#### NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

#### MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

#### OF THE 91ST SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST

#### SESSION (1992-1997) OF THE SIXTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

#### AT 2.00 P.M

## OR FRIDAY, 31ST JANUARY, 1997

#### IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

#### MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (74)

#### Speaker (1)

The Hon. Derek C. Jagan, C.C.H., S.C., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

#### Members of the Government - People's Progressive Party/Civic (44)

The Hon. Samuel A. Hinds, M.P., Prime Minister

- The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Senior Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House)
- The Hon. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Senior Minister of Home Affairs (Government Chief Whip)
- The Hon. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P., Senior Minister of Local Government
- \*The Hon. Rev. Dr. Ramnauth Bisnauth, M.P., Senior Minister of Education and Cultural Development (Absent)
- \*The Hon. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs
- \*The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Senior Minister of Labour, Human Services and Social Security
- The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Senior Minister of Foreign Affairs
- The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Senior Minister of Health
- The Hon. M. Shree Chan, M.P., Senior Minister of Trade, Tourism and Industry
- \*The Hon. Bharrat Jagdeo, M.P., Senior Minister of Finance
- Mrs. Janet Jagan, O.E., M.P.
- The Hon. Clinton C. Collymore, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Local Government
- The Hon. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Labour, Human Services and Social Security
- \*The Hon. F. Vibert DeSouza, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Local Government
- \*The Hon. George E. Fung-On, M.P., Minister in the Office of the President
- The Hon. Moses V. Nagamootoo, M.P., Senior Minister of Information
- \*The Hon. C. Anthony Xavier, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Public Works and Communications
- \*The Hon. Satyadeow Sawh, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture

#### \* Non-elected Member

Mr.	Cyril C. Belgrave, M.P.
Mr.	Fazil M. Ali, M.P.
Mr.	Husman Alli, M.P.
Mr.	Shaik K.Z. Baksh, M.P.
Mr.	Komal Chand, C.C.H., M.P.
Mrs.	Shirley V. Edwards, M.P.
Dr.	Hughley H. Hanoman, M.P. (Absent)
Mrs.	Una A. James, M.P.
Mr.	Alston A. Kissoon, M.P.
Dr.	Moti Lall, M.P.
Mr.	Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P.
Mr.	Donald Ramotar, M.P.
Mr.	Lawrence E. Rodney, M.P.
Mrs.	Pauline Sukhai, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Local Government
Mr.	Winslow M. Zephyr, M.P.
Mr.	Reuben A. Gilbert, M.P.
Mr.I	Edward Dasilva, M.P.
Mr.	Khadim Bacchus, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)
Mr.	Samad A. Baksh, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam) (Absent - on 1
Mr.	Harrinarine Baldeo, M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)
Mr.	Joseph DeSouza, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)
Mr.	Eugene La Cruz, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)
Mr.	Bagot Paul, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni) (Absent - on leave)
Mr.	Kum Karan Ramdas, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)
Mr.	Ramrattan, M.P. a/k Balkarran (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/
	West Demerara)

## Members of the Minority (29)

## (1) People's National Congress (26)

Mr.	H. Desmond Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minority Leader
Mr.	Robert H.O. Corbin, M.P.
Mr.	Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P.
Mrs.	Clarissa Riehl, M.P.
Mr.	Dunstan Barrow, M.P.
Mr.	M. Idris Deen, M.P.
Dr.	Faith A. Harding, M.P.
Miss	Amna Ally, M.P.
Miss	Jean M.G. Persico, A.A., M.P.
Mr.	Arthur A. Alexander, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly
Mr.	Dharamdeo Sawh, M.P.
Mr.	Simon Ng-See-Quan, M.P. (Absent)
Mr.	David Subnauth, J.P., M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Mr.	Reynold N. David, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)
Mr.	Aftabuddin Ahamad, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Mrs.	Cyrilda A. DeJesus, M.P.
Mr.	Kenrick Tyndall, M.P.
Mr.	Phillip Bynoe, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)
Mr.	Andy Gouveia, M.P.
Mr.	Hukumchand, M.P. a/k Parag
Miss	Joan C. Richards, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Mr.	John A. Fredericks, M.P.
Mr.	Ivan Peters, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)
Mr.	Hubert K.H. Hyman, M.P.
Mr.	Ivor Allen, M.P.

(There is one vacancy)

1. 1. A. B.

. ...

/...3

3

2.

## (ii) Working People's Alliance (2)

Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine, M.P.

Mr. Matheson Williams, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)

## (iii) The United Force (1)

Mr. Manzoor Nadir, M.P

## OFFICERS

Mr. Frank A. Narain, A.A., Clerk of the National Assembly

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

## COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The Sitting commenced at 2.00 p.m.

## PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

## PUBLIC BUSINESS

#### MOTION

# <u>ITEM 1</u> MOTION FOR THE APPROVAL OF THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1997 Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1997.

The following Members spoke to the motion:

Mr. Ivor Allen
The Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture
The Minister in the Ministry of Local Government
(Hon. Clinton C. Collymore)

Mrs. Cyrilda DeJesus The Senior Minister of Information.

## SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 5.05 p.m., the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

#### RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 5.37 p.m., the sitting was resumed.

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

## Resumption of Debate

Mr. Reynold N. David
The Minister in the Ministry of Local Government (Hon. F. Vibert DeSouza)
Mr. Cyril C Belgrave
The Minority Leader
The Senior Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House)

## COMMITTEE OF SUPPLY

Assembly resolved itself into Committee of Supply.

The Speaker reported that the Business Sub-Committee of the Committee of Supply met on 30th January, 1997, considered the allocation of time for the consideration of the 1997 Estimates of Expenditure in the Committee of Supply, and passed a Resolution on the matter.

Copies of the Sub-Committee's Minutes, Resolution and Time Table had been circulated to Members at the sitting on 30th January, 1997.

On a motion by the Senior Minister of Finance, the Committee of Supply agreed with the Business Sub-Committee in its Resolution.

The Speaker stated that in accordance with the Resolution, the Committee of Supply would commence consideration of the 1997 Estimates of Expenditure on Monday, 3rd February, 1997.

## Assembly Resumed.

4.

## ADJOURNMENT

At 9.34 p.m., on a motion by the Senior Minister.of Agriculture (Leader of the House), the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Monday, 3rd February, 1997.

D.C. JAGAN

Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE,

Public Buildings,

Georgetown

31st January, 1997.