NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

<u>QF THE 31ST SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE THIRD</u> SESSION (1983-1984) OF THE FOURTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 14:00 hrs

ON MONDAY 1984-08-13

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS. GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (70)

Speaker (1)

*Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

<u>Members of the Government - People's National Congress (57)</u>

<u>Prime Minister (1)</u>

Cde. Dr. P.A. Reid, O.E., M.P., Prime Minister

Other Vice-Presidents (4)

Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Vice-President, Production

Cde. H. Green, M.P., Vice-President, Social Infrastructure Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Vice-President, Party and State

Matters (Absent - on leave)

*Cde. Dr. M. Shahabuddeen, O.R., S.C., M.P., Vice-President and Attorney General

<u>Senior Ministers (6)</u>

Cde. R. Chandisingh, M.P., Minister of Education, Social Development and Culture
Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of National Mobilisation
Cde. H. Rashid, M.P., Minister of Energy and Mines (Absent - on leave)
*Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs (Absent)
*Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs
*Cde. C.B. Greenidge, M.P., Minister of Finance and Economic Planning (Absent)

Ministers (7)

Cde. U.E. Johnson, M.P., Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister

Cde. Sallahuddin, M.P., Minister within the Ministry of Agriculture

Cde. R.C. Fredericks, A.A., M.P., Minister of Youth and Sport within

the Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Minister of Transport within the Vice-Presidency

of Social Infrastructure

Cde. Y.V. Harewood-Benn, M.P., Minister of Information and Public Service *Cde. Dr. R.A. Van West-Charles, M.P., Minister of Health and Public Welfare *Cde. K.W.E. Denny, M.P., Minister of Manpower and Co-operatives

<u>Ministers of State (2)</u>

- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Minister of State within the Ministry of Internal Trade and Consumer Protection
- Cde. H.L.B. Singh, M.S., M.P., Minister of State within the Ministry of Regional Development

*Non elected Member

/...

Parliamentary Secretaries (3)

- Cde. A.W. Bend-Kirton-Holder, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Housing, within the Ministry of Health and Public Welfare
- Cde. D.A.N. Ainsworth, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, within the Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture (Absent - on leave)
- Cde. B. Bhaggan, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, in the Office of the Prime Minister

Other Members (23)

Cde. M. Ally, M.P. Cde. M. Armogan, M.S., J.P., M.P. Cde. B. Beniprashad, M.P. Cde. J.B. Caldeira, M.P. Cde. A.A. Chin, M.P. Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P. Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P. (Absent) Cde. E.B. Davidson, M.P. Cde. H. Doobay, M.P. Cde. A.B. Felix, M.P. Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P. Cde. P. Fredericks, M.P. Cde. E.F. Gilbert, M.P. Cde. J. Gill-Mingo, M.P. Cde. A. McRae, M.P. Cde. E. Melville, M.P. (Absent) Cde. J.M. Munroe, J.P., M.P. Cde. R.N. Primo, M.P. Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P. Cde. C.G. Sharma, J.P., M.P. (Absent) Cde. B. Tiwari, M.P., Government Chief Whip Cde. C. Vandenburg, M.P. Cde. R.E. Williams, M.P.

Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)

Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P. Cde. B. Latchminarayan, M.P.

Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (9)

Cde. K.N. Jones, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini) Cde. K.V. Jairam, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam) (Absent) Cde. C.A. Singh, M.P. (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West Demerara) Cde. W. Bipat, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica) Cde. H.I. London, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice) Cde. I. Chowritmootoo, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne) Cde. N.R. Charles, M.P. (Region No. 7 Cuyuni/Mazaruni) Cde. D. Abraham, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni) Cde. D. Hinds, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice) Members of the Minority (12)

(i) People's Progressive Party (10)

Minority Leader (1)

Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M.P., Minority Leader (Absent)

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly (Absent)

Other Members (8)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P. Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Minority Chief Whip Cde. N. Persaud, M.P. (Absent) Cde. C.C. Collymore, M.P. (Absent) Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P. (Absent) Cde. I. Basir, M.P. (Absent) Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P. (Absent) Cde. H. Nokta, M.P. (Absent)

(ii) United Force (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Absent - on leave) Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly, Cde. F.A. Narain, A.A. Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly, Cde. M.B. Henry

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

<u>Leave</u>

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Cdes. Ramsaroop, Rashid, Ainsworth and Mr. M.F. Singh for that day's sitting.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC.

By the <u>Vice-President</u>, <u>Production</u>, on behalf of the <u>Minister of Economic of Economic Planning and</u> <u>Finance</u>;

Annual Report of the Ministry of Finance for the year 1983.

(ST:25/2/1/9) (Circulated)

/...

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS

Presentation and First Reading

<u>NATIONAL EQUIVALENCY BOARD BILL 1984 - Bill No. 11/1984 published 1984-08-09</u>

The Prime Minister, on behalf of the Government, presented the following Bill which was read the first time:-

A Bill intituled An Act to establish the National Equivalency Board.

ADJOURNMENT

At 14:20 hrs, on a motion by the Minister of Home Affairs, the Assembly was adjourned to 14:00 hrs on Wednesday 1984-08-15.

S. NARAIN Speaker 08-15

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 1984-08-14