NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 42ND SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE THIRD SESSION (1983-1985) OF THE FOURTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 14:00 hrs

ON TUESDAY 1985-01-29

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, FUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN. MEDITAL OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (74)

Speaker (1)

* Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of Mational Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (61)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Prime Minister

Ather Vice-President and first Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. H. Green, M.P., Vice-President, Social Infrastructure and First Deputy Prime Minister

Other Vice-Presidents and Deputy Prime Ministers (2)

- * Cde. Dr. M. Shahabuddeen, O.R., S.C., M.P., Vice-President, Deputy Prime Minister and Attorney General
 - Cde. R. Chandisingh, M.P., Vice-President, National Development and Deputy Prime Minister

Other Deputy Prime Minister (1)

- * Cde. W.A.L.H. Parris, C.C.H., M.P., Deputy Prime Minister, Planning (Absent)

 Scnior Ministers (8)
- * Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs
- * Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs
 - Cds. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of National Mobilisation
 - Cde. H. Rashid, M.P., Minister of Energy and Mines
- * Cde. C.B. Greenidge, M.P., Minister of Finance
 - Cde. Sallahuddin, M.P., Minister of Forestry
 - $\hbox{\tt Cde. Dr. R.A. Van West-Charles, M.P., Minister of Health and Public Welfare } \\$
- * Cde. M.L. Parris, M.P., Minister of Education (Absent)

Ministers (6)

- Cde. Urmia Johnson, M.P., Minister within the Ministry of National Development
- Cde. Yvonne V. Harewood-Benn, M.P., Minister within the Ministry of Education
- * Cde. K.W.E. Denny, M.P., Minister of Manpower and Co-operatives
 - Cde. R.C. Fredericks, A.A., M.P., Minister of Youth and Sport within the Ministry of Education
 - Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Minister of Transport within the Vice-Presidency of Social Infrastructure
- * Cdc. Dr. S.P. DaSilva, M.P., Minister within the Ministry of Agriculture (Absent)

/...

^{*} Non-elected Member

Ministers of State (2)

- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Minister of State within the Ministry of Internal Trade and Consumer Protection
- Cde. H.L.B. Singh, M.S., M.P., Minister of State within the Ministry of Regional Development (Absent → on leave)

Parliamentary Secretaries (3)

- Cde. Agnes W. Bend-Kirton-Holder, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Housing within the Ministry of Health and Public Welfare
- Cde. D.A.N. Ainsworth, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Youth
- Cde. D. Bhaggan, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, National Development

Government Chief Whip (1)

Cde. Bidiawattie Tiwari, M.P., Government Chief Whip

Other Members (24)

- Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P.
- Cde. R.E. Williams, M.P.
- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. Philomena A. Rayman, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Cde. J.B. Caldeira, M.P.
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. Jayce Gill-Mingo, M.P.
- Cde. N. Ally, M.P.
- Cde. M. Armogan, M.S., J.P., M.P.
- Cde. Bissoondai Beniprashad, M.P.
- Cde. A.A. Chin, M.P.
- Cde. Elaine B. Davidson, M.P.
- Cde. H. Doobay, M.P.
- Cde. A.B. Felix, M.P.
- Cde. Patricia Fredericks, M.P.
- Cde. E.F. Gilbert, M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. A. McRae, M.P.
- Cdc. Joyce M. Munroe, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. R.N. Primo, M.P.
- Cdc. C.G. Sharma, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. C. Vandenburg, M.P.
- Cde. Edwina Melville, M.P.
- Cde. Y. Khan, M.P.

(One seat vacant)

Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)

- Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. Bhagmattee Latchminarayan, M.P.

Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (10)

- Cdc. Dianne Abraham, M.P., (Region No. 8 Potaro/Siparuni) (Absent)
- Cde. W. Bipat, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica)
- Cde. Nellie R. Charles, M.P. (Region No. 7 Cuyuin/Mazaruni)
- Cde. I. Chowritmootoo, M.P. (Region No. 6 East Berbice/Corentyne)
- Cdc. D. Hinds, M.P. (Region No. 10 Upper Demerara/Berbice)
- Cde. K.V. Jairam, M.P. (Region No. 2 Pomeroon/Supenaam)
- Cde. K.N. Jones, M.P. (Region No. 1 Barima/Waini)
- Cde. H.I. London, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 5 Mahaica/Berbice)
- Cd. Cora A. Singh, M.P. (Region No. 3 Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

(Vacant) (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)

Members of the Minority (12)

(i) People 's Progressive Party (10)

Minority Leader (1)

Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M.P., Minority Leader

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Other Members (8)

Cde. Janet Jagan, M.P., (Absent - on leave)

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Minority Chief Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Collymore, M.P.

Cdo. S.F. Mchamed, M.P.

Cde. I. Basir, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P.

Cde. H. Nokta, M.P.

(ii) United Force (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, C.C.H., J.P., M.P.

Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

DEFICERS

Cde. F.A. Narain, A.A., Clerk of the National Assembly Cde. M.B. Henry, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Cde. Rayman for that day's sitting.

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS

Presentation and First Reading

POST AND TELEGRAPH (AMENDMENT) DILL 1985 - Bill No. 6/1985

The Vice-President, Social Infrastructure and First Deputy Prime Minister, on behalf of the Government, presented the following Bill which was read the first time:-

A Bill intituled An Act to amend the Post and Telegraph Act.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

APPROVAL OF ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1985

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the Financial year 1985.

Cdes. Tiwari, London and Reepu Daman Persaud spoke to the motion.

The Minister of Energy and Mines was speaking to the motion when the sitting was suspended.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 15:02 hrs the sitting was suspended.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 15.05 hrs the sitting was resumed.

The Minister of Energy and Mines concluded his speech.

Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, the Minister of Foreign Affairs and the Deputy Speaker spoke to the motion.

The Minister of Manpower and Co-operatives was speaking to the motion when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 17:00 hrs the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 17:20 hrs the sitting was resumed.

The Minister of Manpower and Co-operatives concluded his speech.

The Parliamentary Secretary, Youth, Cde. Collymore, the Minister of State within the Ministry of Trade and Consumer Protection, Cde. Jairam, Mr. M.F. Singh and Cde. Williams spoke to the motion.

CONSIDERATION OF REPORT OF BUSINESS SUD-COMMITTEE OF COMMITTEE OF SUPPLY

Assembly resolved itself into Committee of Supply to receive and consider the Report of the Business Sub-Committee concerning the allocation of time for the consideration of the 1985 Estimates of Expenditure by the Committee of Supply.

In Committee of Supply

Following a report by the Chairman of the Business Sub-Committee and a motion by the Minister of Home Affairs, on behalf of the Minister of Finance, the Committee of Supply agreed with the Resolution of the Business Sub-Committee.

Assembly resumed.

<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

At 19.45 hrs on a motion by the Minister of Home Affairs, the Assembly was adjourned to 14:00 hrs on Wednesday 1985-0 -30.

Clerk of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT UFFICE, Bblic Buildings, Georgetown. 1985-01-30