NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 72ND SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (1992-1996) OF THE SIXTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON THURSDAY, 1ST FEBRUARY, 1996

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (72)

Speaker (1)

- The Hon. Derek C. Jagan, S.C., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly
- Members of the Government People's Progressive Party/Civic (42)
 - The Hon. Samuel A. Hinds, M.P., Prime Minister
 - The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Senior Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House)
 - The Hon. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Senior Minister of Home Affairs (Government Chief Whip)
 - The Hon. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P., Senior Minister in the Ministry of Public Works, Communications and Regional Development
 - *The Hon. Rev. Dr. Rammauth Bisnauth, M.P., Senior Minister of Education and Cultural Development
 - *The Hon. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs
 - *The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Senior Minister of Labour, Human Services and Social Security
 - The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Senior Minister of Foreign Affairs
 - The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Senior Minister of Health
 - The Hon. M. Shree Chan, M.P., Senior Minister of Trade, Tourism and Industry
 - *The Hon. Bharrat Jagdeo, M.P., Senior Minister of Finance
 - Mrs. Janet Jagan, O.E., M.P.
 - The Hon. Clinton C. Collymore, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture
 - The Hon. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Labour, Human Services and Social Security
 - *The Hon. F. Vibert DeSouza, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Public Works, Communications and Regional Development
 - *The Hon. George E. Fung-On, M.P., Minister in the Office of the President
 - The Hon. Moses V. Nagamootoo, M.P., Senior Minister of Local Government
 - *Non-elected Member

```
Mr. Cyril C. Belgrave, M.P.
Mr. Fazil M. Ali, M.P.
Mr. Husman Alli, M.P.
Mr. Shaik K.Z. Baksh, M.P.
Mr. Komal Chand, M.P.
Mrs. Shirley V. Edwards, M.P. Dr. Hughley H. Hanoman, M.P.
Mrs. Una A. James, M.P.
Mr. Alston A. Kissoon, M.P.
Dr. Moti Lall, M.P.
Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P. Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P.
Mr. Lawrence E. Rodney, M.P.
Mrs. Pauline Sukhai, M.P.
Mr. Winslow M. Zephyr, M.P. Mr. Reuben A. Gilbert, M.P.
Mr. Edward DaSilva, M.P.
Mr. Khadim Bacchus, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)
Mr. Samad A. Baksh, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam) (Absent)
Mr. Harrinarine Baldeo, M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice) (Absent)
Mr. Joseph DeSouza, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)
Mr. Eugene La Cruz, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)
Mr. Bagot Paul, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni) (Absent-on leave)
Mr. Kum Karan Ramdas, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)
Mr. Ramrattan, M.P., a/k Balkarran (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/
     West Demerara)
```

Members of the Minority (29)

(i) <u>People's National Congress (26)</u>

```
Mr. H. Desmond Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minority Leader
Mr. Robert H.O. Corbin, M.P.
Mr. Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P. (Absent)
Dr. Patrick L. McKenzie, A.A., M.P., Chief Whip
Mrs. Clarissa Riehl, M.P.
Dr. Kenneth F.S. King, M.P.
Mr. Deryck M.A. Bernard, M.P. Mr. Dunstan Barrow, M.P.
Miss Amna Ally, M.P.
Miss Jean M.G. Persico, A.A., M.P.
Mr. Arthur A. Alexander, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly
Mr. Simon H. Ng-See-Quan, M.P.
Mr. David Subnauth, M.P.
Mr. Reynold N. David, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)
Mr. M. Idris Deen, M.P.
Mr. Aftabuddin Ahamad, M.P. (Absent-on leave)
Mrs. Cyrilda A. DeJesus, M.P.
Mr. Kenrick Tyndall, M.P.
Mr. Phillip Bynoe, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice) (Absent-on leave)
Mr. Andy Gouveia, M.P. (Absent)
Mr. Hukumchand, M.P., a/k Parag
Miss Joan C. Richards, M.P.
Mr. John A. Fredericks, M.P.
Mr. Ivan Peters, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica) Mr. Hubert K.H. Hyman, M.P.
Mr. Ivor Allen, M.P.
```

(ii) Working People's Alliance (2)

Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine, M.P.

Mr. Matheson Williams, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)

(iii) The United Force (1)

Mr. Manzoor Nadir, M.P.

OFFICERS

Mr. Frank A. Narain, A.A., Clerk of the National Assembly

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The Sitting commenced at 2.03 p.m.

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

(i) <u>Visit of Secretary-General, C.P.A.</u>

The Speaker made the following announcement:

"Honourable Members, you would recall that at our sitting on Tuesday, I had informed you that the Secretary-General of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association would be visiting Guyana.

The Secretary-General, Mr. Arthur Donahoe, Q.C., arrived last night as was scheduled.

This distinguished visitor is present here at our sitting today.

Mr. Donahoe, a Canadian, is a Barrister and a Solicitor and is also a Queen's Counsel.

He has been very active in Parliamentary matters. He first became a Member of the House of Assembly of Nova Scotia in 1978 and served until 1991. During this period he was Deputy Speaker and was also Speaker of the House.

He is very keen on Parliamentary matters and has been participating regularly since 1981 in the Conferences and Seminars of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association.

He became the Secretary-General of the Association in 1992.

Honourable Members, it gives me great pleasure, on behalf of all of us, to extend a warm welcome to Mr. Arthur Donahoe, Secretary-General of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association, to Guyana and more particularly to our sitting and to offer him our best wishes for an enjoyable and successful visit.

Mr. Donahoe will be leaving Guyana on Saturday."

(ii) Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to the Honourable Member, Mr. Aftabuddin Ahamad, for 1st and 2nd February, 1996, and to the Honourable Members Mr. Bagot Paul and Mr. Phillip Bynoe from that day's sitting.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

ITEM I - MOTION FOR THE APPROVAL OF THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1996 Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1996.

Dr. Patrick L. McKenzie spoke to the motion. The Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture was speaking to the motion when a suspension was taken.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 3.37 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 3.42 p.m., the sitting was resumed.

The Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture continued and concluded his speech.

Mrs. Clarissa Riehl spoke to the motion.

The Senior Minister of Foreign Affairs was speaking to the motion when the time agreed for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

 $$\operatorname{At}\ 5.00\ \operatorname{p.m.},$$ the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 5.35 p.m., the sitting was resumed.

The Senior Minister of Foreign Affairs continued and concluded his speech.

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

Miss Amna Ally
The Senior Minister of Home Affairs
Mr. John A. Fredericks

Presiding of Deputy Speaker

At this stage, the Speaker withdrew and the Deputy Speaker presided until the end of the sitting.

The following Members spoke to the motion:

Dr. Moti Lall

Mr. Matheson Williams

The Minister in the Ministry of Public Works, Communications and Regional Development.

Mr. Kenrick Tyndall

Mr. Eugene La Cruz

Mr. Khadim Bacchus

Mrs. Una A. James

ADJOURNMENT

At 10:19 p.m., on a motion by the Senior Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House), the Assembly was adjourned to 2:00 p.m., on Friday, 2nd February, 1996.

D.C. JAGAN
Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown.

1st February, 1996