NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 51ST SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (1992-1995) OF THE SIXTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON THURSDAY, 16TH FEBRUARY, 1995 IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (73)

Speaker (1)

The Hon. Derek C. Jagan, S.C., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's Progressive Party/Civic (43)

- The Hon. Samuel A. Hinds, M.P., Prime Minister (Absent on leave)
- The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Senior Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House)
- The Hon. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Senior Minister of Home Affairs (Government Chief Whip)
- The Hon. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P., Senior Minister in the Ministry of Public Works, Communications and Regional Development
- *The Hon. Asgar Ally, M.P., Senior Minister of Finance
- The Hon. Rev. Dr. Ramnauth Bisnauth, M.P., Senior Minister of Education and Cultural Development
- The Hon. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs
- The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Senior Minister of Labour, Human Services and Social Security
- The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Senior Minister of Foreign Affairs
- The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Senior Minister of Health
- The Hon. M. Shree Chan, M.P., Senior Minister of Trade, Tourism and Industry
- Mrs. Janet Jagan, O.E., M.P. (Absent on leave)
- The Hon. Clinton C. Collymore, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture
- The Hon. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Labour, Human Services and Social Security
- *The Hon. F. Vibert DeSouza, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Public Works, Communications and Regional Development
- *The Hon. George E. Fung-On, M.P., Minister in the Office of the President
- The Hon. Bharrat Jagdeo, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Finance

^{*}Non-elected Member

```
Mr. Moses V. Nagamootoo, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Mr. Cyril C. Belgrave, M.P. Mr. Fazil M. Ali, M.P.
Mr. Husman Alli, M.P.
Mr. Shaik K.Z. Baksh, M.P.
Mr. Komal Chand, M.P.
Mrs. Shirley V. Edwards, M.P.
Dr. Hughley H. Hanoman, M.P.
Mrs. Una A. James, M.P.
Mr. Alston A. Kissoon, M.P. (Absent)
Dr. Moti Lall, M.P.
Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P.
Mr. Lawrence E. Rodney, M.P.
Mrs. Pauline Sukhai, M.P.
Mr. Winslow M. Zephyr, M.P.
Mr. Reuben A. Gilbert, M.P.
Mr. Edward DaSilva, M.P.
Mr. Khadim Bacchus, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)
Mr. Samad A. Baksh, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam)(Absent)
Mr. Harrinarine Baldeo, M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)
Mr. Joseph DeSouza, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)
Mr. Eugene La Cruz, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)
Mr. Bagot Paul, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni)
```

Members of the Minority (29)

Mr. Kum Karan Ramdas, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)
Mr. Ramrattan, M.P., a/k Balkarran (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/

(i) People's National Congress (26)

West Demerara)

```
Mr. H. Desmond Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minority Leader (Absent - on leave)
Mr. Robert H.O. Corbin, M.P.
Mr. Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P.
Dr. Patrick L. McKenzie, A.A., M.P., Chief Whip
Mrs. Clarissa Riehl, M.P.
Dr. Kenneth F.S. King, M.P. (Absent)
Mr. Deryck M.A. Bernard, M.P.
Mr. Dunstan Barrow, M.P.
Miss Amna Ally, M.P.
Miss Jean M.G. Persico, A.A., M.P.
Mr. Arthur A. Alexander, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly (Absent)
Mr. Simon H. Ng-See-Quan, M.P. (Absent)
Mr. David Subnauth, M.P.
Mr. Reynold N. David, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)
Mr. M. Idris Deen, M.P.
Mr. Aftabuddin Ahamad, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Mrs. Cyrilda A. DeJesus, M.P.
Mr. Kenrick Tyndall, M.P.
Mr. Phillip Bynoe, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)
Mr. Andy Gouveia, M.P. (Absent)
Mr. Hukumchand, M.P., a/k Parag
Miss Joan C. Richards, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Miss Gwenneth A. Brouet, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Mr. John A. Fredericks, M.P.
Mr. Ivan Peters, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)
Mr. Hubert K.H. Hyman, M.P.
```

(ii) Working People's Alliance (2)

Dr. Clive Y. Thomas, C.C.H., M.P.

Mr. Matheson Williams, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)

(iii) The United Force (1)

Mr. Manzoor Nadir, M.P.

OFFICERS

Mr. Frank A. Narain, A.A., Clerk of the National Assembly
Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The Sitting commenced at 2.00 p.m.

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to the Hon. Samuel A. Hinds and Mr. Desmond Hoyte.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC.

By the Senior Minister of Labour, Human Services and Social Security:

State Paper on Conventions Nos. 163, 164, 165 and 166 and Recommendations Nos. 173 and 174, which were adopted by the International Labour Conference at its 74th Session held in September, 1987.

(Circulated)

16/95

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS

Presentation and First Reading

FISCAL ENACTMENTS (AMENDMENT) BILL 1995 - Bill No. 4/1995

In accordance with article 171(2) of the Constitution, the Senior Minister of Finance signified Cabinet's recommendation and, on behalf of the Government, presented the following Bill which was read the first time:

A BILL intituled AN ACT to amend the Tax Act, the Income Tax Act and the Customs Act.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

ITEM 1 MOTION FOR THE APPROVAL OF THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1995

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1995.

The following Members spoke to the motion:

Mr. Dunstan Barrow

The Senior Minister of Health.

Mrs. Clarissa Riehl was speaking to the motion when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.02 p.m., the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.28 p.m., the sitting was resumed.

Mrs. Clarissa Riehl continued and concluded her speech.

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

The Senior Minister of Foreign Affairs

Miss Amna Ally

The Senior Minister of Home Affairs

Mr. David Subnauth

Mr. Fazil M. Ali.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 7.50 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 8.20 p.m., the sitting was resumed.

The following Members spoke to the motion:

Dr. Moti Lall

Mr. Matheson Williams

The Minister in the Ministry of Public Works, Communications and Regional Development

Mrs. Pauline Sukhai

Mr. Reuben A. Gilbert.

ADJOURNMENT

At 10.15 p.m., on a motion by the Senior Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House), the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Friday, 17th February, 1995.

D.C. JAGAN

Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown.

16th February, 1995.