#### **NATIONAL ASSEMBLY**

## **MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS**

# OF THE 44<sup>TH</sup> SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (1998-2000) OF THE SEVENTE PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD <u>AT 2.00 P.M.</u>

## ON WEDNESDAY, 5<sup>TH</sup> APRIL, 2000

#### **IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN**

#### **MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (76)**

### <u>Speaker (l)</u>

The Hon. Derek C. Jagan, C.C.H., S.C., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

#### <u>Members of the Government - People's Progressive Party/Civic (46)</u>

The Hon. Samuel A. A. Hinds, M.P., Prime Minister

The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Minister of Agriculture and Parliamentary Affairs

The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs

\*The Hon. Charles R. Ramson, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs

\*The Hon. Rev. Dr. Ramnauth D.A. Bisnauth, M.P., Minister of Education (Absent - on leave)

The Hon. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Minister of Human Services and Social Security

The Hon. Clinton C. Collymore, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Local Government

The Hon. F. Vibert DeSouza, M.P., Minister of Amerindian Affairs

\*The Hon. George E. Fung-On, M.P., Minister of the Public Service

\*The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Minister of Health and Labour

The Hon. Moses V. Nagamootoo, J.P., M.P., Minister of Information

The Hon. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P., Minister of Local Government

\*The Hon. Satyadeow Sawh, M.P., Minister of Livestock and Fisheries

The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Minister of Culture, Youth and Sports

\*The Hon. C. Anthony Xavier, M.P., Minister of Transport and Hydraulics

\*The Hon. Shaik K. Z. Baksh, M.P., Minister of Housing and Water

\*The Hon. J. Ronald Gajraj, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs

\*The Hon. Saisnarine Kowlessar, M.P., Minister in the Office of the President with responsibility for Finance

\*The Hon. Geoffrey Da Silva, M.P., Minister of Trade, Tourism and Industry

\*Non elected Minister

- Mr. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Chief Whip
- Mr. Cyril C. Belgrave, M.P.
- Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P.
- Mr. Husman Alli, M.P.
- Mr. Komal Chand, C.C.H., J.P., M.P.
- Mr. Navindranauth O. Chandarpal, M.P.
- Mr. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P.
- Mrs. Shirley V. Edwards, J.P., M.P.
- Mr. Alston A. Kissoon, M.P.
- Dr. Moti Lall, C.C.H., M.P.
- Mr. Odinga N. Lumunba, M.P.
- Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P.
- Mr. Hari Narayen Ramkarran, S.C., M.P.
- Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P.
- Mr. Lawrence E. Rodney, M.P.
- Mrs. Philomena Sahoye-Shury, C.C.H., J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Local Government
- Mrs. Pauline R. Sukhai, M.P.
- Mr. Winslow M. Zephyr, M.P.
- Dr. Bheri Ramsaran, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Mr. Joseph M. DeSouza, M.P. (Region No. 1 Barima/Waini)
- Mr. Heeralall Mohan, M.P. (Region No. 2 Pomeroon/Supenaam)
- Mr. Ramratan, M.P. (Region No. 3 Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)
- Mr. Geoffrey A. Fraser, M.P. (Region No. 5 Mahaica/Berbice)
- Mr. Ramsundar Sankat, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 6 East Berbice/Corentyne)
- Mr. Eustace S. Rodrigues, M.S., M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)
- Mr. Kumkaran Ramdas, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)

(There is one vacancy)

## Members of the Minority (29)

#### (i) <u>People's National Congress (25)</u>

- Mr. H. Desmond Hoyte, S.C., M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Mr. Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Mr. Dunstan Barrow, M.P., Chief Whip
- Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly
- Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P.
- Dr. Faith A. Harding, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Mr. Ivor Allen, M.P.
- Mr. Kadim A. Khan, M.P.
- Miss Jean M.G. Persico, A.A., M.P.
- Mrs. Cyrilda A. DeJesus, M.P.
- Mr. Andy Gouveia, M.P. (Absent)
- Mrs. Deborah J. Backer, M.P.
- Mr. John S. DeFreitas, M.P.
- Mr. Raphael G.C. Trotman, M.P.
- Dr. Dalgleish Joseph, M.D., M.P.
- Mrs. Volda A. Lawrence, M.P.
- Mr. Joseph L. Hamilton, M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica)
- Mr. Sherwood A. J. Lowe, M.P.
- Mr. Andrew Hicks, M.P.
- Mr. Neaz Subhan, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Mr. Colin Bynoe, M.P.
- Miss Sandra M. Adams, M.P. (Region No. 10 Upper Demerara/Berbice)
- Mr. Kelley Andres, M.P. (Region No. 7 Cuyuni/Mazaruni) (Absent)
- Mr. Thakechand Ramnauth, M.P.
- Mr. Aubrey C. Norton, M.P. (Absent)

## (ii) <u>The United Force (2)</u>

- Mr. Manzoor Nadir, M.P.
- Mr. Matthew R. Charlie, M.P. (Region No. 9 Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)

## (iii) <u>Alliance for Guyana (2)</u>

- Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine, M.P.
- Mr. Albertino Peters, M.P. (Region No. 8 Potaro/Siparuni)

#### **OFFICERS**

- Mr. Frank A. Narain, C.C.H., Clerk of the National Assembly
- Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

#### **COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING**

The Sitting commenced at 2.00 p.m.

#### <u>PRAYERS</u>

The Clerk read Prayers.

### ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

#### Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to -

The Hon. Rev. Dr. Rammauth D.A. Bisnauth and Mr. H. Desmond Hoyte for that day's sitting, and Mr. Neaz Subhan up to 31<sup>st</sup> May, 2000.

## **PUBLIC BUSINESS**

#### **MOTION**

## MOTION FOR THE APPROVAL OF THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 2000 (2000 BUDGET)

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 2000.

The following Members spoke to the motion:

Mr. Ivor Allen The Minister of Livestock and Fisheries Dr. Dalgleish Joseph.

#### **SUSPENSION OF SITTING**

At 4.00 p.m., the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

## **RESUMPTION OF SITTING**

At 4.33 p.m., the sitting was resumed.

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

The Minister of Health and Labour Mr. Manzoor Nadir Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy Mrs. Cyrilda A. De Jesus Mr. Eustace S. Rodrigues Miss Sandra M. Adams The Minister in the Ministry of Local Government.

### Presiding of Deputy Speaker

While the Minister in the Ministry of Local Government was speaking to the motion, the Speaker withdrew from the sitting and the Deputy Speaker took the Chair and presided until the end of the sitting.

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

Mr. Albertino Peters Dr. Moti Lall Mr. Ramratan.

## ADJOURNMENT

At 9.45 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Agriculture and Parliamentary Affairs, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Thursday, 6<sup>th</sup> April, 2000.

D.C. VAGAN Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown.

5<sup>th</sup> April, 2000.