MATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 8TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (1981) OF THE FOURTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON MONDAY, 2RD MARCH, 1981

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (82)

Speaker (1)

Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P.

<u> Members of the Government - People's National Congress (69)</u>

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. P.A. Reid, O.E., M.P.

Other Vice-Presidents (4)

- Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P. (Works and Transport)(Absent on leave) Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P. (Economic Planning and Finance)
- Cde. H. Green, M.P. (Public Welfare)
- Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P. (Parliamentary Affairs and Party/State Relations)

Senior Ministers (10)

- Cde. R. Chandisingh, M.P. (Higher Education)
- Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P. (Regional Development)
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P. (National Development)
- * Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P. (Trade and Consumer Protection)
 * Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P. (Energy and Mines)
- * Cde. M. Shahabuddeen, O.R., S.C., M.P., Attorney General (Justice)
- * Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P. (Foreign Affairs) (Absent)
- * Cde. J.A. Tyndall, A.A., M.P., (Agriculture) (Absent)
- * Cde. S. Moore, M.P. (Home Affairs)
- * Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P. (Education)

Ministers (13)

- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P. (Environment and Water Supply, in the Ministry of Public Welfare)
- Cde. U. Johnson, M.P. (Co-operatives)
- Cde. J. Maitland-Singh, M.P. (Consumer Protection, in the Ministry of Trade and Consumer Protection)
- Cde. S. Prashad M.P. (Crops and Livestock, in the Ministry of Agriculture)
- Cde. Sallahuddin, M.P. (Finance, in the Ministry of Economic Planning and Finance)
- Cde. R. Williams, M.P. (Fisheries, in the Ministry of Agriculture)
- * Cde. C.A. Nascimento, M.P. (Mechanical Equipment, in the Ministry of Works and Transport)
- * Cde. F.U.A. Campbell, M.P. (Information)
- * Cde. F.U.A. Carmichael, M.P. (Forestry, in the Ministry of Agriculture)

 * Cde. Y. Harewood-Benn, M.P. (Public Service) (Absent)

 * Cde. H. Rashid, M.P. (Office of the President)

- * Cde. R.C. Van Sluytman, M.P. (Drainage and Irrigation, in the Ministry of Agriculture)

/...

* Cde. R. Van West-Charles, M.P. (Health, in the Ministry of Public Welfare)

^{*} Non elected Member

Ministers of State (3)

- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P. (Culture, in the Ministry of Education) Cde. R. Fredericks, A.A., M.P. (Sport and Youth, in the Ministry of National Development)
- * Cde. C.E. Wright, M.P. (Construction, in the Ministry of Works and Transport)

Parliamentary Secretaries (3)

- Cde. A. Bend-Kirton, M.P. (Women's Affairs and Housing)
- Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P. (Office of the Prime Minister)
- * Cde. E.M. Byhoe, M.P. (Office of the Prime Minister)

Other Members (23)

- Cde. D.A.N. Ainsworth, M.P.
- Cde. M. Ally, M.P.
- Cde. M. Armogan, M.P.
- Cde. B. Beniprashad, M.P.
- Cde. B. Bhaggan, M.P.
- Cde. J.B. Caldeira, M.P.
- Cde. A.A. Chin, M.P.
- Cde. E.B. Davidson, M.P.
- Cde. H. Doobay, M.P.
- Cde. A.B. Felix, M.P.
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. P. Fredericks, M.P.
- Cde. E.F. Gilbert, M.P.
- Cde. J. Gill, M.P.
- Cde. A. McRae, M.P.
- Cde. J.M. Munroe, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. R.N. Primo, M.P.
- Cde. C.G. Sharma, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. H.L.B. Singh, M.P.
- Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. B. Tiwari, M.P.
- Cde. C. Vandenburg, M.P.
- Cde. H.B. Walcott, J.P., M.P., Government Chief Whip

Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)

- Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. B. Latchminarayan, M.P.

Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (10)

- Cde. K. Jones, M.P. (Region No. 1 Barima/Waini)
- Cde. K.V. Jairam, M.P. (Region No. 2 Pomeroon/Supenaam)
 Cde. C.A. Singh, M.P. (Region No. 3 Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)
- Cde. W. Bipat, M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica)
- Cde. H. London, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 5 Mahaica/Berbice)
- Cde. I. Chowritmootoo, M.P. (Region No. 6 East Berbice/Corentyne)
- Cde. N. Charles, M.P. (Region No. 7 Cuyuni/Mazaruni)
- Cde. D. Abraham, M.P. (Region No. 8 Potaro/Siparuni)
- Cde. A. Dorrick, M.P. (Region No. 9 Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo) (Absent)
- Cde. D. Hinds, M.P. (Region No. 10 Upper Demerara/Berbice)

/...

Nembers of the Minority (12)

(i) People's Progressive Party (10)

Minority Leader (1)

Cde. C. Jagan, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P.

Other Members (8)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P.

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Minority Chief Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.

Cde. C. Collymore, M.P.

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. I. Basir, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P.

Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P.

(ii) United Force (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P. (Absent)

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly, Cde. F.A. Narain, A.A. Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly, Cde. M.B. Henry

Pravers

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

<u>Leave</u>

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Mr. M.F. Singh for 2nd and 3rd March, 1981.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION - APPROVAL OF ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1981

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1981.

Cde. Ainsworth, Cde. Bipat and Cde. J. Jagan spoke to the motion. Cde. Nascimento, Minister (Mechanical Equipment, in the Ministry of Works and Transport) was speaking to the motion when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.00 p.m. the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.30 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

Cde. Nascimento concluded his speech.

Cde. Carmichael, Minister (Forestry, in the Ministry of Agriculture), Cde. Basir and Cde. Campbell, Minister (Information) spoke to the motion.

GUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 6.30 p.m. the sitting was suspended.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 8.00 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

Cde. Chin, Cde. Beniprashad, Cde. Munroe, Cde. Davidson, Cde. Collymore, Cde. Felix and Cde. Caldeira spoke to the motion.

ADJOURNMENT

At 9.57 p.m., on a motion by the Vice-President (Parliamentary Affairs and Party/State Relations), the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Tuesday, 3rd March, 1981.

S. NARAIN
Speaker
3/3/19

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 3rd March, 1981.