NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCFEDINGS

OF THE 20TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE THIRD SESSION (1983-1984) OF THE FOURTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 14:00 hrs

ON MONDAY 1984-02-06

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (70)

Speaker (1)

*Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (57)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. Dr. P.A. Reid, O.E., M.P.. Prime Minister

Other Vice-Presidents (4)

Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Vice-President, Production

Cde. H. Green, M.P., Vice-President, Social Infrastructure

Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Vice-President. Party and State Matters

*Cde. Dr. M. Shahabuddeen, O.R., S.C., M.P., Vice-President and Attorney General (Absent - on leave)

Senior Ministers (6)

Cde. R. Chandisingh, M.P., Minister of Education, Social Development and Culture

Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of National Mobilisation

*Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs

*Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs

*Cde. H. Rashid, M.P., Minister of Energy and Mines

*Cde. C.B. Greenidge, M.P., Minister of Finance and Economic Planning (Absent)

Ministers (7)

Cde. U.E. Johnson, M.P., Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister

Cde. Sallahuddin, M.P., Minister within the Ministry of Agriculture

Cde. R.C. Fredericks, A.A., Minister of Youth and Sports within the Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture (Absent)

Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Minister of Transport within the Vice-Presidency of Social Infrastructure

*Cde. Y.V. Harewood-Benn, M.P., Minister of Information and Public Service

*Cde. Dr. R.A. Van West-Charles, M.F., Minister of Health and Public Welfare

*Cde. K.W.E. Denny, M.P., Minister of Manpower and Co-operatives

Ministers of State (2)

Cde. M. Corrica: M.P., Minister of State within the Ministry of Internal Trade and Consumer Protection

Cde. H.L.B. Singh, M.S., M.P., Minister of State within the Ministry of Regional Development (Absent - on leave)

Parliamentary Secretaries (4)

- Cde. A.W. Bend-Kirton-Holder, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Housing, within the Ministry of Health and Public Welfare
- Cde. D.A.N. Ainsworth, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, within the Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture
- Cde. B. Bhaggan, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, in the Office of the Prime Minister
- Cde. J.B. Caldeira, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, within the Ministry of Agriculture

Other Members (22)

- Cde. M. Ally, M.P.
- Cde. M. Armogan, M.S., J.P., M.P.
- Cde. B. Beniprashad, M.P.
- Cde. A.A. Chin, M.P.
- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P.
- Cde. E.B. Davidson, M.P.
- Cde. H. Doobay, M.P.
- Cde. A.B. Felix, M.P.
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. P. Fredericks, M.P.
- Cde. E.F. Gilbert, M.P.
- Cde. J. Gill-Mingo, M.P.
- Cde. A. McRae, M.P.
- Cde. E. Melville, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Cde. J.M. Munroe, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. R.N. Primo, M.P.
- Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P.
- Cde. C.G. Sharma, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. B. Tiwari, M.P.
- Cde. C. Vandenburg, M.P.
- Cde. R.E. Williams, M.P.

Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)

- Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. B. Latchminarayan, M.P.

Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (9)

- Cde. K.N. Jones, M.P. (Region No. 1 Barima/Waini)
- Cde. K.V. Jairam, M.P. (Region No. 2 Pomeroon/Supenaam)
- Cde. C.A. Singh, M.P. (Region No. 3 Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)
- Cde. W. Bipat, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica)
- Cde. H.I. London, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 5 Mahaica/Berbice) Cde. I. Chowritmootoo, M.P. (Region No. 6 East Berbice/Corentyne)
- Cde. N.R. Charles, M.P. (Region No. 7 Cuyuni/Mazaruni)
- Cde. D. Abraham, M.P. (Region No. 8 Potaro/Siparuni)
- Cde. D. Hinds, M.P., (Region No. 10 Upper Demerara/Berbice)

Members of the Minority (12)

(i) People's Progressive Party (10)

Minority Leader (1)

Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M 200 Manuality Leader

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly Other Members (8)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. Reepu Daman Fersaud, J.P., M.P., Minority Chief Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Collymore, M.P.

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P.

Cde. I. Basir, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P.

Cde. H. Nokta, M.P.

(ii) United Force (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly, Cde. F.A. Narain, A.A. Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly, Cde. M.B. Henry

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to -

- (a) Cde. Dr. Shahabuddeen for that day's sitting, and
- (b) Cde. H.L.B. Singh for four days from 1984-02-06.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS ETC. -

(1) By the <u>Vice-President, Production, on behalf of</u>
the <u>Minister of Finance and Economic Planning</u>:

Consumption Tax (Amendment) (No. 1) Order 1984 (No. 2), made under section 4 of the Consumption Tax Act, Chapter 80:02, on 13th January, 1984, and published in the Gazette on 14th January, 1984.

(ST: 34/2/1/9^{II})(Circulated)

(2) By the Minister of Energy and Mines:

Annual Report of the Guyana Gold Board for the year 1982.

(EM: 22/21 III)(Circulated)

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS

Presentation and First Reading

DEPENDANTS' PENSION (AMENDMENT) BILL 1984 - Bill No. 2 /1984 published 84-02-04

The Vice-President, Production, on behalf of the Minister of Finance and Economic Planning, presented the following Bill which was read the first time:—

A Bill intituled An Act to amend the Dependants' Pension Act.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

APPROVAL OF ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1984

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1984.

Cde. N. Persaud, the Vice-President, Production, and Cde. Mohamed spoke to the motion.

The Minister of Education, Social Development and Culture was speaking to the motion when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached \bullet

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 16:05 hrs the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 16:30 hrs the sitting was resumed.

The Minister of Education, Social Development and Culture concluded his speech-

Cde. Nokta, the Minister within the Ministry of Agriculture, the Minister of Energy and Mines and Mr. Abraham spoke to the motion.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 18:45 hrs the sitting was suspended.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 20:00 hrs the sitting was resumed.

Cde. Williams, the Minister of Health and Public Welfare, Cde. Collymore, the Minister of Manpower and Co-operatives, Cde. Belgrave and Cde. Clarke spoke to the motion.

ADJOURNMENT

At 22:50 hrs on a motion by the Vice-President, Production, the Assembly was adjourned to 14:00 hrs on Tuesday 1984-02-07.

Speaker 08

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, George town. 1984-02-07