NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 35TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (1992-1994) OF THE SIXTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON THURSDAY, 24TH MARCH, 1994

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (73)

Speaker (1)

The Hon. Derek C. Jagan, S.C., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's Progressive Party/Civic (43)

- The Hon. Samuel A. Hinds, M.P., Prime Minister
- The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P. Senior Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House)
- The Hon. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Senior Minister of Home Affairs (Government Chief Whip)
- The Hon. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P., Senior Minister in the Ministry of Public Works, Communications and Regional Development
- *The Hon. Asgar Ally, M.P., Senior Minister of Finance
- *The Hon. Rev. Dr. Ramnauth Bisnauth, M.P., Senior Minister of Education and Cultural Development
- *The Hon. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs
- *The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Senior Minister of Labour, Human Services and Social Security
- The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Senior Minister of Foreign Affairs (Absent on leave)
- The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Senior Minister of Health
- The Hon. M. Shree Chan, M.P., Senior Minister of Trade,
 Tourism and Industry
- Mrs. Janet Jagan, O.E., M.P.
- The Hon. Clinton C. Collymore, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture
- The Hon. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Labour, Human Services and Social Security
- *The Hon. F. Vibert DeSouza, Minister in the Ministry of Public Works, Communications and Regional Development
- *The Hon. George E. Fung-On, M.P., Minister in the Office of the President
- *The Hon. Bharrat Jagdeo, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Finance

```
Mr. Moses V. Nagamootoo, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Mr. Cyril C. Belgrave, M.P.
Mr. Fazil M. Ali, M.P.
Mr. Husman Alli, M.P.
Mr. Shaik K.Z. Baksh, M.P.
Mr. Komal Chand, M.P.
Mrs. Shirley V. Edwards, M.P.
Dr. Hughley H. Hanoman, M.P.
Mrs. Una A. James, M.P.
Mr. Alston A. Kissoon, M.P. (Absent)
Dr. Moti Lall, M.P.
Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P.
Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P.
Mr. Lawrence E. Rodney, M.P. (Absent)
Mrs. Pauline Sukhai, M.P.
Mr. Winslow M. Zephyr, M.P.
Mr. Reuben A. Gilbert, M.P.
Mr. Edward DaSilva, M.P.
Mr. Khadim Bacchus, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic
    Organs)
Mr. Samad A. Baksh, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam) (Absent)
Mr. Harrinarine Baldeo, M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)
Mr. Joseph DeSouza, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)
Mr. Eugene La Cruz, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper
    Essequibo)
Mr. Bagot Paul, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni) (Absent)
Mr. Kum Karan Ramdas, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)
Mr. Ramrattan, M.P. a/k Balkarran (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/
    West Demerara)
```

Members of the Minority (29)

(i) People's National Congress (26)

```
Mr. H. Desmond Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minority Leader (Absent -on leave)
Mr. Robert H.O. Corbin, M.P. (Absent)
Mr. Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P.
Dr. Patrick L. McKenzie, A.A., M.P., Chief Whip Mrs. Clarissa Riehl, M.P. (Absent)
Dr. Kenneth F.S. King, M.P.
Mr. Deryck M.A. Bernard, M.P.
Dr. Faith A. Harding, M.P.
Miss Amna Ally, M.P.
Miss Jean M.G. Persico, A.A., M.P.
Mr. Arthur A. Alexander, M.P. Deputy Speaker of the National
    Assembly
Mr. Simon H. Ng-See-Quan, M.P. (Absent - on leave) Mr. Dunstan Barrow, M.P. (Absent)
Mr. David Subnauth, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Mr. Reynold N. David, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)
Mrs. Jennifer A. Ferreira, M.P. (Absent)
Mr. M. Idris Deen, M.P.
Mr. Aftabuddin Ahamad, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Mr. Kenrick Tyndall, M.P.
Mr. Phillip Bynoe, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/
    Berbice) (Absent)
Mr. Andy Gouveia, M.P.
Mr. Hukumchand, M.P. a/k Parag
Miss Joan C. Richards, M.P. (Absent)
Miss Gwenneth A. Brouet, M.P.
Mr. John A. Fredericks, M.P.
Mr. Ivan Peters, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)
```

(ii) Working People's Alliance (2)

Dr. Clive Y. Thomas, M.P.

