NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 63RD SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (1992-1995)OF THE SIXTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON THURSDAY, 17TH AUGUST, 1995

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (72)

Speaker (1)

- The Hon. Derek C. Jagan, S.C., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly
- Members of the Government People's Progressive Party/Civic (42)
 - The Hon. Samuel A. Hinds, M.P., Prime Minister (Absent)
 - The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Senior Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House)
 - The Hon. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Senior Minister of Home Affairs (Government Chief Whip) (Absent)
 - The Hon. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P., Senior Minister in the Ministry of Public Works, Communications and Regional Development
 - *The Hon. Rev. Dr. Ramnauth Bisnauth, M.P., Senior Minister of Education and Cultural Development
 - *The Hon. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs
 - *The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Senior Minister of Labour, Human Services and Social Security
 - The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Senior Minister of Foreign Affairs
 - The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Senior Minister of Health
 - The Hon. M. Shree Chan, M.P., Senior Minister of Trade, Tourism and Industry (Absent)
 - Mrs. Janet Jagan, O.E., M.P.
 - The Hon. Clinton C. Collymore, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture
 - The Hon. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Labour, Human Services and Social Security
 - *The Hon. F. Vibert DeSouza, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Public Works, Communications and Regional Development
 - *The Hon. George E. Fung-On, M.P., Minister in the Office of the President
 - *The Hon. Bharrat Jagdeo, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Finance
 - *Non-elected Member

```
Mr. Moses V. Nagamootoo, M.P.
Mr. Cyril C. Belgrave, M.P.
Mr. Fazil M. Ali, M.P.
Mr. Husman Alli, M.P.
Mr. Shaik K.Z. Baksh, M.P.
Mr. Komal Chand, M.P.
Mrs. Shirley V. Edwards, M.P.
Dr. Hughley H. Hanoman, M.P.
Mrs. Una A. James, M.P.
Mr. Alston A. Kissoon, M.P.
Dr. Moti Lall, M.P. (Absent)
Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P.
Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P.
Mr. Lawrence E. Rodney , M.P.
Mrs. Pauline Sukhai, M.P.
Mr. Winslow M. Zephyr, M.P.
Mr. Reuben A. Gilbert, M.P.
Mr. Edward DaSilva, M.P.
Mr. Khadim Bacchus, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)
Mr. Samad A. Baksh, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam)
Mr. Harrinarine Baldeo, M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)
Mr. Joseph DeSouza, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)(Absent - on leave)
Mr. Eugene La Cruz, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)(Absent)
Mr. Bagot Paul, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni) (Absent)
Mr. Kum Karan Ramdas, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)
Mr. Ramrattan, M.P., a/k Balkarran (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West
    Demerara)
                            Members of the Minority (29)
```

(i) People's National Congress (26)

```
Mr. H. Desmond Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minority Leader
Mr. Robert H.O. Corbin, M.P.
Mr. Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Dr. Patrick L. McKenzie, A.A., M.P., Chief whip
Mrs. Clarissa Riehl, M.P.
Dr. Kenneth F.S. King, M.P.
Mr. Deryck M.A. Bernard, M.P.
Mr. Dustan Barrow, M.P. (Absent)
Miss Amna Ally, M.P. (Absent)
Miss Jean M.G. Persico, A.A., M.P.
Mr. Arthur A. Alexander, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly (Absent) Mr. Simon H. Ng-See-Quan, M.P. (Absent)
Mr. David Subnauth, M.P.
Mr. Reynold N. David, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni) (Absent)
Mr. M. Idris Deen, M.P. (Absent)
Mr. Aftabuddin Ahamad, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Mrs. Cyrilda A. DeJesus, M.P.
Mr. Kenrick Tyndall, M.P.
Mr. Phillip Bynoe, M.P. (Region No. 10 -- Upper Demerara/Berbice) (Absent)
Mr. Andy Gouveia, M.P.
Mr. Hukumchand, M.P., a/k Parag
Miss Joan C. Richards, M.P
Mr. John A. Fredericks, M.P. (Absent)
Mr. Ivan Peters, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)
Mr. Hubert K.H. Hyman, M.P.
Mr. Ivor Allen, M.P.
```

(ii) Working People's Alliance (2)

Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine, M.P.

Mr. Matheson Williams, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs) (Absent)

(iii) The United Force (1)

Mr. Manzoor Nadir, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

OFFICERS

Mr. Frank A. Narain, A.A., Clerk of the National Assembly

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The Sitting commenced at 2.38 p.m.

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

(i) Delay in Commencement of Sitting

The Speaker apologised for the late Commencement of the Sitting. This was due to discussions which took place between the Government and the Opposition Parties on the University of Guyana (Amendment) Bill 1995.

(ii) Leave

The Speaker announced that leave for that day's Sitting had been granted to the following Members:

Mr. Winston Murray,

Mr. Aftabuddin Ahamad, and

Mr. Manzoor Nadir.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC.

By the Minister in the Ministry of Finance:

The Guyana Economy: January to June 1995.

(Circulated)

if August

The Minister made a short explanatory statement on the contents of the Paper.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

BILL - Second Reading - Deferred

UNIVERSITY OF GUYANA (AMENDMENT) BILL 1995 - Bill No. 16/1995
published 8.8.95

The Senior Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House) stated that it had been agreed that consideration of the following Bill should be deferred for one week to allow for consultations by the Minority Parties:-

A BILL intituled AN ACT to amend the University of Guyana Act.
(Read a first time on 10.8.95)

ADJOURNMENT

At 2.48 p.m., on a motion by the Senior Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House), the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Thursday, 24th August, 1995.

Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown.

17th August, 1995.