NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 45TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE THIRD SESSION (1983-1985) OF THE FOURTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 14:00 hrs

ON MONDAY 1985-03-18

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER. PUBLIC BUILDINGS. BEORGETOWN MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (74)

Speaker (1)

*Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government --People's National Congress (61)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Prime Minister (Absent - on leave)

Other Vice-President and First Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. H. Green, M.P., Vice—President, Social Infrastructure and First Deputy Prime Minister (Absent)

Other Vice-Presidents and Deputy Prime Ministers (2)

*Cde. Br. M. Shahabuddeen, O.R., S.C., M.P., Vice—President,
Deputy Prime Minister and Attorney General (Absent — on leave)

Cde. R. Chandisingh, M.P., Vice—President, National Development and Deputy Prime Minister

Other Deputy Prime Minister (1)

*Cde. W.A.L.H. Parris, C.C.H., M.P., Deputy Prime Minister, Planning (Absent)

Senior Ministers (9)

- *Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs (Absent on leave)
- *Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of National Mobilisation
- Cde. H. Rashid, M.P., Minister of Energy and Mines
- *Cde. C.B. Greenidge, M.P., Minister of Finance
- Cde. Sallahuddin, M.P., Minister of Forestry (Absent on leave)
- Cde. Dr. R.A. Van West-Charles, M.P., Minister of Health and Public Welfare
- *Cde. M.L. Parris, M.P., Minister of Education
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Minister of Transport (Absent on leave)

Ministers (5)

- Cde. Urmia Johnson, M.P., Minister within the Ministry of National Development (Absent on leave)
- Cde. Yvonne V. Harewood-Benn, M.P., Minister within the Ministry of Education
- *Cde. K.W.E. Denny, M.P., Minister of Manpower and Co-operatives
- Cde. R.C. Fredericks, A.A., M.P., Minister of Youth and Sport within the Ministry of Education
- *Cde. Dr. S.P. Da Silva, M.P., Minister within the Ministry of Agriculture

Ministers of State (3)

- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Minister of State within the Ministry of Internal Trade and Consumer Protection
- Cde. H.L.B. Singh, M. S., M.P., Minister of State within the Ministry of Regional Development
- Cde. D.A.N. Ainsworth, M.P., Minister of State in the Ministry of Education

^{*} Non-elected Member

Parliamentary Secretaries (2)

```
Cde. Agnes W. Bend-Kirton-Holder, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Housing,
     within the Ministry of Health and Public Welfare
```

Cde. B. Bhaggan, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, National Development (Absent - on leave)

Government Chief Whip (1)

Cde. Bidiawattie, M.P., Government Chief Whip

Other Members (24)

```
Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P.
```

Cde. R.E. Williams, M.P.

Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P.

Cde. Philomena A. Rayman, M.P.

Cde. J.B. Caldeira, M.P.

Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.

Cde. Joyce Gill-Mingo, M.P.

Cde. M. Ally, M.P.

Cde. M. Armogan, H.S., J.P., M.P.

Cde. Bissoondai Beniprashad, M.P.

Cde. A.A. Chin, M.P.

Cde. Elaine B. Davidson, M.P.

Cde. H. Doobay, M.P.

Cde. A.B. Felix, M.P.

Cde. Patricia Fredericks, M.P. (Absent -on leave)

Cde. E.F. Gilbert, M.P. (Absent -on leave)

Cde. A..McRae, M.P.

Cde. Joyce M. Munroe, J.P., M.P.

Cde. R.N. Primo, M.P.

Cde. C.G. Sharma, A.A., J.P., M.P.

Cde. C. Vandenburg, M.P.

Cde. Edwina Melville, M.P. (Absent -on leave)

Cde. Y. Khan, M.P.

(One seat vacant)

Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)

Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Cde. Bhagmatee Latchminarayan, M.P.

Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (10)

```
Cde. Dianne Abraham, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni) (Absent)
```

Cde. W. Bipat, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 4 -Demerara/Mahaica)

Cde. Nellie R. Charles, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni) Cde. I. Chowritmootoo, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)

Cde. D. Hinds, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)

Cde. K.V. Jairam, M.P. (Region No. 2 Pomeroon/Supenaam) (Absent) Cde. K.N. Jones, M.P., (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)

Cde. H.I. London, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)

Cde. Cora A. Singh, M.P. (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

(Vacant) (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)

Members of the Minority (12)

(i) People's Progressive Party (10)

Minority Leader (1)

Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M.P., Minority Leader (Absent)

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly (Absent)

Other Members (8)

Cde. Janet Jagan, M.P.
Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Minority Chief Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Collymore, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P.

Cde. I. Basir, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. H. Nokta, M.P. (Absent)

(ii) United Force (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Absent - on leave) Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

OFFICERS

Cde. F.A. Narain, A.A., Clerk of the National Assembly Cde. M.B. Henry, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANDOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to -

- (a) Comrades Hoyte, Shahabuddeen, Jackson, Sallahuddin, Johnson, Bhaggan, Patricia Fredericks, Gilbert and Mr. M.F. Singh for that day's sitting;
- (b) Cde. Prashad up to the end of March;
- (c) Cde. Melville up to the end of April, and
- (d) Cde. Bishop up to 22nd March.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS. ETC.

By the Minister of Finance:

Annual Report of the National Insurance Scheme for the year 1982.

(ST: 25/2/1/6)(Circulated)

PURLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

APPROVAL OF FINANCIAL PAPER NO. 1/1985

Assembly resolved itself into Committee of Supply.

In Committee of Supply

In accordance with article 171(2) of the Constitution, the Minister of Finance signified Cabinet's recommendation and moved the following motion:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly approves of the proposals set out in Financial Paper No. 1/1985 - Schedule of Supplementary Provision on the Current and Capital Estimates totalling \$25,819,116, for the period ended 1984-12-31 (Advances made from the Contingencies Fund in 1984).

After consideration of the Schedule the motion was put and carried.

Assembly resumed.

On a motion by the Minister of Finance, the Assembly adopted the following Resolution:

RESOLVED, That this National Assembly agree with the Committee of Supply in the following Resolution:

"RESOLVED, That this National Assembly approves of the proposals set out in Financial Paper No. 1/1985 - Schedule of Supplementary Provisions on the Current and Capital Estimates totalling \$25,819,116, for the period ended 1984-12-31 (Alvances made from the Contingencies Fund in 1984)."

S. NABATN
Speaker
3

ADJOURNMENT

At 15:37 hrs on a motion by the Minister of Home Affairs, the Assembly was adjourned to a date to be fixed.

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown, 1985-03-25