NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 23RD SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (1998 - 1999) OF THE SEVENTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD AT 2.00 P.M.

ON FRIDAY, 26TH MARCH, 1999

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (77)

Speaker (1)

The Hon. Derek C. Jagan, C.C.H., S.C., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's Progressive Party/Civic (47)

The Hon. Samuel A. A. Hinds, M.P., Prime Minister (Absent - on leave)

The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Minister of Agriculture and Parliamentary Affairs

The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs (Absent - on leave)

The Hon. Bharrat Jagdeo, M.P., Minister of Finance

- *The Hon. Charles R. Ramson, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs
- *The Hon. Rev. Dr. Ramnauth D.A. Bisnauth, M.P., Minister of Education

The Hon. M. Shree Chan, M.P., Minister of Trade, Tourism and Industry

- *The Hon. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Minister of Human Services and Social Security
- *The Hon. Clinton C. Collymore, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Local Government
- *The Hon. F. Vibert DeSouza, M.P., Minister of Amerindian Affairs
- *The Hon. George E. Fung-On, M.P., Minister of the Public Service
- *The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Minister of Health and Labour

The Hon. Moses V. Nagamootoo, J.P., M.P., Minister of Information (Absent - on leave)

The Hon. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P., Minister of Local Government

*The Hon. Satyadeow Sawh, M.P., Minister of Livestock and Fisheries

The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Minister of Culture, Youth and Sports

- *The Hon. C. Anthony Xavier, M.P., Minister of Transport and Hydraulics (Absent on leave)
- *The Hon. Shaik K. Z. Baksh, M.P., Minister of Housing and Water
- *The Hon. J. Ronald Gajraj, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs

*Non elected Minister

Mr. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Chief Whip

Mr. Cyril C. Belgrave, M.P.

Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P.

Mr. Fazil M. Ali, M.P.

Mr. Husman Alli, M.P.

Mr. Komal Chand, C.C.H., J.P., M.P.

Mr. Navindranauth O. Chandarpal, M.P.

Mr. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P.

Mrs. Shirley V. Edwards, J.P., M.P.

Dr. Hughley H. Hanoman, M.P.

Mr. Alston A. Kissoon, M.P.

Dr. Moti Lall, C.C.H., M.P.

Mr. Odinga N. Lumumba, M.P.

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P.

Mr. Hari Narayen Ramkarran, S.C., M.P.

Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P.

Mr. Lawrence E. Rodney, M.P (Absent - on leave)

Mrs. Philomena Sahoye-Shury, C.C.H., J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Local Government

Mrs. Pauline R. Sukhai, M.P.

Mr. Winslow M. Zephyr, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Dr. Bheri Ramsaran, M.P.

Mr. Joseph M. DeSouza, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)

Mr. Heeralall Mohan, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam)

Mr. Ramratan, M.P. (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

Mr. Geoffrey A. Fraser, M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)

Mr. Ramsundar Sankat, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)

Mr. Eustace S. Rodrigues, M.S., M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)

Mr. Kumkaran Ramdas, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)

Members of the Minority (29)

(i) People's National Congress (25)

Mr. H. Desmond Hoyte, S.C., M.P.

Mr. Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P.

Mr. Dunstan Barrow, M.P., Chief Whip

Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P.

Dr. Faith A. Harding, M.P.

Mr. Ivor Allen, M.P.

Mr. Kadim A. Mhan, M.P.

Miss Jean M.G. Persico, A.A., M.P.

Mrs. Cyrilda A. DeJesus, M.P.

Mr. Andy Goveia, M.P.

Mrs. Deborah J. Backer, M.P.

Mr. John S. DeFreitas, M.P.

Mr. Raphael G.C. Trotman, M.P. (Absent)

Dr. Dalgleish Joseph, M.P.

Mrs. Volda A. Lawrence, M.P.

Mr. Joseph L. Hamilton, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Sherwood A. J. Lowe, M.P. (Absent)

Mr. Andrew Hicks, M.P.

Mr. Neaz Subhan, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Mr. Colin Bynoe, M.P.

Ms Sandra M. Adams, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)

Mr. Kelley Andres, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Mr. Thakechand Ramnauth, M.P.

Mr. Aubrey C. Norton, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

(ii) The United Force (2)

Mr. Manzoor Nadir, M.P.

Mr. Matthew R. Charlie, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)

(iii) Alliance for Guyana (2)

Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine, M.P.

Mr. Albertino Peters, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni)

OFFICERS

Mr. Frank A. Narain, C.C.H., Clerk of the National Assembly

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The Sitting commenced at 2.05 p.m.

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

The Speaker announced that leave from that day's sitting had been granted to :-

The Hon. Samuel A.A. Hinds,

The Hon. Clement J. Rohee,

The Hon. Moses V. Nagamootoo,

The Hon. C. Anthony Xavier,

Mr. Lawrence E. Rodney,

Mr. Neaz Subhan, and

Mr. Aubrey C. Norton.

MOTIONS RELATING TO THE BUSINESS OR SITTINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY AND MOVED BY A MINISTER

Suspension of Standing Orders Nos. 9(2) and 32(9)(a)

The Minister of Agriculture and Parliamentary Affairs moved the following motion which was put and carried:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That Standing Orders Nos. 9(2) and 32(9)(a) be suspended to enable the Minister of Finance to complete uninterrupted the reading of the Budget Speech for 1999 at the sitting of the Assembly on Friday, 26th March, 1999.

(Notice Paper No. 62 (M21 Govtl7) published 19.3.99)

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

MOTION FOR THE APPROVAL OF THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1999 (1999 BUDGET)

In accordance with article 171(2) of the Constitution, the Minister of Finance signified that Cabinet had recommended that the National Assembly should proceed upon the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1999.

The Minister of Finance then moved the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1999 of the total sum of \$ 34,229,827,000 excluding \$ 16,747,137,000 which is chargeable by law (see Appendix).

The Minister read the Budget Speech.

The motion was then proposed.

ADJOURNMENT

At 3.50 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Agriculture and Parliamentary Affairs, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m., on Tuesday, 6th April, 1999.

D. C. JAGAN
Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE,	
Public Buildings,	
Georgetown.	
26 th March, 1999.	

Distribution of Documents

Following the Adjournment of the Assembly, the following documents were distributed to Members :

- (i) Motion by the Minister of Finance for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for 1999.
- (ii) Budget Speech by the Minister of Finance for 1999.
- (iii) Estimates of the Revenues and Expenditure for 1999 (Volume 1)
- (iv) Programme Agency Outlines and Narratives (Volume 2)
- (v) Capital Projects Profiles (Volume 3)
- (vi) Order Paper for the next sitting on Tuesday, 6th April, 1999.

••••••