## NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

#### MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

# OF THE 33RD SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (1992-1994) OF THE SIXTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

### AT 2.00 P.M.

## ON TUESDAY, 15TH MARCH, 1994

## IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

#### MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (73)

## Speaker (1)

The Hon. Derek C. Jagan, S.C., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

## Members of the Government - People's Progressive Party/Civic (43)

- The Hon. Samuel A. Hinds, M.P., Prime Minister
- The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P. Senior Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House)
- The Hon. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Senior Minister of Home Affairs (Government Chief Whip)
- The Hon. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P., Senior Minister in the Ministry of Public Works, Communications and Regional Development
- \*The Hon. Asgar Ally, M.P., Senior Minister of Finance
- \*The Hon. Rev. Dr. Ramnauth Bisnauth, M.P., Senior Minister of Education and Cultural Development (Absent)
- \*The Hon. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs (Absent)
- \*The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Senior Minister of Labour, Human Services and Social Security
- The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Senior Minister of Foreign Affairs
- The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Senior Minister of Health
- The Hon. M. Shree Chan, M.P., Senior Minister of Trade, Tourism and Industry
- Mrs. Janet Jagan, O.E., M.P.
- The Hon. Clinton C. Collymore, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture
- The Hon. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Labour, Human Services and Social Security
- \*The Hon. F. Vibert DeSouza, Minister in the Ministry of Public Works, Communications and Regional Development.
- \*The Hon. George E. Fung-On, M.P., Minister in the Office of the President
- \*The Hon. Bharrat Jagdeo, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Finance

```
Mr. Moses V. Nagamootoo, M.P.
Mr. Cyril C. Belgrave, M.P.
Mr. Fazil M. Ali, M.P.
Mr. Husman Alli, M.P.
Mr. Shaik K.Z. Baksh, M.P.
Mr. Komal Chand, M.P.
Mrs. Shirley V. Edwards, M.P.
Dr. Hughley H. Hanoman, M.P. Mrs. Una A. James, M.P.
Mr. Alston A. Kissoon, M.P.
Dr. Moti Lall, M.P.
Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P.
Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P.
Mr. Lawrence E. Rodney, M.P. (Absent)
Mrs. Pauline Sukhai, M.P.
Mr. Winslow M. Zephyr, M.P.
Mr. Reuben A. Gilbert, M.P.
Mr. Edward DaSilva, M.P.
Mr. Khadim Bacchus, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic
    Organs)
Mr. Samad A. Baksh, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam) (Absent)
Mr. Harrinarine Baldeo, M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)
Mr. Joseph DeSouza, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)
Mr. Eugene La Cruz, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper
    Essequibo)
Mr. Bagot Paul, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni)
    (Absent - on leave)
Mr. Kum Karan Ramdas, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)
Mr. Ramrattan, M.P. a/k Balkarran (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/
    West Demerara)
```

## Members of the Minority (29)

## (i) People's National Congress (26)

```
Mr. H. Desmond Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minority Leader
Mr. Robert H.O. Corbin, M.P. (Absent)
Mr. Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P.
Dr. Patrick L. McKenzie, A.A., M.P., Chief Whip
Mrs. Clarissa Riehl, M.P.
Dr. Kenneth F.S. King, M.P.
Mr. Deryck M.A. Bernard, M.P. (Absent)
Dr. Faith A. Harding, M.P.
Miss Amna Ally, M.P.
Miss Jean M.G. Persico, A.A., M.P.
Mr. Arthur A. Alexander, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National
    Assembly
Mr. Simon H. Ng-See-Quan, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Mr. Dunstan Barrow, M.P.
Mr. David Subnauth, M.P.
Mr. Reynold N. David, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)
Mrs. Jennifer A. Ferreira, M.P. (Absent)
Mr. M. Idris Deen, M.P.
Mr. Aftabuddin Ahamad, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Mr. Kenrick Tyndall, M.P.
Mr. Phillip Bynoe, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/
    Berbice) ( Absent - on leave)
Mr. Andy Gouveia, M.P.
Mr. Hukumchand, M.P. a/k Parag
Miss John C. Richards, M.P.
Miss Gwenneth A. Brouet, M.P.
Mr. John A. Fredericks, M.P.
Mr. Ivan Peters, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)
```

## (ii) Working People's Alliance (2)

- Dr. Clive Y. Thomas, M.P.
- Mr. Matheson Williams, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)
- (iii) The United Force (1)
- Mr. Manzoor Nadir, M.P.

### OFFICERS

Mr. Frank A. Narain, A.A., Clerk of the National Assembly
Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

## COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The sitting commenced at 2.00 p.m.

## PRAYERS

The Clerk read prayers.

## ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

### Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Mr. Bagot Paul for that day's sitting.

## PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC.

## By the Prime Minister:

(i) Local Democratic Organs (Neighbourhood Democratic Councils) (Amendment) Order 1994 (No. 17 of 1994), made under sections 5 and 12 of the Local Democratic Organs Act 1980 (No. 12 of 1980), and published in the Gazette on 8th March, 1994.

(Circulated)

(ii) Local Democratic Organs (Areas) (Amendment) Order 1994 (No. 18 of 1994), made under section 4 of the Local Democratic Organs Act 1980 (No. 12 of 1980), and published in the Gazette on 8th March, 1994.

(Circulated)

### PUBLIC BUSINESS

#### MOTION

# ITEM 1 - MOTION FOR THE APPROVAL OF THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1994

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1994.

The following Members spoke to the motion:

Dr. Patrick L. McKenzie

The Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture.

Mrs. Clarissa Riehl was speaking to the motion when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

### SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.00 p.m. the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

### RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.31 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

Mrs. Clarissa Riehl continued and concluded her speech.

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

The Senior Minister of Foreign Affairs

Mr. Moses V. Nagamootoo

Miss Amna Ally

The Senior Minister of Home Affairs

Mr. Dunstan Barrow

The Prime Minister

Mr. Komal Chand

Mr. Kenrick Tyndall

The Senior Minister in the Ministry of Public Works, Communications and Regional Development

The Minority Leader

The Senior Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House),

## ADJOURNMENT

At 12.40 a.m., on Wednesday, 16th March, 1994 on a motion by the Senior Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House), the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Wednesday, 23rd March, 1994.

Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown.

16th March, 1994.