NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 69TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (1992-1996) OF THE SIXTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON MONDAY, 29TH JANUARY, 1996

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (72)

Speaker (1)

The Hon. Derek C. Jagan, S.C., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's Progressive Party/Civic (42)

The Hon. Samuel A. Hinds, M.P., Prime Minister

The Hon. Reepu Persaud, J.P., M.P., Senior Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House)

The Hon. S. Feroze M.P., Senior Minister of Home Affairs (Government Chief Whip)

The Hon. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P., Senior Minister in the Ministry of Public Works, Communications and Regional Development

*The Hon. Rev. Dr. Rammauth Bisnauth, M.P., Senior Minister of Education and Cultural Development

*The Hon. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs

*The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Senior Minister of Labour, Human Services and Social Security

The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Senior Minister of Foreign Affairs

The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Senior Minister of Health

The Hon. M. Shree Chan, M.P., Senior Minister of Trade, Tourism and Industry

*The Hon. Bharrat Jagdeo, M.P., Senior Minister of Finance

Mrs. Janet Jagan, O.E., M.P.

The Hon. Clinton C. Collymore, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture

The Hon. Indranie Chandarpal, Minister in the Ministry of Labour, Human Services and Social Security

*The Hon. F. Vibert DeSouza, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Public Works, Communications and Regional Development

*The Hon. George E. Fung-On, M.P., Minister in the Office of the President

The Hon. Moses V. Nagamootoo, M.P., Senior Minister of Local Government

*Non-elected Member

```
Mr. Cyril C. Belgrave, M.P.
Mr. Fazil M. Ali, M.P.
Mr. Husman Alli, M.P.
Mr. Shaik K.Z. Baksh, M.P. Mr. Komal Chand, M.P.
Mrs. Shirley V. Edwards, M.P.
Dr. Hughley H. Hanoman, M.P.
Mrs. Una A. James, M.P.
Mr. Alston A. Kissoon, M.P.
Dr. Moti Lall, M.P.
Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P. (Absent)
Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P. Mr. Lawrence E. Rodney, M.P.
Mrs. Pauline Sukhai, M.P.
Mr. Winslow M. Zephyr, M.P.
Mr. Reuben A. Gilbert, M.P. Mr. Edward DaSilva, M.P.
Mr. Khadim Bacchus, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)
Mr. Samad A. Baksh, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam)
Mr. Harrinarine Baldeo, M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)
Mr. Joseph DeSouza, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)
Mr. Eugene La Cruz, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)
Mr. Bagot Paul, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni)
Mr. Kum Karan Ramdas, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)
Mr. Ramrattan, M.P., a/k Balkarran (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/
     West Demerara)
```

Members of the Minority (29)

(i) People's National Congress (26)

```
Mr. H. Desmond Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minority Leader
Mr. Robert H.O. Corbin, M.P. Mr. Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P.
                                          (Absent)
Dr. Patrick L. McKenzie, A.A., M.P., Chief Whip
Mrs. Clarissa Riehl, M.P.
Dr. Kenneth F.S. King, M.P.
Mr. Deryck M.A. Bernard, M.P.
Mr. Dunstan Barrow, M.P.
Miss Amna Ally, M.P.
Miss Jean M.G. Persico, A.A., M.P.
Mr. Arthur A. Alexander, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly
Mr. Simon H. Ng-See-Quan, M.P.
Mr. David Subnauth, M.P. Mr. Reynold N. David, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)
Mr. M. Idris Deen, M.P.
Mr. Aftabuddin Ahamad, M.P.
                                 (Absent-on leave)
Mrs. Cyrilda A. DeJesus, M.P.
Mr. Kenrick Tyndall, M.P.
Mr. Phillip Bynoe, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)
Mr. Andy Gouveia, M.P.
Mr. Hukumchand, M.P., a/k Parag
Miss Joan C. Richards, M.P.
Mr. John A. Fredericks, M.P.
Mr. Ivan Peters, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)
Mr. Hubert K.H. Hyman, M.P.
Mr. Ivor Allen, M.P.
```

(ii) Working People's Alliance (2)

Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine, M.P.

Mr. Matheson Williams, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)

(iii) The United Force (1)

Mr. Manzoor Nadir, M.P.

OFFICERS

Mr. Frank A. Narain, A.A., Clerk of the National Assembly

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The Sitting commenced at 2.04 p.m.

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Mr. Aftabuddin Ahamad for that day's sitting.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC.

By the Senior Minister of Finance:

Purchase Tax (Motor Vehicles) (Amendment) Order 1996 (No. 1 of 1996) made under section 5A of the Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic Act, Chapter 51:02, on the 19th January, 1996, and published in the Gazette on 20th January, 1996.

(Circulated)

(ii) Weights and Measures (Fees) (Amendment) Order 1996 (No. 2 of 1996) made under section 11 (3A) of the Weights and Measures Act, Chapter 90:14, on 25th January, 1996, and published in the Gazette on 27th January, 1996.

(Circulated)

STATEMENTS BY MINISTERS

By the Senior Minister of Foreign Affairs

The Senior Minister of Foreign Affairs made a Statement concerning the rental paid by the Government of Guyana for a one-bedroom utility for the Hon. Mrs. Janet Jagan as accommodation, while she was on assignment to the United Nations.

(Copies of the Statement were circulated)

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS

Presentation and First Reading

(1) LICENCES (INCREASE OF DUTIES) BILL 1996 - Bill No. 1/1996

The Senior Minister of Finance, on behalf of the Government, presented the following Bill which was read the first time:

A BILL intituled AN ACT to amend certain Acts.

(2) FISCAL ENACIMENTS (AMENDMENT) BILL 1996 - Bill No. 2/1996

The Senior Minister of Finance, on behalf of the Government, presented the following Bill which was read the first time:

A BILL intituled AN ACT to amend the Income Tax Act and the Corporation Tax Act.

(3) MOTOR VEHICLES AND ROAD TRAFFIC (AMENDMENT) BILL 1996 - Bill No. 3/1996

The Senior Minister of Finance, on behalf of the Government, presented the following Bill which was read the first time:

A BILL intituled AN ACT to amend the Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic Act.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

ITEM 1 - MOTION FOR THE APPROVAL OF THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1996

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1996.

Dr. Kenneth F.S. King spoke to the motion

The Prime Minister was speaking to the motion when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.00 p.m., the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.37 p.m., the sitting was resumed.

The Prime Minister continued and concluded his speech.

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

Mr. Phillip Bynce

Mr. Donald Ramotar

Mr. M. Idris Deen

Mr. Alston A. Kissoon

Mr. Hubert K.H. Hyman

Mr. Lawrence E. Rodney

Mr. Ivan Peters

Mr. Kum Karan Ramdas

Mr. Harrinarine Baldeo

ADJOURNMENT

At 9.00 p.m., on a motion by the Senior Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House), the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m on Tuesday, 30th January, 1996.

D.C. JAGAN
Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown.

29th January, 1996.