NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 15TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (1992-1993) OF THE SIXTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON FRIDAY, 16TH JULY, 1993

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (72)

Speaker (1)

The Hon. Derek C. Jagan, S.C., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's Progressive Party/Civic (42)

The Hon. Samuel A. Hinds, M.P., Prime Minister The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Senior Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House)

The Hon. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Senior Minister of Home Affairs (Government Chief Whip)

- The Hon. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P., Senior Minister in the Ministry of Public Works, Communications and Regional Development (Absent - on leave)
- *The Hon. Asgar Ally, M.P., Senior Minister of Finance
- *The Hon. Rev. Dr. Ramnauth Bisnauth, M.P., Senior Minister of Education and Cultural Development
- *The Hon. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs
- *The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Senior Minister of Labour, Human Services and Social Security
- The Hon. Moses V. Nagamootoo, M.P., Senior Minister of Information in the Office of the President
- The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Senior Minister of Foreign Affairs
- The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Senior Minister of Health
- The Hon. M. Shree Chan, M.P., Senior Minister of Trade, Tourism and Industry

Ms Janet Jagan, O.E., M.P.

- The Hon. Clinton C. Collymore, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture
- The Hon. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Labour, Human Services and Social Security
- *The Hon. F. Vibert DeSouza, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Public Works, Communications and Regional Development
- *The Hon. George E. Fung-On, M.P., Minister in the Office of the President

/...

٢

Mr. Cyril C. Belgrave, M.P. Mr. Fazil M. Alli, M.P. Mr. Husman Alli, M.P. Mr. Shaik K.Z. Baksh, M.P. Mr. Komal Chand, M.P. Ms Shirley V. Edwards, M.P. Mr. Randolph Evans, M.P. Dr. Hughley H. Hanoman, M.P. Ms Una A. James, M.P. Mr. Alston A. Kissoon, M.P. Dr. Moti Lall, M.P. Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P. Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P. Mr. Lawrence E. Rodney, M.P. Pauline Sukhai, M.P. Ms Mr. Winslow M. Zephyr, M.P. Mr. Khadim Bacchus, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs) Mr. Samad A. Baksh, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam) (Absent)
Mr. Harrinarine Baldeo, M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)
Mr. Joseph M. DeSouza, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini) Mr. Eugene La Cruz, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo) (Absent) Mr. Bagot Paul, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni) (Absent) Mr. Kum Karan Ramdas, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne) Mr. Ramrattan, M.P. a/k Balkarran (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

(There is one vacancy)

Members of the Minority (29)

(i) <u>People's National Congress</u> (26)

Mr. H. Desmond Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minority Leader (Absent - on leave) Mr. Sase Narain, O.R., S.C., J.P., M.P. Mr. Robert H.O. Corbin, M.P. Mr. Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P. Dr. Patrick L. McKenzie, A.A., M.P., Chief Whip Ms Clarissa Riehl, M.P. Dr. Kenneth F.S. King, M.P. Mr. Deryck Bernard, M.P. Dr. Faith A. Harding, M.P. Amna Ally, M.P. Jean M.G. Persico, A.A., M.P. Ms Ms Mr. Arthur A. Alexander, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly Mr. Simon H. Ng-See-Quan, M.P. Mr. Dunstan Barrow, M.P. Mr. David Subnauth, M.P. Mr. Reynold N. David, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni) Jennifer A. Ferreira, M.P. Ms Mr. Aftabuddin Ahamad, M.P. (Absent - on leave) Mr. Kenrick Tyndall, M.P. Mr. Phillip Bynoe, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice) Mr. Andy Gouveia, M.P. Mr. Hukumchand, M.P. a/k Parag Ms Joan C. Richards, M.P. Gwenneth A. Brouet, M.P. Ms Mr. John A. Fredericks, M.P. Mr. Ivan Peters, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

/....

(ii) Working People's Alliance (2)

Dr. Clive Y. Thomas, M.P.

