## NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

# MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

## OF THE 89TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST

### SESSION (1992-1997) OF THE SIXTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

#### AT 2.00 P.M

#### ON WEDNESDAY, 29TH JANUARY, 1997

### IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

## MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (74)

#### Speaker (1)

The Hon. Derek C. Jagan, C.C.H., S.C., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

# Members of the Government - People's Progressive Party/Civic (44)

- The Hon. Samuel A. Hinds, M.P., Prime Minister
- The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Senior Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House)
- The Hon. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Senior Minister of Home Affairs (Government Chief Whip)
- The Hon. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P., Senior Minister of Local Government
- \*The Hon. Rev. Dr. Rammauth Bisnauth, M.P., Senior Minister of Education and Cultural Development (Absent)
- \*The Hon. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs (Absent on leave)
- \*The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Senior Minister of Labour, Human Services and Social Security
- The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Senior Minister of Foreign Affairs
- The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Senior Minister of Health
- The Hon. M. Shree Chan, M.P., Senior Minister of Trade, Tourism and Industry
- \*The Hon. Bharrat Jagdeo, M.P., Senior Minister of Finance
- Mrs. Janet Jagan, O.E., M.P.
- The Hon. Clinton C. Collymore, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Local Government
- The Hon. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Labour, Human Services and Social Security
- \*The Hon. F. Vibert DeSouza, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Local Government
- \*The Hon. George E. Fung-On, M.P., Minister in the Office of the President
- The Hon. Moses V. Nagamootoo, M.P., Senior Minister of Information
- \*The Hon. C. Anthony Xavier, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Public Works and Communications
- \*The Hon. Satyadeow Sawh, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture

```
Cyril C. Belgrave, M.P. Fazil M. Ali, M.P.
Mr.
Mr.
       Husman Alli, M.P.
Mr.
Mr.
       Shaik K.Z. Baksh, M.P.
Mr.
       Komal Chand, C.C.H., M.P.
       Shirley V. Edwards, M.P. Hughley H. Hanoman, M.P.
Mrs.
Dr.
       Una A. James, M.P.
Alston A. Kissoon, M.P.
Mrs.
Mr.
Dr.
       Moti Lall, M.P.
       Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P.
Mr.
Mr.
       Donald Ramotar, M.P.
       Lawrence E. Rodney, M.P.
Mr.
       Pauline Sukhai, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Local Government
Mrs.
Mr.
       Winslow M. Zephyr, M.P.
Mr.
       Reuben A. Gilbert, M.P.
       Edward DaSilva, M.P. Khadim Bacchus, M.P.
Mr.
                                 (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)
Mr.
                                 (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam) (Absent - on legue
Mr.
       Samad A. Baksh, M.P.
       Harrinarine Baldeo, M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)
Mr.
                                 (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)
Mr.
       Joseph DeSouza, M.P.
                            .P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)
(Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni)
Mr.
       Eugene La Cruz, M.P.
Mr.
       Bagot Paul, M.P.
       Kum Karan Ramdas, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)
Mr.
       Ramrattan, M.P. a/k Balkarran (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/
Mr.
       West Demerara)
```

# Members of the Minority (29)

```
(L)
               People's National Congress (26)
       H. Desmond Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minority Leader (Absent - on leave)
Mr.
       Robert H.O. Corbin, M.P.
Mr.
       Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P.
Mr.
       Clarissa Riehl, M.P.
Mrs.
       Dunstan Barrow, M.P.
Mr.
       M. Idris Deen, M.P.
Mr.
       Faith A. Harding, M.P. Amna Ally, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Dr.
Miss
       Jean M.G. Persico, A.A., M.P. Arthur A. Alexander, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly
Miss
Mr.
       Dharamdeo Sawh, M.P.
Mr.
       Simon Ng-See-Quan, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Mr.
       David Subnauth, J.P., M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Mr.
       Reynold N. David, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni) Aftabuddin Ahamad, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Mr.
Mr.
        Cyrilda A. DeJesus, M.P.
Mrs.
        Kenrick Tyndall, M.P.

Phillip Bynoe, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice) (Absent)
Mr.
Mr.
        Andy Gouveia, M.P.
Mr.
        Hukumchand, M.P. a/k Parag
Mr.
        Joan C. Richards, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Miss
        John A. Fredericks, M.P.

Ivan Peters, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)
Mr.
 Mr.
        Hubert K.H. Hyman, M.P.
Mr.
```

(There is one vacancy)

Ivor Allen, M.P.

Mr.

# (ii) Working People's Alliance

Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine, M.P.

Mr. Matheson Williams, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)

# (iii) The United Force

Mr. Manzoor Nadir, M.P.

# OFFICERS

Mr. Frank A. Narain, A.A., Clerk of the National Assembly

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

## COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The Sitting commenced at 2.00 p.m.

## PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

# ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

### Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Miss Amna Ally and Mr. Simon Ng-See-Quan up to 30th January, 1997.

## PUBLIC BUSINESS

## MOTION

# ITEM 1 MOTION FOR THE APPROVAL OF THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1997

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1997.

The following Members spoke to the motion:

Mr. Robert H.O. Corbin

The Senior Minister of Local Government

The Minister in the Ministry of Public Works and Communications

Mrs. Clarissa Riehl.

## SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 5.03 p.m., the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

## RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 5.36 p.m., the sitting was resumed.

# Resumption of Debate

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

The Senior Minister of Foreign Affairs

Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine

The Senior Minister of Labour, Human Services and Social Security.

# SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 8.50 p.m., the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

## RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 9.08 p.m., the sitting was resumed.

## Resumption of Debate

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

Mr. Hukumchand a/k Parag

The Minister in the Office of the President.

5.

## Presiding of Deputy Speaker

Mr. Kenrick Tyndall was speaking to the motion when the Speaker withdrew from the sitting and the Deputy Speaker took the Chair and presided until the end of the Sitting.

## Resumption of Debate

Mr. Tyndall continuted and concluded his speech.

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

Mr. Khadim Bacchus

Mr. Ivan Peters

Mr. Harrinarine Baldeo.

# ADJOURNMENT

At 11.30 p.m., on a motion by the Senior Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House), the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Thursday, 30th January, 1997.

C.C. JAGAN

Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE,

Public Buildings,

Georgetown

29th January, 1997.