#### **NATIONAL ASSEMBLY**

# MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE 5TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (1998) OF THE SEVENTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

#### AT 2.00 P.M.

# ON THURSDAY, 2ND APRIL, 1998 IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (76)

#### Speaker (1)

The Hon. Derek C. Jagan, C.C.H., S.C., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

# Members of the Government - People's Progressive Party/Civic (46)

The Hon. Samuel A. A. Hinds, M.P., Prime Minister

The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Minister of Agriculture and Parliamentary Affairs

The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs

The Hon. Bharrat Jagdeo, M.P., Minister of Finance

- \*The Hon. Charles R. Ramson, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs
- \*The Hon. Rev. Dr. Ramnauth D.A. Bisnauth, M.P., Minister of Education

The Hon. M. Shree Chan, M.P., Minister of Trade, Tourism and Industry

- \*The Hon. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Minister of Human Services and Social Security
- \*The Hon. Clinton C. Collymore, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Local Government
- \*The Hon. F. Vibert DeSouza, M.P., Minister of Amerindian Affairs
- \*The Hon. George E. Fung-On, M.P., Minister of the Public Service (Absent on leave)
- \*The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Minister of Health and Labour

The Hon. Moses V. Nagamootoo, J.P., M.P., Minister of Information

The Hon. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P., Minister of Local Government

\*The Hon. Satyadeow Sawh, M.P., Minister of Livestock and Fisheries

The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Minister of Culture, Youth and Sports (Absent - on leave)

- \*The Hon. C. Anthony Xavier, M.P., Minister of Transport and Hydraulics
- \*The Hon. Shaik K. Z. Baksh, M.P., Minister of Housing and Water

\*Non-elected Minister

Mr. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P.

Mr. Cyril C. Belgrave, M.P.

Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P.

Mr. Fazil M. Ali, M.P.

Mr. Husman Alli, M.P.

Mr. Komal Chand, C.C.H., J.P., M.P.

Mr. Navindranauth O. Chandarpal, M.P.

Mr. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P. (Absent)

Mrs. Shirley V. Edwards, J.P., M.P.

Dr. Hughley H. Hanoman, M.P.

Dr. Cheddi B. Jagan, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Mr. Alston A. Kissoon, M.P. (Absent)

Dr. Moti Lall, M.P.

Mr. Odinga N. Lumumba, M.P.

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P. (Absent)

Mr. Hari Narayen Ramkarran, S.C., M.P.

Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P.

Mr. Lawrence E. Rodney, M.P.

Mrs. Philomena Sahoye-Shury, C.C.H., J.P., M.P.

Mrs. Pauline R. Sukhai, M.P.

Mr. Winslow M. Zephyr, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Mr. Joseph M. DeSouza, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)

Mr. Heeralall Mohan, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam)

Mr. Ramratan, M.P. (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

Mr. Geoffrey A. Fraser, M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)

Mr. Ramsundar Sankat, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)

Mr. Eustace S. Rodrigues, M.S., M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)

Mr. Kumkaran Ramdas, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)

#### Members of the Minority (29)

## (i) People's National Congress (25)

Mr. H. Desmond Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minority Leader (Absent)

Mr. Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P. (Absent)

Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P. (Absent)

Mr. Dunstan Barrow, M.P. (Absent)

Dr. Faith A. Harding, M.P. (Absent)

Miss Jean M.G. Persico, A.A., M.P. (Absent)

Mr. Ivor Allen, M.P. (Absent)

Mrs. Cyrilda A. DeJesus, M.P. (Absent)

Mr. Andy Gouveia, M.P. (Absent)

Ms Deborah Backer, M.P. (Absent)

Mr. Colin Bynoe, M.P. (Absent)

Mr. Lance Carberry, M.P. (Absent)

Mr. John S. DeFreitas, M.P. (Absent)

Mr. Milton L. Ganpatsingh, M.P. (Absent)

Mr. Andrew Hicks, M.P. (Absent)

Dr. Dalgleish Joseph, M.P. (Absent)

Mr. Kadim Khan, M.P. (Absent)

Mrs. Volda Lawrence, M.P. (Absent)

Mr. Sherwood Lowe, M.P. (Absent)

Mr. Aubrey Norton, M.P. (Absent)

Mr. Neaz Subhan, M.P. (Absent)

Mr. Raphael Trotman, M.P. (Absent)

Mr. Joseph Hamilton, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica) (Absent)

Mr. Kelly Andries, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni) (Absent)

Ms Sandra Adams, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice) (Absent)

# (ii) The United Force (2)

Mr. Manzoor Nadir, M.P.

Mr. Matthew R. Charlie, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)

4.

## (iii) Alliance for Guyana (2)

Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine, M.P.

Mr. Albertino Peters, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni)

#### **OFFICERS**

Mr. Frank A. Narain, A.A., Clerk of the National Assembly

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

## **COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING**

The Sitting commenced at 2.02 p.m.

#### **PRAYERS**

The Clerk read Prayers.

## **ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER**

#### Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to the Hon. George E. Fung-On up to 30th April, the Hon. Gail Teixeira for that day's sitting, and Dr. Cheddi B. Jagan up to 7th April.

## **PUBLIC BUSINESS**

# **MOTION**

# MOTION FOR THE APPROVAL OF THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1998 (1998 BUDGET)

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1998.

The following Members spoke to the motion:

Mr. Manzoor Nadir

The Prime Minister

# **SUSPENSION OF SITTING**

At 4.00 p.m., the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

#### **RESUMPTION OF SITTING**

At 4.30 p.m., the sitting was resumed.

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

The Minister of Housing and Water

The Minister of Health and Labour /

The Minister of Foreign Affairs

Mr. Albertino Peters

The Minister of Human Services and Social Security

Mr. Kumkaran Ramdas

# **ADJOURNMENT**

At 6.38 p.m., the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m., on Friday, 3rd April, 1998.

Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown.

2nd April, 1998.