# NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

### MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE **17TH** SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (1992-1993) OF THE SIXTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

## AT 2.00 P.M.

## ON THURSDAY, 5TH AUGUST, 1993

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (72)

Speaker (1)

The Hon. Derek C. Jagan, S.C., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

#### Members of the Government - People's Progressive Party/Civic (42)

The Hon. Samuel A. Hinds, M.P., Prime Minister The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Senior Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House) The Hon. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Senior MInister of Home Affairs (Government Chief Whip) (Absent) The Hon. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P., Senior Minister in the Ministry of Public Works, Communications and Regional Development \*The Hon. Asgar Ally, M.P., Senior Minister of Finance \*The Hon. Rev. Dr. Ramnauth Bisnauth, M.P., Senior Minister of Education and Cultural Development \*The Hon. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs \*The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Senior Minister of Labour, Human Services and Social Security (Absent - on leave) The Hon. Moses V. Nagamootoo, M.P., Senior Minister of Information in the Office of the President The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Senior Minister of Foreign Affairs The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Senior Minister of Health The Hon. M. Shree Chan, M.P., Senior Minister of Trade, Tourism and Industry Ms Janet Jagan, O.E., M.P. The Hon. Clinton C. Collymore, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture The Hon. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Labour, Human Services and Social Security (Absent - on leave) \*The Hon. F. Vibert DeSouza, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Public Works, Communications and Regional Development \*The Hon. George E. Fung-On, M.P., Minister in the Office of the President

```
Mr. Cyril C. Belgrave, M.P.
Mr. Fazil M. Ali, M.P.
Mr. Husman Alli, M.P.
Mr. Shaik K.Z. Baksh, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Mr. Komal Chand, M.P.
Ms Shirley V. Edwards, M.P.
Mr. Randolph Evans, M.P.
Dr. Hughley H. Hanoman, M.P.
Ms Una A. James, M.P.
Mr. Alston A. Kissoon, M.P.
Dr. Moti Lall, M.P.
Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P.
Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P.
Mr. Lawrence E. Rodney, M.P.
Ms Pauline Sukhai, M.P.
Mr. Winslow M. Zephyr, M.P.
Mr. Khadim Bacchus, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)
Mr. Samad A. Baksh, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam)
Mr. Harrinarine Baldeo, M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)
Mr. Joseph DeSouza, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)
Mr. Eugene La Cruz, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper
    Essequibo (Absent)
Mr. Bagot Paul, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni)
Mr. Kum Karan Ramdas, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)
Mr. Ramrattan, M.P. a/k Balkarran (Region No. 3 - Essequibo
    Islands/West Demerara
    (There is one vacancy)
                     Members of the Minority (29)
(i)
       People's National Congress (26)
Mr. H. Desmond Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minority Leader
Mr. Sase Narain, O.R., S.C., J.P., M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Mr. Robert H.O. Corbin, M.P.
Mr. Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P.
Dr. Patrick L. McKenzie, A.A., M.P., Chief Whip
    Clarissa Riehl, M.P.
Ms
Dr. Kenneth F.S. King, M.P.
Mr. Deryck Bernard, M.P.
Dr. Faith A. Harding, M.P.
    Amna Ally, M.P.
Jean M.G. Persico, A.A., M.P.
Ms
Ms
Mr. Arthur A. Alexander, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly
Mr. Simon H. Ng-See-Quan, M.P.
Mr. Dunstan Barrow, M.P.
Mr. David Subnauth, M.P.
Mr. Reynold N. David, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)
Ms Jennifer A Ferreira, M.P.
Mr. Aftabuddin Ahamad, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Mr. Kenrick Tyndall, M.P.
Mr. Phillip Bynce, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)
Mr. Andy Gouveia, M.P.
Mr. Hukumchand, M.P. a/k Parag
Ms
    Joan C. Richards, M.P.
    Gwenneth A. Brouet, M.P.
Ms
Mr. John A. Fredericks, M.P.
Mr. Ivan Peters, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)
```

/...

