NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 6TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (1981) OF THE FOURTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON TUESDAY, 24TH FEBRUARY, 1981

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (82)

Speaker (1)

Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P.

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (69)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. P.A. Reid, O.E., M.P.

Other Vice-Presidents (4)

- Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P. (Works and Transport) (Absent on leave)
- Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P. (Economic Planning and Finance)
- Cde. H. Green, M.P. (Public Welfare)
- Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P. (Parliamentary Affairs and Party/State Relations)

Senior Ministers (10)

- Cde. R. Chandisingh, M.P. (Higher Education)
- Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P. (Regional Development)
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P. (National Development)
- * Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P. (Trade and Consumer Protection) (Absent)
- * Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P. (Energy and Mines) (Absent)
- * Cde. M. Shahabuddeen, O.R., S.C., M.P., Attorney General (Justice) (Absent)
- * Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P. (Foreign Affairs) (Absent)
- * Cde. J.A. Tyndall, A.A., M.P. (Agriculture)(Absent on leave)
- * Cde. S. Moore, M.P. (Home Affairs) (Absent)
- * Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P. (Education) (Absent)

Ministers (13)

- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P. (Environment and Water Supply, in the Ministry of Public Welfare)
- Cde. U. Johnson, M.P. (Co-operatives)
- Cde. J. Maitland-Singh, M.P. (Consumer Protection, in the Ministry of Trade and Consumer Protection)
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P. (Crops and Livestock, in the Ministry of Agriculture)
- Cde. Sallahuddin, M.P. (Finance, in the Ministry of Economic Planning and Finance)
- Cde. R. Williams, M.P. (Fisheries, in the Ministry of Agriculture)
- * Cde. C.A. Nascimento, M.P. (Mechanical Equipment, in the Ministry of Works and Transport) (Absent)
- * Cde. F.U.A. Campbell, M.P. (Information)
- * Cde. F.U.A. Carmichael, M.P. (Forestry, in the Ministry of Agriculture)
- * Cde. Y. Harewood-Benn, M.P. (Public Service)
- * Cde. H. Rashid, M.P. (Office of the President)(Absent)
- * Cde. R.C. Van Sluytman, M.P. (Drainage and Irrigation, in the Ministry of Agriculture)

/...

* Cde. R. Van West-Charles, M.P. (Health, in the Ministry of Public Welfare) (Absent)

* Non elected Member

Ministers of State (3)

- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P. (Culture, in the Ministry of Education)
- Cde. R. Fredericks, A.A., M.P. (Sport and Youth, in the Ministry of National Development)
- *Cde. C.E. Wright, M.P. (Construction, in the Ministry of Works and Transport)

Parliamentary Secretaries (3)

- Cde. A. Bend-Kirton, M.P. (Women's Affairs and Housing)
- Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P. (Office of the Prime Minister)
- *Cde. E.M. Bynoe, M.P. (Office of the Prime Minister)

Other Members (23)

- Cde. D.A.N. Ainsworth, M.P.
- Cde. M. Ally, M.P.
- Cde. M. Armogan, M.P.
- Cde. B. Beniprashad, M.P.
- Cde. B. Bhaggan, M.P.
- Cde. J.B. Caldeira, M.P.
- Cde. A.A. Chin, M.P.
- Cde. E.B. Davidson, M.P.
- Cde. H. Doobay, M.P.
- Cde. A.B. Felix, M.P.
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. P. Fredericks, M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. E.F. Gilbert, M.P.
- Cde. J. Gill, M.P.
- Cde. A. McRae, M.P.
- Cde. J.M. Munroe, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. R.N. Primo, M.P...
- Cde. C.G. Sharma, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. H.L.B. Singh, M.P.
- Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. B. Tiwari, M.P.
- Cde. C. Vandenburg, M.P.
- Cde. H.B. Walcott, J.P., M.P., Government Chief Whip

Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)

- Cde. R. Bishop M.S., M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Cde. B. Latchminarayan, M.P.

Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (10)

- Cde. K. Jones, M.P. (Region No. 1 Barima/Waini)
- Cde. K.V. Jairam, M.P. (Region No. 2 Pomeroon/Supenaam)
- Cde. C.A. Singh, M.P. (Region No. 3 Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)
- Cde. W. Bipat, M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica)
- Cde. H. London, M.S. M.P. (Region No. 5 Mahaica/Berbice)
- Cde. I. Chowritmootoo, M.P. (Region No. 6 East Berbice/Corentyne)

- Cde. N. Charles, M.P. (Region No. 7 Cuyuni/Mazaruni)
 Cde. D. Abraham, M.P. (Region No. 8 Potaro/Siparuni)
 Cde. A. Dorrick, M.P. (Region No. 9 Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)
- Cde. D. Hinds, M.P. (Region No. 10 Upper Demerara/Berbice)

Members of the Minority (12)

(i) People's Progressive Party (10)

Minority Leader (1)

Cde. C. Jagan, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P.

Other Members (8)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P.

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Minority Chief Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.

Cde. C. Collymore, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P.

Cde. I. Basir, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P.

Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P.

(ii) United Force (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.P (Absent - on leave)
Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P. (Absent)

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly, F.A. Narain, A.A. Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly, Cde. M.B. Henry

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

(i) <u>Leave</u>

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to -

- (a) Cde. C. Jagan for one month from 13th February, 1981
- (b) Cde. Bishop and Mr. M.F. Singh for that day's sitting.

(ii) Availability of the Speaker

The Speaker informed Members that on days of sittings he would not be available to them after 1.45 p.m.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC.

By the Speaker (Chairman of the Committee of Selection):

Minutes of First Meeting of the Committee of Selection held on 13th February, 1981.

(PARL: 5/5 VII)(Circulated)

FUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION - APPROVAL OF ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1981

At the request of the Vice-President (Parliamentary Affairs and Party/State Relations), the Assembly agreed to the postponement of the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1981, to Friday, 27th February, 1981.

ADJOURNMENT

At 2.06 p.m., on a motion by the Vice-President (Parliamentary Affairs and Party/State Relations) the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Friday, 27th February, 1981.

S. NARAIN 77.7. 91.

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown, 27th February, 1981.