NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 30TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE THIRD SESSION (1983-1984) OF THE FOURTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 14:00 hrs

ON THURSDAY 1984-07-19

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (70)

Speaker (1)

*Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (57)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. Dr. P.A. Reid, O.E., M.P., Prime Minister (Absent - on leave)

Other Vice-Presidents (4)

- Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Vice-President, Production (Absent)
- Cde. H. Green, M.P., Vice-President, Social Infrastructure (Absent)
- Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Vice-President, Party and State Matters (Absent on leave)
- *Cde. Dr. M. Shahakuddeen, O.R., S.C., M.P., Vice-President and Attorney General

Senior Ministers (6)

- Cde. R. Chandisingh, M.P., Minister of Education, Social Development and Culture (Absent on leave)
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of National Mobilisation (Absent)
- Cde. H. Rashid, M.P., Minister of Energy and Mines (Absent)
- *Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs
- *Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs
- *Cde. C.B. Greenidge, M.P., Minister of Finance and Economic Planning

Ministers (7)

- Cde. U.E. Johnson, M.P., Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister (Absent)
- Cde. Sallahuddin, M.P., Minister within the Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. R.C. Fredericks, A.A., M.P., Minister of Youth and Sport within the Ministry of Education. Social Development and Culture
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Minister of Transport within the Vice-Presidency of Social Infrastructure (Absent)
- Cde. Y.V. Harewood-Benn, M.P., Minister of Information and Public Service
- *Cde. Dr. R.A. Van West-Charles, M.P., Minister of Health and Public Welfare (Absent)
- *Cde. K.W.E. Denny, M.P., Minister of Manpower and Co-operatives

Ministers of State (2)

- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Minister of State within the Ministry of Internal Trade and Consumer Protection (Absent)
- Cde. H.L.B. Singh, M.S., M.P., Minister of State within the Ministry of Regional Development (Absent on leave)

<u>Parlaimentary Secretaries (3)</u>

- Cde. A.W. Bend-Kirton-Holder, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Housing, within the Ministry of Health and Public Welfare
- Cde. D.A.N. Ainsworth, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, within the Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture
- Cde. B. Bhaggan, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, in the Office of the Prime Minister

Other Members (23)

```
Cde. M. Ally, M.P.
```

Cde.M. Armogan, M.S., J.P., M.P.

Cde. B. Beniprashad, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Cde. J.B. Caldeira, M.P.

Cde. A.A. Chin, M.P.

Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P.

Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P.

Cde. E.B. Davidson, M.P.

Cde. H. Doobay, M.P.

Cde. A.B. Felix, M.P.

Cde, E.H.A. Fowler, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. P. Fredericks, M.P.

Cde. E.F. Gilbert, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. J. Gill-Mingo, M.P.

Cde. A. McRae, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. E. Melville, M.P.

Cde. J.M. Munroe, J.P., M.P.

Cds. R.N. Primo, M.P.

Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P.

Cde. C.G. Sharma, J.P., M.P. (Absent)

Cde. B. Tiwari, M.P., Government Chief Whip

Cde. C. Vandenburg, M.P.

Cde. R.E. Williams, M.P. (Absent)

Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)

```
Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P.
```

Cde. B. Latchminarayan, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (9)

```
Cde. K.N. Jones, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini) Absent
```

Cde. K.V. Jairam, M.P. (Region No 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam)
Cde. C.A. Singh, M.P. (Region No.3 - Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

Cde. W. Bipat, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

Cde. H.I London, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)

Cde. I. Chowritmootoo, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)

Cde. N.R. Charles, M.P. (Region No.7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Cde. D. Abraham , M.P. (Region No. 6 - Potaro/Siparuni)

Cde. D. Hinds, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)

Members of the Minority (12)

(i) People's Progressive Party (10)

Minority Leader (1)

Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M.P., Minority Leader (Absent)

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly (Absent)

Other Members (8)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P.

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Minority Chief Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Cde. C.C. Collymore, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. I. Basir, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P.

Cde. H. Nokta, M.P.

(ii) United Force (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, C.C.H., J.P., M.P.

Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly, Cde. F.A. Narain, A.A. Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly, Cde. M.B. Henry

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

(i) Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to:-

- (a) Cdes. Dr. Reid, Chandisingh, H.L.B. Singh, Boniprashad and Latchminarayan for that day's sitting;
- (b) Cde. Ramsaroop up to 29th July;
- (c) Cde. Narbada Persaud up to 2nd August;
- (d) Cde. Collymore up to 3rd August, and
- (e) Cde. Basir up to 15th August.

(ii) Death of Cde. Latchminarayan's Son

The Speaker informed the Assembly that he understood that Cde. Latchminarayan had lost her son. On behalf of Members of the Assembly and his own he extended deepest sympathy to her.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC.

(1) By the Minister of Foreign Affairs:

Annual Report of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs for the year 1983.

(Circulated)

(2) By the Minister of Home Affairs:

Annual Reports of the Commissioner of Police for the years 1979, 1980, 1981, 1982 and 1983.

(P:28/1 III) (Circulated)

(3) By the Minister of Finance and Economic Planning:

Annual Report of the Guyana National Co-operative Bank for the year 1983.

(ST:28/1/5/3) (Circulated)

(4) By the Minister of Manpower and Co-operatives:

Annual Report of the Ministry of Manpower and Co-operatives for the year 1983.

(MC. 5/20) (Circulated)

PUBLIC BUSINESS

BILLS - Second and Third Readings

ITEM 1 - RICE FARMERS (SECURITY OF TENURE) (AMENDMENT) BILL 1984 - Bill No. 8/1984 published 1984-06-30

The Minister within the Ministry of Agriculture, on behalf of the Vice-President, Production, moved the second reading of the following $\verb+Bill:-$

A Bill intituled An Act to amend the Rice Farmers (Security of Tenure) (Amendment) Act.

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud and Mr. M.F. Singh spoke to the motion.

Thereafter the Minister within the Ministry of Agriculture replied.

The motion was put and carried.

The Bill was read a second time and was, thereafter, taken through its remaining stages and \underline{passed} as $\underline{printed}_\bullet$

ITEM 2 - GENERAL LOCAL LOAN (AMENDMENT) BILL 1984 - Bill No. 10/1984 published 1984-06-30

The Minister of Finance and Economic Planning moved the second reading of the following Bill:-

A Bill intituled An Act to amend the General Local Loan Act.

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud and Mr. M.F. Singh spoke to the motion.

Thereofter the Minister of Finance and Economic Planning replied.

The motion was put and carried.

The Bill was read a second time and was, thereafter, taken through its remaining stages and passed as printed.

ADJOURNMENT

At 15.00 hrs, on a motion by the Minister of Home Affairs, the Assembly was adjourned to a date to be fixed.

S. NARAIN Speaker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 1904-07-23