### NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

#### MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

# OF THE 75TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (1992-1996) OF THE SIXTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

#### AT 2.00 P.M.

#### ON TUESDAY, 6TH FEBRUARY, 1996

# IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (72)

# Speaker (1)

The Hon. Derek C. Jagan, S.C., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

#### Members of the Government - People's Progressive Party/Civic (42)

The Hon. Samuel A. Hinds, M.P., Prime Minister

- The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Senior Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House)
- The Hon. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Senior Minister of Home Affairs (Government Chief Whip)
- The Hon. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P., Senior Minister in the Ministry of Public Works, Communications and Regional Development
- \*The Hon. Rev. Dr. Ramnauth Bisnauth, M.P., Senior Minister of Education and Cultural Development (Absent)
- \*The Hon. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs
- \*The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Senior Minister of Labour, Human Services and Social Security
- The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Senior Minister of Foreign Affairs
- The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Senior Minister of Health
- The Hon. M. Shree Chan, M.P., Senior Minister of Trade, Tourism and Industry
- \*The Hon. Bharrat Jagdeo, M.P., Senior Minister of Finance

Mrs. Janet Jagan, O.E., M.P.

- The Hon. Clinton C. Collymore, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture
- The Hon. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Labour, Human Services and Social Security
- \*The Hon. F. Vibert DeSouza, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Public Works, Communications and Regional Development (Absent-on leave)
- \*The Hon. George E. Fung-On, M.P., Minister in the Office of the President
- The Hon. Moses V. Nagamootoo, M.P., Senior Minister of Local Government

<sup>\*</sup>Non-elected Member

```
Mr. Cyril C. Belgrave, M.P.
Mr. Fazil M. Ali, M.P.
Mr. Husman Alli, M.P.
Mr. Shaik K.Z. Baksh, M.P. (Absent)
Mr. Komal Chand, M.P.
Mrs. Shirley V. Edwards, M.P.
Dr. Hughley H. Hanoman, M.P.
Mrs. Una A. James, M.P.
Mr. Alston A. Kissoon, M.P.
Dr. Moti Lall, M.P.
Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P. (Absent)
Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P. Mr. Lawrence E. Rodney, M.P.
Mrs. Pauline Sukhai, M.P.
Mr. Winslow M. Zephyr, M.P.
Mr. Reuben A. Gilbert, M.P.
Mr. Edward DaSilva, M.P.
Mr. Khadim Bacchus, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)
Mr. Samad A. Baksh, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam) (Absent)
Mr. Harrinarine Baldeo, M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)
Mr. Joseph DeSouza, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)
Mr. Eugene La Cruz, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)
Mr. Bagot Paul, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni)
Mr. Kum Karan Ramdas, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)
Mr. Ramrattan, M.P., a/k Balkarran (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/
    West Demerara)
                     Members of the Minority (29)
        People's National Congress (26)
(i)
```

```
Mr. H. Desmond Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minority Leader
Mr. Robert H.O. Corbin, M.P. (Absent)
Mr. Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P.
Mr. Patrick L. McKenzie, A.A., M.P., Chief Whip
Mrs. Clarissa Riehl, M.P.
Dr. Kenneth F.S. King, M.P.
Mr. Deryck M.A. Bernard, M.P.
Mr. Dunstan Barrow, M.P.
Miss Amna Ally, M.P.
Miss Jean M.G. Persico, A.A., M.P.
Mr. Arthur A. Alexander, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly Mr. Simon H. Ng-See-Quan, M.P. (Absent-on leave) Mr. David Subnauth, M.P. (Absent)
Mr. Reynold N. David, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)
Mr. M. Idris Deen, M.P.
Mr. Aftabuddin Ahamad, M.P. Mrs. Cyrilda A. DeJesus, M.P.
                                    (Absent)
Mr. Kenrick Tyndall, M.P.
Mr. Phillip Bynoe, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice) (Absent)
Mr. Andy Gouveia, M.P.
Mr. Hukumchand, M.P., a/k Parag
Miss Joan C. Richards, M.P.
Mr. John A. Fredericks, M.P.
Mr. Ivan Peters, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)
Mr. Hubert K.H. Hyman, M.P.
Mr. Ivor Allen, M.P.
```

#### (ii) Working People's Alliance (2)

- Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine, M.P.
- Mr. Matheson Williams, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs) (Absent-on leave)

#### (iii) The United Force (1)

Mr. Manzoor Nadir, M.P

#### **OFFICERS**

Mr. Frank A. Narain, A.A., Clerk of the National Assembly

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

#### COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The Sitting commenced at 2.02 p.m.

#### **PRAYERS**

The Clerk read Prayers.

#### ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

#### **Leave**

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Mr. Simon H. Ng-See-Quan for that day's sitting.

#### **PUBLIC BUSINESS**

# MOTION

# <u>ITEM 1</u> - <u>MOTION FOR THE APPROVAL OF THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE</u> <u>FOR 1996</u>

Assembly resolved itself into Committee of Supply and resumed consideration of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1996.

#### In Committee of Supply

The following Heads and Divisions were approved, as printed in the Estimates: -

\$

Head 46 - Ministry of Labour, Human

Services and Social Security 684,277,000

Div. 503 - Ministry of Labour, Human Services and Social Security-

SIMAP -1,250,000,000

\$ Div. 504 - Ministry of Labour, Human Services and Social Security - 33,058,000 Head 20 - Ministry of Foreign Affairs 785,492,000 Div. 506 - Ministry of Foreign Affairs 22,000,000 Head 34 - Ministry of Health 468,763,000 Head 35 - Ministry of Health -National Hospitals 715,990,000 Head 36 - Ministry of Health -Other Health Programmes 307,093,000 686,000,000 Div 516 - Ministry of Health 23,098,000 Head 13 - Public Utilities Commission Head 51 - Ministry of Trade, Tourism and Industry 110,487,000 Div. 528 - Ministry of Trade, Tourism and Industry 17,300,000 Head 10 - Public Prosecutions 16,184,000 Head 14 - Ministry of Legal Affairs 13,038,000 62,054,000 Head 15 - Supreme Court of Judicature Head 16 - Magistrates 42,012,000 30,093,000 Head 17 - Attorney General Head 18 - Official Receiver 7,969,000 Head 19 - Deeds Registry 14,623,000 Div. 514 - Ministry of Legal Affairs 118,162,000

# Assembly Resumed.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

At 4.20 p.m., on a motion by the Senior Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House), the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Wednesday, 7th February, 1996.

D.E. JAGAN

Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown.

6th February, 1996.