NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 27TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE THIRD SESSION (1983-1984) OF THE FOURTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 14:00 hrs

THURSDAY 1984-05-03

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (70)

<u>Speaker (1)</u>

Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (57)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. Dr. P.A. Reid, O.E., M.P., Prime Minister (Absent - on leave)

Other Vice-Presidents (4)

Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Vice-President, Production (Absent - on leave) Cde. H. Green, M.P., Vice-President, Social Infrastructure (Absent on leave) Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Vice-President, Party and State Matters *Cde. Dr. M. Shahabuddeen, O.R., S.C., M.P., Vice-President and Attorney General (Absent) Senior Ministers (6) Cde. R. Chandisingh, M.P., Minister of Education, Social Development and Culture Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of National Mobilisation Cde. H. Rashid, M.P., Minister of Energy and Mines *Cde•R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs (Absent - on leave) *Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs (Absent) *Cde. C.B. Greenidge, M.P., Minister of Finance and Economic Planning (Absent) Ministers (7) Cde. U.E. Johnson, M.P., Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister (Absent) Cde. Sallahuddin, M.P., Minister within the Ministry of Agriculture Cde. R.C. Fredericks, A.A., M.P., Minister of Youth and Sport within the Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture (Absent) Cde. 5. Prashad, M.P., Minister of Transport within the Vice-Presidency of Social Infrastructure Cde. Y.V. Harewood-Benn, M.P., Minister of Information and Public Service (Absent - on lcave) *Cde. Dr. R.A. Van West-Charles, M.P., Minister of Health and Public Welfare (Absent) *Cde. K.W.E. Denny, M.P., Minister of Manpower and Co-operatives Ministers of State (2)

Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Minister of State within the Ministry of

Internal Trade and Consumer Protection (Absent - on leave) Cde. H.L.B. Singh, M.S., M.P., Minister of State within the Ministry of Regional Development

* Non elected Member

/...

Parliamentary Secretaries (3)

- Cde. A.W. Bend-Kirton-Holder, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Housing, within the Ministry of Health and Public Welfare
- Cde. D.A.N. Ainsworth, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, within the Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture
- Cde. B. Bhaggan, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, in the Office of the Prime Minister

Other Members (23)

Cde. M. Ally, M.P.	
Cde. M. Armogan, M.S., J.P., M.P.	
Cde. B. Beniprashad, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Cde. J.B. Caldeira, M.P.	
Cde. A.A. Chin, M.P.	
Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P.	
Cde. D.E. Clarke, M.P.	
Cde. E.B. Davidson, M.P.	
Cde. H. Doobay, M.P.	
Cde. A.B. Felix, M.P.	
Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.	
Cde. P. Fredericks, M.P.	
Cde. E.F. Gilbert, M.P.	
Cde. J. Gill-Mingo, M.P.	
Cde. A. McRae, M.P.	
Cde. E. Melville, M.P. (Absent)	
Cde. J.M. Munroe, J.P., M.P.	
Cde. R.N. Primo, M.P.	
Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P.	
Cde. C.G. Sharma, J.P., M.P.	
Cde. B. Tiwari, M.P. Government Chief Mhip	
Cde. C. Vandenburg, M.P.	
Cde. R.E. Williams, M.P.	

Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)

Cde. R. Bishop, M.S. M.P. Cde. B. Latchminarayan, M.P.

Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (9)

Cde. K.N. Jones, M.P. (Region No.1 - Barima/Waini) Cde. K.V. Jairam, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam) (Absent) Cde. C.A. Singh, M.P. (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West Demerara) Cde. W. Bipat, J.P., M.P. (Region No.4 - Demerara/ Mahaica) Cde. H.I. London, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice) Cde. I. Chowritmootoo, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne) Cde. N.R. Charles, M.P. (Region No. 7 Cuyuni/Mazaruni) Cde. D. Abraham, M.P. (Region No.8 - Potaro/Siparuni) (Absent) Cde. D. Hinds, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)

Members of the Minority (12)

(i) People's Progressive Party (10)

Minority Leader (1)

Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M.P., Minority Leader (Absent)

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly (Absent)

Other Members (8)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P. (Absent)
Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Minority Chief Whip
Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.
Cde. C.C. Collymore, M.P. (Absent)
Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P.
Cde. I. Basir, M.P.
Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P. (Absent)
Cde. H. Nokta, M.P.

(ii) United Force (2)

```
Mr. M.F. Singh, C.C.H., J.P., M.P., (Absent - on leave)
Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.
```

OFF I CERS

Clerk of the National Assembly, Cde. F.A. Narain, A.A. Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly, Cde. M.B. Henry

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

(1) <u>Leave</u>

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Comrades Reid, Hoyte, Green, Jackson, Harewood-Benn, Corrica and Mr. M.F. Singh for that day's sitting.

(ii) Death of Mr. M.F. Singh's Mother

The Speaker informed the Assembly that he received a message that Mr. Feilden Singh's mother died that morning in Toronto. On behalf of Members of the Assembly and himself he extended their deepest sympathy to Mr. Singh.

FUBLIC BUSINESS

BILL - Second and Third Reading

MINING (AMENDMENT) BILL 1984 ~ Bill No. 6/1984 published 1984-04-21

The Minister of ^Energy and Mines moved the second reading of the following Bill:

A Bill intituled An Act to Amend the Mining Act.

/...

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud spoke to the motion.

Thereafter the Minister of Energy and Mines replied.

The motion was then put and carried.

The Bill was read a second time and was, thereafter, taken through its remaining stages and <u>passed</u> as <u>printed.</u>

ADJOURNMENT

At 14:55 hrs on a motion by the Vice-President, Party and State Matters, the Assembly was adjourned to a date to be fixed.

SINARAIN Speaker of

FARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetowr. 1984-06-02