#### **NATIONAL ASSEMBLY**

#### **MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS**

# OF THE 45<sup>TH</sup> SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (1998-2000) OF THE SEVENTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD AT 2.00 P.M.

#### ON THURSDAY, 6TH APRIL, 2000

### IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

#### MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (76)

#### Speaker (I)

The Hon. Derek C. Jagan, C.C.H., S.C., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

#### Members of the Government - People's Progressive Party/Civic (46)

The Hon. Samuel A. A. Hinds, M.P., Prime Minister

The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Minister of Agriculture and Parliamentary Affairs

The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs (Absent)

- \*The Hon. Charles R. Ramson, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs
- \*The Hon. Rev. Dr. Ramnauth D.A. Bisnauth, M.P., Minister of Education

The Hon. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Minister of Human Services and Social Security

The Hon. Clinton C. Collymore, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Local Government

The Hon. F. Vibert DeSouza, M.P., Minister of Amerindian Affairs

- \*The Hon. George E. Fung-On, M.P., Minister of the Public Service
- \*The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Minister of Health and Labour

The Hon. Moses V. Nagamootoo, J.P., M.P., Minister of Information

The Hon. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P., Minister of Local Government

- \*The Hon. Satyadeow Sawh, M.P., Minister of Livestock and Fisheries
  - The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Minister of Culture, Youth and Sports
- \*The Hon. C. Anthony Xavier, M.P., Minister of Transport and Hydraulics
- \*The Hon. Shaik K. Z. Baksh, M.P., Minister of Housing and Water
- \*The Hon. J. Ronald Gajraj, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs
- \*The Hon. Saisnarine Kowlessar, M.P., Minister in the Office of the President with responsibility for Finance
- \*The Hon. Geoffrey Da Silva, M.P., Minister of Trade, Tourism and Industry

- Mr. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Chief Whip
- Mr. Cyril C. Belgrave, M.P.
- Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P.
- Mr. Husman Alli, M.P.
- Mr. Komal Chand, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Mr. Navindranauth O. Chandarpal, M.P.
- Mr. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P.
- Mrs. Shirley V. Edwards, J.P., M.P.
- Mr. Alston A. Kissoon, M.P. (Absent)
- Dr. Moti Lall, C.C.H., M.P.
- Mr. Odinga N. Lumumba, M.P.
- Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P.
- Mr. Hari Narayen Ramkarran, S.C., M.P.
- Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P.
- Mr. Lawrence E. Rodney, M.P.
- Mrs. Philomena Sahoye-Shury, C.C.H., J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Local Government
- Mrs. Pauline R. Sukhai, M.P.
- Mr. Winslow M. Zephyr, M.P.
- Dr. Bheri Ramsaran, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Mr. Joseph M. DeSouza, M.P. (Region No. 1 Barima/Waini)
- Mr. Heeralall Mohan, M.P. (Region No. 2 Pomeroon/Supenaam)
- Mr. Ramratan, M.P. (Region No. 3 Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)
- Mr. Geoffrey A. Fraser, M.P. (Region No. 5 Mahaica/Berbice)
- Mr. Ramsundar Sankat, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 6 East Berbice/Corentyne)
- Mr. Eustace S. Rodrigues, M.S., M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)
- Mr. Kumkaran Ramdas, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)

(There is one vacancy)

#### Members of the Minority (29)

#### (i) People's National Congress (25)

Mr. H. Desmond Hoyte, S.C., M.P.

Mr. Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Mr. Dunstan Barrow, M.P., Chief Whip

Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P.

Dr. Faith A. Harding, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Mr. Ivor Allen, M.P.

Mr. Kadim A. Khan, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Miss Jean M.G. Persico, A.A., M.P.

Mrs. Cyrilda A. DeJesus, M.P.

Mr. Andy Gouveia, M.P.

Mrs. Deborah J. Backer, M.P.

Mr. John S. DeFreitas, M.P.

Mr. Raphael G.C. Trotman, M.P.

Dr. Dalgleish Joseph, M.D., M.P.

Mrs. Volda A. Lawrence, M.P.

Mr. Joseph L. Hamilton, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Sherwood A. J. Lowe, M.P.

Mr. Andrew Hicks, M.P.

Mr. Neaz Subhan, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Mr. Colin Bynoe, M.P.

Miss Sandra M. Adams, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)

Mr. Kelley Andres, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Mr. Thakechand Ramnauth, M.P.

Mr. Aubrey C. Norton, M.P. (Absent)

#### (ii) The United Force (2)

Mr. Manzoor Nadir, M.P.

Mr. Matthew R. Charlie, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)

#### (iii) Alliance for Guyana (2)

Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine, M.P.

Mr. Albertino Peters, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni) (Absent)

#### **OFFICERS**

Mr. Frank A. Narain, C.C.H., Clerk of the National Assembly

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

#### **COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING**

The Sitting commenced at 2.00 p.m.

#### **PRAYERS**

The Clerk read Prayers.

#### ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

#### Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to -

The Hon. Prime Minister and

Mr. Kadim A. Khan for that day's sitting.

#### **PUBLIC BUSINESS**

#### **MOTION**

## MOTION FOR THE APPROVAL OF THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 2000 (2000 BUDGET)

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 2000.

The following Members spoke to the motion:

Mr. Dunstan Barrow

The Minister of Trade, Tourism and Industry

Mr. Raphael G.C. Trotman was speaking when the time

for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

#### **SUSPENSION OF SITTING**

At 4.00 p.m., the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

#### **RESUMPTION OF SITTING**

At 4.30 p.m., the sitting was resumed.

Mr. Raphael G.C. Trotman continued and concluded his speech.

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

The Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs

Mr. Thakechand Ramnauth

The Minister of Education

Mr. Kelly Andres

Mr. Donald Ramotar

Mr. Heeralall Mohan.

#### Presiding by Mr. Geoffrey A. Fraser

While Mr. Heeralall Mohan was speaking to the motion, Mr. Geoffrey A. Fraser, at the request of the Speaker, took the Chair and presided until the end of the sitting.

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

Mr. Husman Alli

Mr. Ramsundar Sankat.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

At 9.49 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Agriculture and Parliamentary Affairs, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Friday, 7th April, 2000.

Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown.

6th April, 2000.