. Kenneth F.S. King
The Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture
Mr. Hukumchand a/k Parag
The Minister in the Ministry of Public Works,
Communications and Regional Development
Mr. Phillip Bynoe

Mr. Cyril Belcrave was speaking to the motion when the time agreed for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 5.00 p.m. the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 5.35 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

Mr. Belgrave concluded his speech.

The following Members also spoke to the motion.

Dr. Clive Y. Thomas
Mr. Donald Ramotar
The Minister in the Ministry of Labour
Human Services and Social Security,
Ms Jean M.G. Persico
The Minister in the Office of the President
Mr. David Subnauth
Dr. Hughley H. Hanoman

ADJOURNMENT

At 8.30 p.m., on a motion by the Senior Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House) the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Wednesday, 17th March, 1993.

Speaker of the National Assembly

PAPLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Ruildings, Georgetown

16th March, 1993.