З,

## (ii) Working People's Alliance (2)

Dr. Clive Y. Thomas, M.P.

Mr. Matheson Williams, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)

## (iii) The United Force (1)

Mr. Manzoor Nadir, M.P.

#### OFFICERS

Mr. Frank A. Narain, A.A., Clerk of the National Assembly
Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

### COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The sitting commenced at 2.58 p.m.

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

## ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

## Delay in Commencement of Sitting

The Speaker expressed regret to Members for the late commencement of the sitting. This was due to a request made by representatives of the Parties to enable them to have further discussions on the Constitution (Amendment) Bill 1993 (Bill No. 20/1993 published 17.7.93)

## PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC. -

# (1) By the Senior Minister of Education and Cultural Development:

 (i) Cyril Potter College of Education (Board of Governors) Order 1993 (No. 16), made under section 22 of the President's College Act 1990 (No. 11), on 1st July, 1993 and published in the Gazette on 24th July, 1993.

### (ED: 6/1/35)(Circulated)

(ii) Tertiary Technical and Vocational Institutions (Board of Governors) Order 1993 (No. 17), made under section 22 of the President's College Act 1990 (No. 11), on 1st July, 1993 and published in the Gazette on 24th July, 1993.

# (ED: 6/1/35)(Circulated)

(iii) Sixth Form Secondary Schools (Board of Governors) Order 1993 (No. 18), made under section 22 of the President's College Act 1990 (No. 11), on lst July, 1993, and published in the Gazette on 24th July, 1993.

(ED: 6/1/35)(Circulated)

(2) By the Prime Minister on behalf of the Senior Minister of Labour Human Services and Social Security: Review of the Operations of the Sugar Industry

4

Labour Welfare Fund for the year 1991.

(Circulated)

PUBLIC BUSINESS

BILL - Withdrawn

CONSTITUTION (AMENDMENT) BILL 1993 - Bill No. 20/1993 published 17.7.93

The Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs moved that the BILL intituled AN ACT to alter the Constitution in accordance with articles 66 and 164, be withdrawn.

The following Members spoke to the motion:

Mr. Robert H.O. Corbin Dr. Clive Y. Thomas

A motion by the Senior Minister of Information in the Office of the President that the question be now put was <u>put</u> and <u>carried</u> on the following division:

FOR

## AGAINST

DECLINED TO VOTE Mr. Nadir

1

The motion that the Bill be withdrawn was then <u>put</u> and <u>carried</u> on the following division:

FOR	AGAINST	DECLINED TO VOTE
<pre>Mr. Ramrattan Mr. Ramdas Mr. Paul Mr. DeSouza Mr. Baldeo Mr. Baksh Mr. Bacchus Mr. Zephyr Mrs. Sukhai Mr. Rodney Mr. Ramotar Mr. Rodney Mr. Ramotar Mr. Ramjattan Dr. Lall Mr. Kissoon Mrs. James Dr. Hanoman Mr. Evans Mrs. Edwards Mr. Chand Mr. Husman Alli Mr. Fazil Ali Mr. Belgrave Mr. Collymore Mrs. Jagan Mr. Chan Miss Teixeira Mr. Rohee Mr. Nagamootoo Mr. Nokta Mr. Hinds</pre>	<pre>Mr. Williams Dr. Thomas Mr. Peters Mr. Fredericks Miss Brouet Miss Richards Mr. Hukumchand Mr. Gouveia Mr. Bynoe Mr. Tyndall Mrs. Ferreira Mr. David Mr. Subnauth Mr. Barrow Mr. Ng-See-Quan Mr. Alexander Miss Persico Miss Ally Dr. Harding Mr. Bernard Dr. King Mrs. Riehl Dr. McKenzie Mr. Murray Mr. Corbin Mr. Hoyte</pre>	Mr. Nadir
31	26	1

# ADJOURNMENT

At 3.31 p.m., on a motion by the Senior Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House), the Assembly was adjourned to a date to be fixed.

D.C. JAGAN

Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE Public Buildings, Georgetown.

6th August, 1993