Mr. Matheson Williams, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs) (Absent - on leave)

(iii) The United Force (1)

Mr. Manzoor Nadir, M.P.

OFFICERS

Mr. Frank A. Narain, A.A., Clerk of the National Assembly
Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Resignation of Mr. Brindley H. Benn C C.H.

The Speaker announced that he had received a letter from Mr. Brindley Horatio Benn, C.C.H., resigning his seat in the National Assembly, with effect from 7th July, 1993, consequent upon his appointment to the Office of High Commissioner to Canada.

The Speaker stated that, with his resignation, Mr. Benn had, in accordance with paragraph (1)(c) of article 156 of the Constitution, vacated his seat in the Assembly.

The Speaker also stated that, in accordance with section 99A of the Representation of the People Act, Chapter 1:03, he would call upon the representative of the list of candidates in which Mr. Benn's name was included, to further extract from the said list the name of a person to fill the vacancy in the Assembly.

On behalf of himself and Members of the Assembly, the Speaker extended congratulations and best wishes to Mr. Benn.

REQUESTS FOR LEAVE TO MOVE THE ADJOURNMENT OF THE ASSEMBLY ON DEFINITE MATTERS OF URGENT PUBLIC IMPORTANCE

Adams Commission of Inquiry Report

A request by Mr. R.H.O. Corbin for leave to move the adjournment of the Assembly to discuss the Adams Commission of Inquiry Report was not allowed by the Speaker as the matter did not qualify.

/...

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS

Presentation and First Reading

CONSTITUTION (AMENDMENT) BILL 1993 - Bill No. 20/1993 published 17.7.93

The Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, on behalf of the Government, presented the following Bill which was read the first time.

> A BILL intituled AN ACT to alter the Constitution in accordance with articles 66 and 164.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

APPROVAL OF PRIVATISATION POLICY FRAMEWORK PAPER (JUNE 1993)

The <u>Senior Minister of Finance moved</u> the following motion:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly notes the Privatisation Policy Framework Paper (June 1993) which was laid in the National Assembly on 1st July, 1993, and approves of the Government's policy set out therein. (Notice Paper No. 10 (M10 Govt 10) published 15.7.93) The following Members spoke to the motion:-Dr. Kenneth F.S. King Dr. Clive Y. Thomas

Dr. Hughley H. Hanoman was speaking to the motion when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.00 p.m. the sitting was suspended for refreshments. RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.30 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

Dr. Hughley H. Hanoman continued and concluded his speech.

4.

The following Members also spoke to the motion:-

The Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture

Mr. Dunstan Barrow

The Senior Minister of Foreign Affairs

Mr. Manzoor Nadir

Mr. Alston A. Kissoon

Mr. Winston S. Murray

The Senior Minister of Finance replied.

Thereafter, the motion was <u>put</u> and <u>carried</u> on the following division:

AGAINST

Mr. Nadir

Mr. Ramrattan Mr. Ramdas Mr. DeSouza Mr. Baldeo Mr. Bacchus Mr. Zephyr Mrs. Sukhai Mr. Rodney Mr. Ramotar Mr. Ramjattan Dr. Lall Mr. Kissoon Mrs. James Dr. Hanoman Mr. Evans Mrs. Edwards Mr. Chand Mr. Baksh Mr. Husman Alli Mr. Fazil Ali Mr. Belgrave Mrs. Chandarpal Mr. Collymore Mr. Chan Miss Teixeira Mr. Rohee Mr. Nagamootoo Mr. Persaud Mr. Hinds

Dr. Thomas Mr. Fredericks Miss Brouet Miss Richards Mr. Hukumchand Mr. Bynoe Mr. Tyndall Mrs. Ferreira Mr. David Mr. Barrow Mr. Ng-See-Quan Mr. Alexander Miss Persico Dr. King Mrs. Riehl Dr. McKenzie Mr. Murray Mr. Corbin Mr. Narain

29

20

ADJOURNMENT

At 7.28 p.m., on a motion by the Senior Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House), the Assembly was adjourned to a date to be fixed.

Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 16th July, 1993.