NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 41ST SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (1992-1994) OF THE SIXTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON THURSDAY, 30TH JUNE, 1994 IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (73)

Speaker (1)

The Hon. Derek C. Jagan, S.C., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's Progressive Party/Civic (43)

- The Hon. Samuel A. Hinds, M.P., Prime Minister
- The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Senior Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House)
- The Hon. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Senior Minister of Home Affairs (Government Chief Whip)
- The Hon. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P., Senior Minister in the Ministry of Public Works, Communications and Regional Development (Absent)
- *The Hon. Asgar Ally, M.P., Senior Minister of Finance
- *The Hon. Rev. Dr. Ramnauth Bisnauth, M.P., Senior Minister of Education and Cultural Development
- The Hon. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs
- The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Senior Minister of Labour, Human Services and Social Security
- The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Senior Minister of Foreign Affairs
- The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Senior Minister of Health
- The Hon. M. Shree Chan, M.P., Senior Minister of Trade, Tourism and Industry
- Mrs. Janet Jagan, O.E., M.P.
- The Hon. Clinton C. Collymore M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture
- The Hon. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Labour, Human Services and Social Security (Absent on leave)
- The Hon. F. Vibert DeSouza, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Public Works, Communications and Regional Development
- The Hon. George E. Fung-On, M.P., Minister in the Office of the President
- *
 The Hon. Bharrat Jagdeo, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of
 Finance

/...

^{*}Non-elected Member

```
Mr. Moses V. Nagamootoo, M.P.
Mr. Cyril C. Belgrave, M.P.
Mr. Fazil M. Ali, M.P.
Mr. Husman Alli, M.P.
Mr. Shaik K.Z. Baksh, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Mr. Komal Chand, M.P.
Mrs. Shirley V. Edwards, M.P.
Dr. Hughley H. Hanoman, M.P.
Mrs. Una A. James, M.P.
Mr. Alston A. Kissoon, M.P.
Dr. Moti Lall, M.P.
Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P.
Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P.
Mr. Lawrence E. Rodney, M.P.
Mrs. Pauline Sukhai, M.P.
Mr. Winslow M. Zephyr, M.P.
Mr. Reuben A. Gilbert, M.P.
Mr. Edward DaSilva, M.P. (Absent)
Mr. Khadim Bacchus, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)
Mr. Samad A. Baksh, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam)(Absent)
Mr. Harrinarine Baldeo, M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)
Mr. Joseph DeSouza, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)
Mr. Eugene La Cruz, M.P. (Region No. 9-Upper Takutu/Upper Esseguibo)
Mr. Bagot Paul, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni) (Absent)
Mr. Kum Karan Ramdas, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)
Mr. Ramrattan, M.P., a/k Balkarran (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/
    West Demerara)
```

Members of the Minority (29)

(i) People's National Congress (26)

```
Mr. H. Desmond Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minority Leader (Absent - on leave)
Mr. Robert H.O. Corbin, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Mr. Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P.
Dr. Patrick L. McKenzie, A.A., M.P., Chief Whip
Mrs. Clarissa Riehl, M.P.
Dr. Kenneth F.S. King, M.P. Mr. Deryck M.A. Bernard, M.P.
Dr. Faith A. Harding, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Miss Amna Ally, M.P.
Miss Jean M.G. Persico, A.A., M.P.
Mr. Arthur A. Alexander, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly
Mr. Simon H. Ng-See-Quan, M.P.
Mr. Dunstan Barrow, M.P.
Mr. David Subnauth, M.P. (Absent)
Mr. Reynold N. David, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)
Mr. M. Idris Deen, M.P.
Mr. Aftabuddin Ahamad, M.P.
Mrs. Cyrilda A. DeJesus, M.P.
Mr. Kenrick Tyndall, M.P.
Mr. Phillip Bynoe, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice) (Absent)
Mr. Andy Gouveia, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Mr. Hukumchand, M.P., a/k Parag
Miss Joan C. Richards, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Miss Gwenneth A. Brouet, M.P.
Mr. John A. Fredericks, M.P. (Absent)
Mr. Ivan Peters, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)
```

(ii) Working People's Alliance (2)

Dr. Clive Y. Thomas, C.C.H., M.P.

Mr. Matheson Williams, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)

(iii) The United Porce (1)

Mr. Manzoor Nadir, M.P.

OFFICERS

Mr. Frank A. Narain, A.A., Clerk of the National Assembly Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The Sitting commenced at 2.00 p.m.

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to -

The Hon Indranie Chandarpal for that day's Sitting,

Mr. Shaik Baksh up to 6th July, 1994, and

Mr. Desmond Hoyte,

Mr. Robert Corbin,

Dr. Faith Harding, and

Mr. Andy Gouveia

for that day's Sitting.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

BILL - Second Reading

PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION (AMENDMENT) BILL 1994 Bill No. 3/1994 published 5.2.94

The Senior Minister of Trade, Tourism and Industry moved the second reading of the following Bill:-

A BILL intituled AN ACT to amend

the Public Utilities Commission

Act 1990.

The following Members spoke to the motion:-

Mr. Winston Murray

Dr. Clive Thomas

Mr. Manzoor Nadir.

Thereafter, the Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs replied.

The motion was then put and carried.

The Bill was read a second time.

COMMITTAL OF BILL

On a motion by the Senior Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House), the Bill was committed to a Select Committee.

ADJOURNMENT

At 3.45 p.m., on a motion by the Senior Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House), the Assembly was adjourned to a date to be fixed.

JAGAN
Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown.

30th June, 1994.