Mr. Matheson Williams, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)

(iii) The United Force (1)

Mr. Manzoor Nadir, M.P.

OFFICERS

Mr. Frank A. Narain, A.A., Clerk of the National Assembly
Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The sitting commenced at 2.00 p.m.

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

<u>Leave</u>

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to-

- (i) Mr. Moses V. Nagamootoo for that day's sitting,
- (ii) Mr. H. Desmond Hoyte up to 8th April, 1994,
- (iii) Mr. David Subnauth for that day's sitting, and
- (iv) Mr. Aftabuddin Ahamad up to the end of the week.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

 $\underline{\text{ITEM 1}}$ - MOTION FOR THE APPROVAL OF THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1994

Assembly resolved itself into Committee of Supply.

In Committee of Supply

 $$\operatorname{\textsc{The}}$ Committee of Supply resumed consideration of the 1994 Extimates of Expenditure.

The Following Heads and Divisions were approved, as printed in the Estimates:-

Head	12	-	Elections Commission	\$	10,681,000
Head	21	-	Ministry of Home Affairs	\$	19,502,000
Head	22	-	Ministry of Home Affairs -		
			Police	\$	890,370,000
Head	23	-	Prisons	\$	122,477,000
Head	24	-	Police Complaints Authority	\$	1,803,000
Head	25		Fire Protection Services	\$	47,398,000
Head	26	-	National Registration Centre	\$	134,897,000
Head	27	-	General Register Office	\$	8,227,000
Div.	507	-	Ministry of Home Affairs	\$	112,250,000
Head	6	_	Office of the Auditor General	\$	65,155,000
Head	47	•	Ministry of Finance	\$3	,094,509,000
Head	48	_	Accountant General Department	\$	531,575,000
Head	49	_	Customs and Excise Department	\$	161,166,000
Head	50	-	Inland Revenue Department	\$	244,729,000
Head	94	_	Public Debt	\$	700,000
Div.	526	-	Ministry of Finance	\$4	,415,986,000
Div.	527	_	Ministry of Finance - Human		
			Resources Development		
			Programme	\$	172,889,000

Assembly resumed.

Suspension of Sitting

At 4.15 p.m., the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

Resumption of Sitting

At 4.45 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

Assembly resolved itself into Committee of Supply.

In Committee of Supply

The following Heads and Divisions were also approved, as printed in the Estimates:-

Head	37 - Ministry of Education and	
	Cultural Development	\$ 738,039,000
Head	38 - Nursery Schools	\$ 54,223,000
Head	39 - Primary Schools	\$ 98,500,000
Head	40 - Secondary/Multilateral and	
	Community High Schools	\$ 165,928,000
Head	41 - Technical and Vocational	
	Schools	\$ 58,019,000
Head	42 - Practical Instruction Centres	\$ 21,422,000

Head	43	-	Teacher Training Institutions	\$ 56,572,000
Head	44	_	Resource Centre	\$ 41,820,000
Head	45	-	Department of Culture	\$ 51,322,000
Div.	543	_	Ministry of Education	\$ 599,000,000
Head	10		Public Prosecutions	\$ 12,209,000
Head	14	_	Ministry of Legal Affairs	\$ 8,544,000
Head	15	-	Supreme Court of Judicature	\$ 27,310,000
Head	16	-	Magistrates	\$ 25,582,000
Head	17		Attorney General	\$ 26,374,000
Head	18	-	Official Receiver	\$ 5,648,000
Head	19	_	Deeds Registry	\$ 6,386,000
Div.	514	-	Ministry of Legal Affairs	17,585,000
Head	13	-	Public Utilities Commission	\$ 13,406,000
Head	51	-	Ministry of Trade, Tourism	
			and Industry	\$ 77,849,000
Div.	528	-	Ministry of Trade, Tourism	
			and Industry	\$ 2,500,000

Assembly resumed.

ADJOURMENT

At 6.12 p.m., the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Friday, 25th March, 1994.

D.C. JAGAN

Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown.

24th March, 1994.