NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 41ST SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE THIRD SESSION (1503-1905) OF THE FOURTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 14:00 hrs

ON MONDAY 1985-01-28

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (74)

Speaker (1)

*Cde. Sase Narain, U.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (61)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Prime Minister

Other Vice-President and First Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. H. Green, M.P., Vice-President, Social Infrastructure and First Deputy Prime Minister

Other Vice-Presidents and Deputy Prime Ministers (2)

*Cde. Dr. M. Shahabuddeen, O.R., S.C., M.P., Vice-President, Deputy Prime Minister and Attorney General

Cde. R. Chandisingh, M.P., Vice-President, National Development and Deputy Prime Minister

Other Deputy Prime Minister (1)

*Cde. W.A.L.H. Parris, C.C.H., M.P., Deputy Prime Minister, Planning

Senior Ministers (8)

- *Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs
- *Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of National Mobilisation
- Cde. H. Rashid, M.P., Minister of Energy and Mines
- *Cde. C.B. Greenidge, M.P., Minister of Finance
- Cde. Sallahuddin, M.P., Minister of Forestry
- Cde. Dr. R.A. Van West-Charles, M.P., Minister of Health and Public Welfare
- *Cde. M.L. Parris, M.P., Minister of Education

Ministers (6)

- Cde. Urmia Johnson, M.P., Minister within the Ministry of National Development
- Cde. Yvonne V. Harewood-Benn, M.P., Minister within the Ministry of Education
- *Cde. K.W.E. Denny, M.P., Minister of Manpower and Co-operatives
- Cde. R.C. Fredericks, A.A., M.P., Minister of Youth and Sport within the Ministry of Education
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Minister of Transport within the Vice—Presidency of Social Infrastructure
- *Cde. Dr. S.P. DaSilva, M.P., Minister within the Ministry of Agriculture

Ministers of State (2)

- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Minister of Stare within the Ministry of Internal Trade and Consumer Protection
- Cde. H.L.B. Singh, M.S., M.P., Minister of State within the Ministry of Regional Development (Absent on leave)

Parliamentary Secretaries (3)

- Cde. Agnes W. Bend-Kirton-Holder, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Housing, within the Ministry of Health and Public Welfare
- Cde. D.A.N. Ainsworth, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Youth
- Cde. B. Bhaggan, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, National Development

Government Chief Whip (1)

Cde. Bidiawattie Tiwari, M.P., Government Chief Whip

Other Members (24)

- Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P.
- Cde. R.E. Williams, M.P.
- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. Philomena A. Rayman, M.P.
- Cde. J.B. Caldeira, M.P.
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. Joyce Gill-Mingo, M.P.
- Cde. M. Ally, M.P.
- Cde. M. Armogan, M.S., J.P., M.P.
- Cde. Bissoondai Beniprashad, M.P.
- Cde. A.A. Chin, M.P.
- Cde. Elaine B. Davidson, M.P.
- Cde. H. Doobay, M.P.
- Cde . A . B . Felix, M . P .
- Cde. Patricia Fredericks, M.P.
- Cde. E.F. Gilbert, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Cde. A. McRae, M.P.
- Cde. Joyce M. Munroe, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. R.N. Primo, M.P.
- Cde. C.G. Sharma, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. C. Vandenburg, M.P.
- Cde. Edwina Melville, M.P.
- Cde. Y. Khan, M.P. (One seat vacant)

Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)

- Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. Bhagmatee Latchminarayan, M.P.

Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (10)

- Cde. Dianne Abraham, M.P. (Region No. 8 Potaro/Siparuni) (Absent)
- Cde. W. Bipat, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica)
- Cde. Nellie R. Charles, M.P. (Region No. 7 Cuyuni/Mazaruni)
- Cde. I. Chowritmootoo, M.P. (Region No. 6 East Berbice/Corentyne)
- Cde. D. Hinds, M.F. (Region No. 10 Upper Demerara/Berbice)
- Cde. K.V. Jairam, M.P. (Region No. 2 Pomeroon/Supenaam)
- Cde. K.N. Jones, M.P. (Region No. 1 Barima/Waini)
- Cde. H.I. London, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 5 Mahaica/Berbice)
- Cde. Cora A. Singh, M.P. (Region No. 3 Essequibo Islands/West Demerara) (Vacant) (Region No. 9 Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)

Members of the Minority (12)

(i) People's Progressive Party (10)

Minority Leader (1)

Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M.P., Minority Leader

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Other Members (8)

Cde. Janet Jagan, M.P. (Absent - nn leave)

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Minority Chief Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Collymore, M.P.

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P.

Cde. I. Basir, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P.

Cde. H. Nokta, M.P.

(ii) United Force (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, C.C.H., J.P., M.P.

Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

OFFICERS

Cde. F.A. Narain, A.A., Clerk of the National Assembly Cde, M.B. Henry, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to:-

- (a) Cde. H.L.B. Singh up to 1985-02-05, and
- (b) Cde. Gilbert for that day's sitting

PUBLIC BUSINESS

Congratulations to the Speaker on his 60th Birthday

The Prime Minister, the Minority Leader and Mr. M.A. Abraham extended congratulations to the Speaker on his Sixtieth Birthday.

The Speaker thanked the Members.

MOTION

APPROVAL OF ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1985

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the Financial year 1985_{\bullet}

Cde. N. Persaud, the Vice-President, Social Infrastructure and First Deputy Prime Minister, Cde. Belgrave, the Minister of Health and Public Welfare and Cde. Munroe spoke to the motion.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 16:55 hrs the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 17:23 hrs the sitting was resumed.

Cde. Nokta, Mr. M.A. Abraham, the Minister of National Mobilisation, the Parliamentary Secretary, National Development, Cde. Basir, the Minister of Transport within the Vice-Presidency of Social Infrastructure, Cde. Mohamed and the Minister of Education spoke to the motion.

ADJOURNMENT

At 20:40 hrs on a motion by the Minister of Home Affairs, the Assembly was adjourned to 14:00 hrs on Tuesday 1985-01-29.

S. NARAINS

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 1985-01-29.