#### NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

#### MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

# OF THE 17TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (1981) OF THE FOURTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

#### AT 2.00 P.M.

# ON MONDAY 8TH JUNE, 1981

# IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN:

# MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (82)

# Speaker (1)

\*Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (69)

# Prime Minister (1)

Cde. Dr. P.A. Reid, O.E., M.P., Prime Minister (Absent)

#### Other Vice-Presidents (4)

- Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P., Vice-President, Works and Transport (Absent)
- Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Vice-President, Economic Planning and Finance
- Cde. H. Green, M.P., Vice-President, Public Welfare (Absent)
- Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Vice-President, Parliamentary Affairs and Party/State Relations

#### Senior Ministers (10)

- Cde. R. Chandisingh, M.P., Minister of Higher Education
- Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P., Minister of Regional Development
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of National Development
- \*Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P., Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection (Absent)
- \*Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Mines (Absent)
- \*Cde. Dr. M. Shahabuddeen, O.R., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Justice (Absent)
- \*Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs (Absent)
- \*Cde. J.A. Tyndall, A.A., M.P., Minister of Agriculture (Absent)
- \*Cde. S.A. Moore, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs (Absent on leave)
- \*Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of Education (Absent)

# Ministers (13)

- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P., Minister, Environment and Water Supply, in the Ministry of Public Welfare
- Cde. U.E. Johnson, M.P., Minister of Co-operatives
- Cde. J.N. Maitland-Singh, M.P., Minister, Consumer Protection, in the Ministry of Trade and Consumer Protection (Absent)
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Minister, Crops and Livestock, in the Ministry of Agriculture (Absent)
- Cde. Sallahuddin, M.P., Minister, Finance, in the Ministry of Economic Planning and Finance
- Cde. R.E. Williams, M.P., Minister, Fisheries, in the Ministry of Agriculture (Absent)
- \*Cde. C.A. Nascimento, M.P., Minister, Mechanical Equipment, in the Ministry of Works and Transport (Absent)
- \*Cde. F.U.A. Campbell, M.P., Minister of Information (Absent)
- \*Cde. F.U.A. Carmichael, M.P., Minister, Forestry, in the Ministry of Agriculture
- \*Cde. Y.V. Harewood-Benn, M.P., Minister of Public Service

- \* Cde. H. Rashid, M.P., Minister, Office of the President
- \* Cde. R.C. Van Slutyman, M.P., Minister, Drainage and Irrigation, in the Ministry of Agriculture
- \* Cde. R.A. Van West-Charles, M.P., Minister, Health, in the Ministry of Public Welfare (Absent)

#### Ministers of State (3)

- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Minister of State for Culture, in the Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture
- Cde. R.C. Fredericks, A.A., M.P., Minister of State for Youth and Sport, in the Ministry of National Development
- \* Cde. C.E. Wright, M.P., Minister of State for Construction, in the Ministry of Works and Transport

#### Parliamentary Secretaries (3)

- Cde. A.W. Bend-Kirton-Holder, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Women's Affairs and Housing
- Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister
- \*Cde. E.M. Bynoe, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister

# Other Members (23)

- Cde. D.A.N. Ainsworth, M.P.
- Cde. M. Ally, M.P.
- Cde. M. Armogan, M.P.
- Cde. B. Beniprashad, M.P.
- Cde. B. Bhaggan, M.P.
- cace be bliaggail, itel
- Cde. J.D. Caldeira, M.P.
- Cde. A.A. Chin, M.P.
- Cde. E.B. Davidson, M.P.
- Cde. H. Doobay, M.P.
- Cde. A.B. Felix, M.P.
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. P. Fredericks, M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. E.F. Gilbert, M.P.
- Cde. J. Gill-Mingo, M.P.
- Ede. A. McRae, M.P.
- Cde. J.M. Munroe, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. R.N. Primo, M.P.
- Cde. C.G. Sharma, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. H.L.B. Singh, M.P.
- Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. B. Tiwari, M.P.
- Cde. C. Vandenburg, M.P.
- Cde. H.B. Walcott-Nacimento, J.P., M.P., Government Chief Whip

#### Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)

- Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P. (Absent-on leave)
- Cde. B. Latchminarayan, M.P.

# Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (10)

- Cde. K.N. Jones, M.P. (Region No. 1 Barima/Waini)
- Cde. K.V. Jairam, M.P. (Region No. 2 Pomeroon/Supenaam)
- Cde. C.A. Singh, M.P. (Region No. 3 Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)
- Cde. W. Bipat, M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica)
- Cde. H.I. London, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 5 Mahaica/Berbice)
- Cde. I. Chowritmootoo, M.P., (Region No. 6 East Derbice/Corentyne)

- Cde. N.R. Charles, M.P. (Region No. 7 Cuyuni/Mazaruni)
- Cde. D. Abraham, M.P. (Region No. 8 Potaro/Siparuni)
  Cde. A. Dorrick, M.P. (Region No. 9 Upper Takutu/Upper Esseguibo) (Absent)
- Cde. D. Hinds, M.P. (Region No. 10 Upper Demerara/Berbice)

# Members of the Minority (12)

#### (i) People's Progressive Party (10)

# Minority Leader (1)

Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M.P., Minority Leader (Absent)

# Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

# Other Members (8)

- Cde. J. Jagan, M.P.
- Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Minority Cheif Whip(Absent on leave)
- Cde. N. Persaud, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Cde. C.C. Collymore, M.P.
- Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. I. Basir, N.P. (Absent)
- Cde. C.C. Delgrave, M.P.
- Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P.

# (ii) United Force (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.P.

Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

# OFF I CERS

Clerk of the National Assembly, Cde. F.A. Naraih, A.A. Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly, Cde. M.B. Henry

#### PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

#### ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

# Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to -

- (a) Cde. Moore for that day's sitting, and
- (b) Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud for two weeks from 8th June, 1981.

#### INTRODUCTION OF BILLS

# Presentation and First Reading

# MISCELLANEOUS ENACTMENTS (AMENDMENT) (NO. 2) BILL 1981-Bill No. 7/1981 published 8.6.81

The Vice-President, Economic Planning and Finance, on behalf of the Government, presented the following Bill which was read the first time:

A Bill intituled An Act to amend certain enactments.

# PUBLIC BUSINESS

#### MOTION

# ITEM 1 - CONFIRMATION OF CONSUMPTION TAX (AMENDMENT) ORDER 1981 (NO. 31)

The Vice-President, Economic Planning and Finance, moved the following motion:

#### BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly, in accordance with section 5 of the Consumption Tax Act, Chapter 80:02, confirm the Consumption Tax (Amendment) Order 1981 (No. 31), which was made and published in the Gazette on 2nd June, 1981.

 $\mbox{\sc Cde.}$  J. Jagan, Cde. Dalchand and Mr. M.F. Singh spoke to the motion.

 $\qquad \qquad \text{Thereafter, the Vice-President, Economic Planning and } \\ \text{Finance replied.}$ 

The motion was then put and carried.

# BILL - Second and Third Readings

# ITEM 2- TAX (AMENDMENT) (NO.2) BILL 1981 - Bill No. 5/1981 published 26.5.81

The Vice-President, Economic Planning and Finance, moved the second reading of the following Bill:

A Bill intituled An Act to amend the Tax Act.

Cde. J. Jagan and the Deputy Speaker spoke to the motion.

 $\textbf{Thereafter, the Vice-President, Economic Planning} \ \textbf{and Finance replied.}$ 

The motion was then put and carried.

The Bill was read a second time and was, thereafter, taken through its remaining stages and  $\underline{passed}$  as  $\underline{printed}_{ullet}$ 

# ADJOURNMENT

At 3.00 p.m., on a motion by the Vice-President, Parliamentary Affairs and Party/State Relations, the Assembly was adjourned to a date to be fixed.

Speaker

11.6.81

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 11th June, 1981.