#### NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

#### MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

## OF THE 49TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE THIRD SESSION (1983-1985) OF THE FOURTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

#### AT 14:00 hrs

#### ON WEDNESDAY 1985-06-26

# IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (74)

## Speaker (1)

tde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

## Members of the Government - People's National Congress (61)

## Prime Minister (1)

Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Prime Minister (Absent - on leave)

## Other Vice-President and First Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. H. Green, M.P., Vice-President, Social Infrastructure and First Deputy Prime Minister (Absent)

## Other Vice-Presidents and Deputy Prime Ministers (2)

\*Cde. Dr. M. Shahabudden, O.R., S.C., M.P., Vice-President, Deputy Prime Minister and Attorney General

Cde. R. Chandisingh, M.P., Vice-President, National Development and Deputy Prime Minister

## Other Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. W.A.L.H. Parris, C.C.H., M.P., Deputy Prime Minister, Planning

## Senior Ministers. (9)

- \*Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs
- \*Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P. Minister of National Mobilisation
- Cde. H. Rashid, M.P., Minister of Energy and Mines
- \*Cde. C.B. Greenidge, M.P., Minister of Finance (Absent)
- Cde. Sallahuddin, M.P., Minister of Forestry (Absent)
- Cde. Dr. R.A. Van West-Charles, M.P., Minister of Health and Public Welfare
- \*Cde. M.L. Parris, M.P., Minister of Education
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Minister of Transport (Absent)

## Ministers (5)

- Cde. Urmia E. Johnson, M.P., Minister within the Ministry of National Development (Absent)
- Cde. Yvonne V. Harewood-Benn, M.P., M inister within the Ministry of Education (Absent on leave)
- \*Cde. K.W.E. Denny, M.P., M inister of Manpower and Co-operatives(Absent on leave
- Cde. R.C. Fredericks, A.A., M.P., Minister of Youth and Sport within the Ministry of Education
- \*Cde. Dr. S.P. Da Silva, M.P., Minister within the Ministry of Agriculture

## Ministers of State (3)

- Cdc. M. Corrica, M.P., Minister of State within the Ministry of Internal Trade and Consumer Protection (Absent)
- Cde. H.L.B. Singh, M.S., M.P., Minister of State within the Ministry of Regional Development (Absent - on leave)
- Cde. D.A.N. Ainsworth, M.P., Minister of State within the Ministry of Education (Absent)

## Parliamentary Secretaries (2)

Cde. Agnes W. Bend-Kirton-Holder, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Housing, within the Ministry of Health and Public Welfare Cde. B. Bhaggan, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, National Development

## Government Chief Whip (1)

Ede. Bidiawattic Tiwari, M.P., Government Chief Whip

## Other Members (24)

```
Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P.
```

Cde. R.E. Williams, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P.

Cde. Philomena A. Rayman, M.P.

Cde. J.B. Caldeira, M.P.

Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.

Cde. Joyce Gill-Mingo, M.P.

Cde. M. Ally, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. M. Armogan, M.S., J.P., M.P.

Cde. Bissoondai Beniprashad, M.P.

Cde. A.A. Chin, M.P.

Cde. Elaine B. Davidson, M.P.

Cde. H. Doobay, M.P.

Cde. A.B. Felix, M.P.

Cde. Patricia Fredericks, M.P.

·Cde. E.F. Gilbert, M.P.

Cde. A. McRae, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. Joyca M. Munroe, J.P., M.P.

Cde. R.N. Primo, M.P.

Cde. C.G. Sharma, A.A., J.P., M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Cde. C. Vandenburg, M.P.

Cde. Edwina Melville, M.P.

Cde. Y. Khan, M.P. (One seat vacant)

#### Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)

Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P.

Cde. Bhagmatee Latchminarayan, M.P.

#### Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (10)

```
Cde. Dianne Abraham, M.P., (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni)
Cde. W. Bipat, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)
```

Cde. Nellie R. Charles, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Cde. I. Chowritmootoo, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)

Cde. D. Hinds, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)

Cde. K.V. Jairam, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam)(Absent - on leave)
Cde. K.N. Jones, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)

Cde. H.I. London, M.S., M.P., (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)

Cde. Cora A. Singh, M.P. (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West Demerara (Absent - on leave)

(Vacant) (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)

## Members of the Minority (12)

## (i) People's Progressive Party (19)

## Minority Leader (1)

Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M.P. Minority Leader

## Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

## Other Members (8)

Cde. Janet Jagan, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. Reepu Damar Persaud, J.P., M.P., Minority Chief Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Collymore, M.P.

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P.

Cde. I. Basir, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. C.C.Belgrave, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. H. Nokta, M.P.

## (ii) United Force (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

#### **OFFICERS**

Cde. F.A. Narain, A.A., Clerk of the National Assembly Cde. M.B. Henry, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

## PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

## ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

#### Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to -

- (a) Cdes. Hoyte, Denny, H.L.B. Singh, Jairam, Cora Singh and Mr. M.F. Singh for that day's sitting, and
- (b) Cde. Sharma up to 5th July

#### PUBLIC BUSINESS

## MOTIONS

#### ITEM 1 - SUSPENSION OF STANDING ORDER NO. 23(3)

The Minister of Home Affairs moved the following motion which was put and  $\underline{\text{carried:}}$ 

#### BE IT RESOLVED:

That Standing Order No. 23(3) be suspended to enable the Assembly to proceed at its sitting on Wednesday 1985-06-26, upon the motion by the Minority Leader in connection with the hostilities against Nicaragua.

## ITEM 2 HOSTILITIES AGAINST NICARAGUA

The Minority Leader moved the following motion:

WHEREAS despite world-wide condemnation of the hostile acts of the U.S. against the Sandinista Government of Nicaragua, such as the mining last year of Micaraguan waters and its continued support of the "contras" operating in that country, the U.S. has now mounted an economic embargo against Nicaragua;

AND WHEREAS the Non-Aligned countries and the CARICOM Foreign Ministers continue their support and commitment to the Contadora process, after expressing deep concern over the imposition by the U.S. of the embargo since it seems likely to jeopardise that process:

#### BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly -

- (a) condemns the U.S. economic embargo and the continuing hostility to the Nicaraguan Government by Washington,
- (b) calls on the Government of Guyana to give all—round support to the Nicaraguan Government and people, and
- (c) brings to the attention of the Security Council the e**s**calating threat to peace in the region.

Cde. Collymore seconded and spoke to the motion.

The Minister of Foreign Affairs spoke to the motion.

Thereafter, the motion was put and carried.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

At 15:42hrs, on a motion by the Minister of Home Affairs, the Assembly was adjourned to a date to be fixed.

S. WARA IN
Speaker 123

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 1985-07-03