NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 87TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (1992-1997) OF THE SIXTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 P.M

ON MONDAY, 27TH JANUARY, 1997

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (74)

Speaker (1)

The Hon. Derek C. Jagan, C.C.H., S.C., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's Progressive Party/Civic (44)

- The Hon. Samuel A. Hinds, M.P., Prime Minister
- The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Senior Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House)
- The Hon. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Senior Minister of Home Affairs (Government Chief Whip)
- The Hon. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P., Senior Minister of Local Government
- *The Hon. Rev. Dr. Ramnauth Bisnauth, M.P., Senior Minister of Education and Cultural Development
- *The Hon. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs (Absent)
- *The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Senior Minister of Labour, Human Services and Social Security
- The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Senior Minister of Foreign Affairs
- The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Senior Minister of Health
- The Hon. M. Shree Chan, M.P., Senior Minister of Trade, Tourism and Industry
- *The Hon. Bharrat Jagdeo, M.P., Senior Minister of Finance
- Mrs. Janet Jagan, O.E., M.P.
- The Hon. Clinton C. Collymore, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Local Government (Absent)
- The Hon. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Labour, Human Services and Social Security
- *The Hon. F. Vibert DeSouza, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Local Government
- *The Hon. George E. Fung-On, M.P., Minister in the Office of the President
- The Hon. Moses V. Nagamootoo, M.P., Senior Minister of Information
- *The Hon. C. Anthony Xavier, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Public Works and Communications
- *The Hon. Satyadeow Sawh, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture

```
Cyril C. Belgrave, M.P.
Mr.
       Fazil M. Ali, M.P.
Mr.
Mr.
       Husman Alli, M.P.
Mr.
       Shaik K.Z. Baksh, M.P.
       Komal Chand, C.C.H., M.P.
Mr.
       Shirley V. Edwards, M.P. Hughley H. Hanoman, M.P.
Mrs.
Dr.
Mrs.
       Una A. James, M.P.
Mr.
       Alston A. Kissoon, M.P.
Dr.
       Moti Lall, M.P.
       Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P.
Mr.
       Donald Ramotar, M.P.
Mr.
       Lawrence E. Rodney, M.P.
Mr.
Mrs.
       Pauline Sukhai, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Local Government
       Winslow M. Zephyr, M.P.
Mr.
Mr.
       Reuben A. Gilbert, M.P.
Mr.
       Edward DaSilva, M.P.
       Khadim Bacchus, M.P.
                                  (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)
Mr.
       Samad A. Baksh, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam) (Absent - on l. Harrinarine Baldeo, M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)
Joseph DeSouza, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)
Mr.
Mr.
Mr.
                                  (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)
       Eugene La Cruz, M.P.
Mr.
       Bagot Paul, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni) (Absent)
Mr.
       Kum Karan Ramdas, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)
Mr.
       Ramrattan, M.P. a/k Balkarran (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/
Mr.
       West Demerara)
```

Members of the Minority (29)

```
(L)
              People's National Congress (26)
       H. Desmond Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minority Leader (Absent - on leave)
Mr.
       Robert H.O. Corbin, M.P.
Mr.
       Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P.
Mr.
Mrs.
       Clarissa Riehl, M.P.
       Dunstan Barrow, M.P.
Mr.
       M. Idris Deen, M.P.
Mr.
       Faith A. Harding, M.P.
Dr.
       Amna Ally, M.P.

Jean M.G. Persico, A.A., M.P.
Miss
Miss
       Arthur A. Alexander, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly
Mr.
       Dharamdeo Sawh, M.P.
Mr.
Mr.
       Simon Ng-See-Quan, M.P.
       David Subnauth, J.P., M.P.
Mr.
                                   (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)
       Reynold N. David, M.P.
Mr.
       Aftabuddin Ahamad, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Mr.
Mrs.
       Cyrilda A. DeJesus, M.P.
       Kenrick Tyndall, M.P.

Phillip Bynoe, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)
Mr.
Mr.
Mr.
       Andy Gouveia, M.P.
Mr.
       Hukumchand, M.P. a/k Parag
       Joan C. Richards, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
John A. Fredericks, M.P.
Ivan Peters, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)
Miss
Mr.
Mr.
       Hubert K.H. Hyman, M.P.
Mr.
Mr.
       Ivor Allen, M.P.
```

(ii) Working People's Alliance

Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine, M.P.

Mr. Matheson Williams, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)

(iii) The United Force

Mr. Manzoor Nadir, M.P.

OFFICERS

Mr. Frank A. Narain, A.A., Clerk of the National Assembly
Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The Sitting commenced at 2.00 p.m.

PRAYER

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Mr. Samad A. Baksh up to 31st January, and Mr. H. Desmond Hoyte until 30th January.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

ITEM 1 - MOTION FOR THE APPROVAL OF THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1997

Correction of Errors

Before the Assembly proceeded with the debate on the 1997 Budget, the Speaker invited the attention of Members to the list, which had been circulated, showing the printing errors to be corrected in the 1997 Estimates.

Eleven pages were affected and were reproduced with the corrections and circulated.

The Speaker stated that he had been advised that the total expenditure to be voted in 1997 would not be affected.

Resumption of Debate

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1997.

The following Members spoke to the motion:

Mr. Winston Murray

The Prime Minister.

Mr. Phillip Bynoe was speaking to the motion when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.00 p.m., the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.30 p.m., the sitting was resumed..

Resumption of Debate

Mr. Phillip Bynoe continued and concluded his speech.

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

Mr. Donald Ramotar

Mr. M. Idris Deen

Mr. Alston A. Kissoon

Mr. Arthur A. Alexander

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan

Mr. Hubert K.H. Hyman.

Presiding of Deputy Speaker

Mr. Hyman was speaking to the motion when the Speaker withdrew from the sitting and the Deputy Speaker took the Chair and presided until the end of the sitting.

Resumption of Debate

Mr. Hyman continued and concluded his speech.

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

Mr. Lawrence Rodney

Mr. Husman Alli.

<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

At 9.12 p.m., on a motion by the Senior Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House), the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Tuesday, 28th January, 1997.

D.C. JAGAN

Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE,

Public Buildings,

Georgetown

27th January, 1997.