NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

<u>MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS</u> OF THE 6TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (1998) OF THE SEVENTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 P.M.

<u>ON FRIDAY, 3RD APRIL, 1998</u> IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (76)

Speaker (1)

The Hon. Derek C. Jagan, C.C.H., S.C., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's Progressive Party/Civic (46)

The Hon. Samuel A. A. Hinds, M.P., Prime Minister

- The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Minister of Agriculture and Parliamentary Affairs
- The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs

The Hon. Bharrat Jagdeo, M.P., Minister of Finance

- *The Hon. Charles R. Ramson, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs
- *The Hon. Rev. Dr. Ramnauth D.A. Bisnauth, M.P., Minister of Education

The Hon. M. Shree Chan, M.P., Minister of Trade, Tourism and Industry

- *The Hon. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Minister of Human Services and Social Security (Absent)
- *The Hon. Clinton C. Collymore, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Local Government
- *The Hon. F. Vibert DeSouza, M.P., Minister of Amerindian Affairs
- *The Hon. George E. Fung-On, M.P., Minister of the Public Service (Absent on leave)
- *The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Minister of Health and Labour

The Hon. Moses V. Nagamootoo, J.P., M.P., Minister of Information

- The Hon. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P., Minister of Local Government
- *The Hon. Satyadeow Sawh, M.P., Minister of Livestock and Fisheries
- The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Minister of Culture, Youth and Sports
- *The Hon. C. Anthony Xavier, M.P., Minister of Transport and Hydraulics
- *The Hon. Shaik K. Z. Baksh, M.P., Minister of Housing and Water (Absent)

*Non-elected Minister

- Mr. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P.
- Mr. Cyril C. Belgrave, M.P.
- Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P.
- Mr. Fazil M. Ali, M.P.
- Mr. Husman Alli, M.P.
- Mr. Komal Chand, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Absent)
- Mr. Navindranauth O. Chandarpal, M.P.
- Mr. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P.
- Mrs. Shirley V. Edwards, J.P., M.P.
- Dr. Hughley H. Hanoman, M.P.
- Dr. Cheddi B. Jagan, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Mr. Alston A. Kissoon, M.P. (Absent)
- Dr. Moti Lall, M.P.
- Mr. Odinga N. Lumumba, M.P.
- Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P.
- Mr. Hari Narayen Ramkarran, S.C., M.P.
- Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P.
- Mr. Lawrence E. Rodney, M.P.
- Mrs. Philomena Sahoye-Shury, C.C.H., J.P., M.P.
- Mrs. Pauline R. Sukhai, M.P.
- Mr. Winslow M. Zephyr, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly
- Mr. Joseph M. DeSouza, M.P. (Region No. 1 Barima/Waini)
- Mr. Heeralall Mohan, M.P. (Region No. 2 Pomeroon/Supenaam)
- Mr. Ramratan, M.P. (Region No. 3 Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)
- Mr. Geoffrey A. Fraser, M.P. (Region No. 5 Mahaica/Berbice)
- Mr. Ramsundar Sankat, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 6 East Berbice/Corentyne)
- Mr. Eustace S. Rodrigues, M.S., M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)
- Mr. Kumkaran Ramdas, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)

Members of the Minority (29)

3.

(i) <u>People's National Congress (25)</u>

- Mr. H. Desmond Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minority Leader (Absent)
- Mr. Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P. (Absent)
- Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P. (Absent)
- Mr. Dunstan Barrow, M.P. (Absent)
- Dr. Faith A. Harding, M.P. (Absent)
- Miss Jean M.G. Persico, A.A., M.P. (Absent)
- Mr. Ivor Allen, M.P. (Absent)
- Mrs. Cyrilda A. DeJesus, M.P. (Absent)
- Mr. Andy Gouveia, M.P. (Absent)
- Ms Deborah Backer, M.P. (Absent)
- Mr. Colin Bynoe, M.P. (Absent)
- Mr. Lance Carberry, M.P. (Absent)
- Mr. John S. DeFreitas, M.P. (Absent)
- Mr. Milton L. Ganpatsingh, M.P. (Absent)
- Mr. Andrew Hicks, M.P. (Absent)
- Dr. Dalgleish Joseph, M.P. (Absent)
- Mr. Kadim Khan, M.P. (Absent)
- Mrs. Volda Lawrence, M.P. (Absent)
- Mr. Sherwood Lowe, M.P. (Absent)
- Mr. Aubrey Norton, M.P. (Absent)
- Mr. Neaz Subhan, M.P. (Absent)
- Mr. Raphael Trotman, M.P. (Absent)
- Mr. Joseph Hamilton, M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica) (Absent)
- Mr. Kelly Andries, M.P. (Region No. 7 Cuyuni/Mazaruni) (Absent)

Ms Sandra Adams, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice) (Absent)

(ii) <u>The United Force (2)</u>

- Mr. Manzoor Nadir, M.P.
- Mr. Matthew R. Charlie, M.P. (Region No. 9 Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)

(iii) Alliance for Guyana (2)

- Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine, M.P.
- Mr. Albertino Peters, M.P. (Region No. 8 Potaro/Siparuni)

OFFICERS

Mr. Frank A. Narain, A.A., Clerk of the National Assembly

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The Sitting commenced at 2.00 p.m.

<u>PRAYERS</u>

The Clerk read Prayers.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC.

By the Speaker:

Minutes of the Proceedings of the First Meeting of the Committee of Selection held on 2nd April, 1998.

(Circulated)

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS-

Presentation and First Reading LOCAL AUTHORITIES (ELECTIONS)(AMENDMENT) BILL 1998 -Bill No. 3/1998

The Minister of Local Government, on behalf of the Government, presented the following Bill which was read the first time:

A BILL intituled AN ACT to amend the Local Authorities (Elections) Act to provide for the postponement of elections of councillors of a local democratic organ.

/...5

<u>PUBLIC BUSINESS-</u> <u>MOTION</u> <u>MOTION FOR THE APPROVAL OF THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE</u> FOR 1998 (1998 BUDGET)

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1998.

The following Members spoke to the motion:

Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine The Minister of Education The Minister of Livestock and Fisheries The Minister of Transport and Hydraulics.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.00 p.m., the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.30 p.m., the sitting was resumed.

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

The Minister of Trade, Tourism and Industry Mr. Hari Narayen Ramkarran Mr. Odinga N. Lumumba Mr. Matthew R. Charlie The Minister of Information The Minister of Information The Minister of Amerindian Affairs The Minister of Local Government Mr. Geoffrey A. Fraser The Minister of Agriculture and Parliamentary Affairs

/...6

COMMITTEE OF SUPPLY

Assembly resolved itself into Committee of Supply.

The Speaker reported that the Business Sub-Committee of the Committee of Supply met on 3rd April, 1998, considered the allocation of time for the consideration of the 1998 Estimates of Expenditure in the Committee of Supply, and passed a Resolution on the matter.

Copies of the Sub-Committee's Minutes, Resolution and Time Table had been circulated to Members at the sitting on 3rd April, 1998.

On a motion by the Minister of Finance, the Committee of Supply agreed with the Business Sub-Committee in its Resolution.

The Speaker stated that in accordance with the Resolution, the Committee of Supply would commence consideration of the 1998 Estimates of Expenditure on Monday, 6th April, 1998.

Assembly Resumed.

ADJOURNMENT

At 7.35 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Agriculture and Parliamentary Affairs, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m., on Monday, 6th April, 1998.

Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 3rd April, 1998.