NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 88TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (1992-1997) OF THE SIXTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 P.M

ON TUESDAY, 28TH JANUARY, 1997

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (74)

Speaker (1)

The Hon. Derek C. Jagan, C.C.H., S.C., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's Progressive Party/Civic (44)

- The Hon. Samuel A. Hinds, M.P., Prime Minister
- The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Senior Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House)
- The Hon. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Senior Minister of Home Affairs (Government Chief Whip)
- The Hon. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P., Senior Minister of Local Government
- *The Hon. Rev. Dr. Rammauth Bisnauth, M.P., Senior Minister of Education and Cultural Development
- *The Hon. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs (Absent on leave)
- *The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Senior Minister of Labour, Human Services and Social Security
- The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Senior Minister of Foreign Affairs
- The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Senior Minister of Health
- The Hon. M. Shree Chan, M.P., Senior Minister of Trade, Tourism and Industry
- *The Hon. Bharrat Jagdeo, M.P., Senior Minister of Finance
- Mrs. Janet Jagan, O.E., M.P.
- The Hon. Clinton C. Collymore, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Local Government
- The Hon. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Labour, Human Services and Social Security
- *The Hon. F. Vibert DeSouza, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Local Government
- *The Hon. George B. Fung-On, M.P., Minister in the Office of the President
- The Hon. Moses V. Nagamootoo, M.P., Senior Minister of Information
- *The Hon. C. Anthony Xavier, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Public Works and Communications
- *The Hon. Satyadeow Sawh, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture

```
Cyril C. Belgrave, M.P. Fazil M. Ali, M.P.
Mr.
Mr.
       Husman Alli, M.P.
Mr.
Mr.
       Shaik K.Z. Baksh, M.P.
Mr.
       Komal Chand, C.C.H., M.P.
       Shirley V. Edwards, M.P. Hughley H. Hanoman, M.P.
Mrs.
Dr.
       Una A. James, M.P.
Mrs.
Mr.
       Alston A. Kissoon, M.P. (Absent)
       Moti Lall, M.P.
Dr.
Mr.
       Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P.
Mr.
       Donald Ramotar, M.P.
Mr.
       Lawrence E. Rodney, M.P.
       Pauline Sukhai, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Local Government Winslow M. Zephyr, M.P.
Mrs.
Mr.
Mr.
       Reuben A. Gilbert, M.P.
Mr.
       Edward DaSilva, M.P.
Mr.
       Khadim Bacchus, M.P.
                                 (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)
                                 (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam) (Absent - on leave
       Samad A. Baksh, M.P.
Mr.
       Harrinarine Baldeo, M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)
Mr.
       Joseph DeSouza, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)
Eugene La Cruz, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)
Mr.
Mr.
       Bagot Paul, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni) (Absent)
Mr.
       Kum Karan Ramdas, M.P.
Mr.
                                  (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)
       Ramrattan, M.P. a/k Balkarran (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/
Mr.
       West Demerara)
```

Members of the Minority (29)

People's National Congress (26)

```
H. Desmond Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minority Leader (Absent - on leave)
Mr.
       Robert H.O. Corbin, M.P.
Mr.
       Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P.
Mr.
       Clarissa Riehl, M.P.
Mrs.
       Dunstan Barrow, M.P. M. Idris Deen, M.P.
Mr.
Mr.
       Faith A. Harding, M.P.
Dr.
       Amna Ally, M.P.

Jean M.G. Persico, A.A., M.P.

Arthur A. Alexander, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly
Miss
Miss
Mr.
       Dharamdeo Sawh, M.P.
Mr.
       Simon Ng-See-Quan, M.P. (Absent)
       David Subnauth, J.P., M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Reynold N. David, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)
Mr.
Mr.
        Aftabuddin Ahamad, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Mr.
        Cyrilda A. DeJesus, M.P.
Mrs.
        Kenrick Tyndall, M.P.

Dhillip Bynoe, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)
Mr.
Mr.
        Andy Gouveia, M.P.
Mr.
        Hukumchand, M.P. a/k Parag
Mr.
        Joan C. Richards, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Miss
        John A. Fredericks, M.P.
Mr.
        Ivan Peters, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica) Hubert K.H. Hyman, M.P.
Mr.
Mr.
        Ivor Allen, M.P.
Mr.
```

(There is one vacancy)

(ii) Working People's Alliance

- Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine, M.P.
- Mr. Matheson Williams, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)

(iii) The United Force

Mr. Manzoor Nadir, M.P.

OFFICERS

Mr. Frank A. Narain, A.A., Clerk of the National Assembly

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The Sitting commenced at $2.00\ \mathrm{p.m.}$

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

<u>Leave</u>

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Mr. David Subnauth for that day's sitting.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

ITEM 1 - MOTION FOR THE APPROVAL OF THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1997

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1997.

Mr. Dunstan Barrow spoke to the motion.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.00 p.m., the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.30 p.m., the sitting was resumed.

Resumption of Debate

The Senior Minister of Trade, Tourism and Industry continued and concluded his speech.

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

Miss Jean M.G. Persico

The Senior Minister of Health

Miss Amna Ally

The Senior Minister of Home Affairs

Mr. John A. Fredericks.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 7.55 p.m., the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 8.18 p.m., the sitting was resumed.

Resumption of Debate

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

The Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Local Government

Mr. Eugene La Cruz

Mr. Andy Gouveia

Mr. Kum Karan Ramdas

Mrs. Shirley V. Edwards.

<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

At 9.44 p.m., on a motion by the Senior Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House), the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Wednesday, 29th January, 1997.

D.C. JAGAN

Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE,
Public Buildings,
Georgetown
28th January, 1997.