NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE <u>47TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE THIRD</u> SESSION (1983-1985) OF THE FOURTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 14:00 hrs

ON THURSDAY 1985-05-23

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (74)

Speaker (1)

*Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (61)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Prime Minister

Other Vice-President and First Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. H. Green, M.P., Vice-President, Social Infrastructure and First Deputy Prime Minister (Absent)

Other Vice-Presidents and Deputy Prime Ministers (2)

- Cde. Dr. M. Shahabuddeen, O.R., S.C., M.P., Vice-President, Deputy Prime Minister and Attorney General
- Cde. R. Chandisingh, M.P., Vice-President, National Development and Deputy Prime Minister

Other Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. W.A.L.H. Parris, C.C.H., M.P., Deputy Prime Minister, Planning (Absent - on leave)

Senior Ministers (9)

*Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs *Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of National Mobilisation (Absent- on leave) Cds. E. Rashid, M.P., Minister of Energy and Mines *Cde. C.B. Greenidge, M.P., Minister of Finance Cde. Sallahuddin, M.P., Minister of Forestry (Absent) Cde. Dr. R.A. Van West-Charles, M.P., Minister of Health and Public Welfare *Cde. M.L. Parris, M.P., Minister of Education Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Minister of Transport

- Cde. U.E. Johnson, M.P., Minister within the Ministry of National Development (Absent)
- Cde. Yvonne V. Harewood-Benn, M.P., Minister within the Ministry of Education (Absent - on leave)
- *Cde. K.W.E. Denny, M.P., Minister of Manpower and Co-operatives Cde. R.C. Fredericks, A.A., M.P., M inister of Youth and Sport within
- the Ministry of Education (Absent) *Cde. Dr. S.P. Da Silva, M.P. Minister within the Ministry of Agriculture (Absent)

* Non-elected Member

/...

Ministers of State (3)

- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Minister of State within the Ministry of Internal Trade and Consumer Protection
- Cde. H.L.B Singh, M.S., M.P., Minister of State within the Ministry of Regional Development
- Cde. D.A.N. Ainsworth, M.P., Minister of State is the Ministry of Education (Absent - on leave)

Parliamentary Secretaries (2)

Cde. Agnes W. Bend-Kirton-Holder, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Housing, within the Ministry of Health and Public Welfare Cde. B. Bhaggan, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, National Development (Absent)

Government Chief Whip (1)

Cde. Bidiawattie Tiwari, M.P., Government Chief Whip

Other Members (24)

Cde.	O.E. Charke, M.P.
Cde.	R.E. Williams, M.P.
Cde.	J.P. Chowritmootoa, J.P., M.P.
Cde.	Philomena A. Rayman, M.P.
Cde.	J.B. Caldeira, M.P.
Cde.	E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
Cde.	Joyce Gill-Mingo, M.P.
Cde.	M. Ally, M.P.
Cde.	M. Armogan, M.S., J.P., M.P.
	Bissoondai Beniprashad, M.P.
Cde.	A.A. Chin, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
	Elaine B. Davidson, M.P.
Cde.	H. Doobay, M.P.
	A.B. Felix, M.P.
	Patricia Fredericks, M.P. (Absent)
Cde.	E.F. Gilbert, M.P. (Absent)
Cde.	A. McRae, M.P.
Cde.	Joyce M. Munroe, J.P., M.P.
	R.N. Primo, M.P.
	C.G. Sharma, A.A., J.P., M.P. (Absent)
	C. Vandenburg, M.P. (Absent)
	Edwina Melville, M.P. (Absent)
Cde.	Y. Khan, M.P.
	(One seat vacant)
Membe	er <u>s from the National Congress of Local</u> Democratic Organs <u>(2)</u>
Cde.	R. Bishop, M.S., M.P.
	Bhagmatee Latchminarayan, M.P.

Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (10)
Cde. Dianne Abraham, M.P., (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni)
Cde. W. Bipat, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)
Cde. Nellie R. Charles, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)
Cde. I. Chowritmootoo, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)
Cde. D. Hinds, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)
Cde. K.V. Jairam, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam)
Cde. K.N. Jones, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)
Cde. H.I. London, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mghaica/Berbice)

Cde. Cora A. Singh, M.P. (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islande/West Demorara)(Absent)

(Vacant) (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)

/...

Members of the Minority (12)

(i) <u>People's Progressive Party (10)</u>

Minority Leader (1)

Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M.P., Minority Leader

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly (Absent)

Other Members (8)

Cde. Janet Jagan, M.P. Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., <u>Minority Chief Whip</u> Cde. N. Persaud, M.P. Cde. C.C. Collymore, M.P. Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P. Cde. I. Basir, M.P. Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P. Cde. H. Nokta, M.P.

(ii) United Force (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Absent) Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

OFFICERS

Cde. F.A. Narain, A.A., Clerk of the National Assembly Cde. M.B. Henry, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

(i) <u>Sympathy to Brime Minister on Loss</u>

The Speaker, on behalf of Members and himself extended deepest sympathy to the Prime Minister, Cde. H. Desmond Hoyte, on the very great loss which he recently had when his two daughters and his sister-in-law were killed in an accident, his wife suffered injuries and his chauffeur died subsequently. The Speaker expressed the sincere wish that the Prime Minister would be given the strength and comfort to continue with his onerous duties. He also extended sympathy to the Prime Minister's wife and best wishes to her for a restoration to good health.

The Prime Minister thanked the Speaker for his expression of sympathy.

(ii) <u>Congratulations to Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, Minister, on Marriage</u>

The Speaker, on behalf of Members, extended congratulations and best wishes to Cde. Robert H.O. Corbin, Minister of National Mobilisation, on his marriage to Carol Dawn Elizabeth Ince on Saturday 1985-05-18.

(iii) <u>Leave</u>

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Cdes. H. Parris, Harewood Benn, Ainsworth and Chin for that day¹s sitting.

/ ...

3.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC.

(1) By the <u>Minister of Transport</u>:

Annual Report of the Transport and Harbours Department for the year 1982.

(MT: 12/3/1^{II})(Circulated)

(2) By the <u>Minister of Manpower and Co-operatives:</u>

Annual Report of the Ministry of <u>Manpower</u> and Co-operatives for the year 1984. (L:7/1/42)(Circulated)

REQUESTS FOR LEAVE TO MOVE THE ADJOURNMENT OF THE ASSEMBLY ON DEFINITE MATTERS OF URGENT PUBLIC IMPORTANCE

The Minority Leader withdrew his notification to seek leave to move the adjournment of the Assembly for the purpose of discussing the continuing acts of hostility by the US Administration against the Government of Nicaragua, as he was informed that the Minister of Foreign Affairs was prepared to discuss a substantive motion on the matter.

The Speaker pointed out that in any case the matter would not have qualified as it did not involve the responsibility of the Guyana Government.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

BILL - Second Reading

NATIONAL SECURITY (MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS) (AMENDMENT) BILL 1985 - Bill No. 8/1985 published 1985-05-15

The Minister of Home Affairs informed the Assembly that on account of a request made by the Minority for further time to study the following Bill, he would not proceed to move its second reading at that sitting:

> A Bill intituled An Act to amend the National Security (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act for the purpose of re-enacting Part II thereof with modifications and for certain other purposes.

ADJUURNMENT

At 14:10 hrs, on a motion by the Minister of Home Affairs, the Assembly was adjourned to 14:00 hrs on Monday 1985-06-24.

Land S. NABAIN gr. 06- M Speaker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown, 1985-06-14