NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 49TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (1998-2000) OF THE SEVENTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD AT 2.00 P.M.

ON WEDNESDAY, 12TH APRIL, 2000

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (76)

Speaker (I)

The Hon. Derek C. Jagan, C.C.H., S.C., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's Progressive Party/Civic (46)

- The Hon. Samuel A. A. Hinds, M.P., Prime Minister (Performing the functions of the Office of the President)
- The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Minister of Agriculture and Parliamentary Affairs
- The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs (Absent on leave)
- *The Hon. Charles R. Ramson, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs (Absent)
- *The Hon. Rev. Dr. Ramnauth D.A. Bisnauth, M.P., Minister of Education
 - The Hon. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Minister of Human Services and Social Security
 - The Hon. Clinton C. Collymore, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Local Government
- The Hon. F. Vibert DeSouza, M.P., Minister of Amerindian Affairs
- *The Hon. George E. Fung-On, M.P., Minister of the Public Service
- *The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Minister of Health and Labour
- The Hon. Moses V. Nagamootoo, J.P., M.P., Minister of Information
- The Hon. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P., Minister of Local Government
- *The Hon. Satyadeow Sawh, M.P., Minister of Livestock and Fisheries
- The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Minister of Culture, Youth and Sports
- *The Hon. C. Anthony Xavier, M.P., Minister of Transport and Hydraulics (Absent)
- *The Hon. Shaik K. Z. Baksh, M.P., Minister of Housing and Water
- *The Hon. J. Ronald Gajraj, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs
- *The Hon. Saisnarine Kowlessar, M.P., Minister in the Office of the President with responsibility for Finance
- *The Hon. Geoffrey Da Silva, M.P., Minister of Trade, Tourism and Industry

Mr. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Chief Whip

Mr. Cyril C. Belgrave, M.P.

Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P.

Mr. Husman Alli, M.P.

Mr. Komal Chand, C.C.H., J.P., M.P.

Mr. Navindranauth O. Chandarpal, M.P.

Mr. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Mrs. Shirley V. Edwards, J.P., M.P.

Mr. Alston A. Kissoon, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Dr. Moti Lall, C.C.H., M.P.

Mr. Odinga N. Lumumba, M.P.

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P.

Mr. Hari Narayen Ramkarran, S.C., M.P.

Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P.

Mr. Lawrence E. Rodney, M.P.

Mrs. Philomena Sahoye-Shury, C.C.H., J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Local Government

Mrs. Pauline R. Sukhai, M.P.

Mr. Winslow M. Zephyr, M.P.

Dr. Bheri Ramsaran, M.P.

Mrs. Bijulee Moti, M.P.

Mr. Joseph M. DeSouza, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)

Mr. Heeralall Mohan, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam)

Mr. Ramratan, M.P. (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

Mr. Geoffrey A. Fraser, M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)

Mr. Ramsundar Sankat, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)

Mr. Eustace S. Rodrigues, M.S., M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)

Mr. Kumkaran Ramdas, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)

Members of the Minority (29)

(i) People's National Congress (25

Mr. H. Desmond Hoyte, S.C., M.P. (Absent)

Mr. Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P. (Absent)

Mr. Dunstan Barrow, M.P., Chief Whip

Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P.

Dr. Faith A. Harding, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Mr. Ivor Allen, M.P.

Mr. Kadim A. Khan, M.P. (Absent)

Miss Jean M.G. Persico, A.A., M.P.

Mrs. Cyrilda A. DeJesus, M.P.

Mr. Andy Gouveia, M.P. (Absent)

Mrs. Deborah J. Backer, M.P.

Mr. John S. DeFreitas, M.P. (Absent)

Mr. Raphael G.C. Trotman, M.P.

Dr. Dalgleish Joseph, M.D., M.P. (Absent)

Mrs. Volda A. Lawrence, M.P. (Absent)

Mr. Joseph L. Hamilton, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Sherwood A. J. Lowe, M.P. (Absent)

Mr. Andrew Hicks, M.P. (Absent)

Mr. Neaz Subhan, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Mr. Colin Bynoe, M.P.

Miss Sandra M. Adams, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)

Mr. Kelley Andres, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Mr. Thakechand Ramnauth, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Mr. Aubrey C. Norton, M.P. (Absent)

(ii) The United Force (2)

Mr. Manzoor Nadir, M.P.

Mr. Matthew R. Charlie, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)

(iii) Alliance for Guyana (2)

Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Mr. Albertino Peters, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni) (Absent)

OFFICERS

Mr. Frank A. Narain, C.C.H., Clerk of the National Assembly

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The Sitting commenced at 2.00 p.m.

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

ITEM 1 2000 BUDGET - MOTION FOR THE APPROVAL OF THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 2000

Assembly resolved itself into Committee of Supply and resumed consideration of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 2000.

In Committee of Supply

The following Agencies, Programmes and Divisions in the Estimates were considered and were approved by the Committee as presented with the respective amounts allocated thereto:-

51 - MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS

- 1 Secretariat Services
- 2 Guyana Police Force
- 3 Guyana Prison Service
- 4 Police Complaints Authority
- 5 Guyana Fire Service
- 6 National Registration Centre
- 7 General Register Office

Div. 507 Ministry of Home Affairs

03 - MINISTRY OF FINANCE

- 1 Ministry Administration
- 2 Accountant General's Department
- 3 Customs and Excise Department
- 4 Inland Revenue Department

Div. 526 Ministry of Finance

08 - OFFICE OF THE AUDITOR GENERAL

1 Office of the Auditor General

Div. 505 Constitutional Agencies – Auditor General (Codes 12001, 25001, 44001)

90-PUBLIC DEBT

l Public Debt

Assembly Resumed.

The Minister in the Office of the President with responsibility for Finance reported to the Assembly that the Committee of Supply had completed consideration of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 2000, and had approved of them as printed.

The motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 2000 was then <u>put</u> and <u>carried</u>.

BILL - First, Second and Third Readings

ITEM 2 - APPROPRIATION BILL 2000 - Bill No. 6/2000 published 2000-04-12

With the leave of the Speaker, and on a motion by the Minister of Agriculture and Parliamentary Affairs, Standing Orders Nos. 12 and 46 were suspended to enable the Appropriation Bill 2000 to be introduced at this stage and to be further proceeded with at that sitting.

On motions by the Minister in the Office of the President with responsibility for Finance, the following Bill was introduced and was read the first, second and third times and <u>passed</u> as <u>printed:</u>

A BILL intituled AN ACT to provide for the issue from the Consolidated Fund of the sums necessary to meet the expenditure (not otherwise lawfully charged on the Consolidated Fund) of Guyana for the financial year ending 31st December, 2000, estimates whereof have been approved by the National Assembly, and for the appropriation of those sums for specified purposes, in conformity with the Constitution.

ADJOURNMENT

At 3.37 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Agriculture and Parliamentary Affairs, the Assembly was adjourned to a date to be fixed.

D.E. JAGAN
Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown.