### NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

### MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

## OF THE 50TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE THIRD SESSION (1983-1985) OF THE FOURTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

## AT 14:00 hrs

### ON FRIDAY 1985-08-16

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (74)

Speaker (1)

- Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Acmbers of the Government - People's National Congress (61)

<u>Prime Minister (1)</u>

Cde. H. Green, M.P., Prime Minister

Other Vice-Presidents and Deputy Prime Ministers (2)

- \*Cde. Dr. M. Shahabudden, O.R., S.C., M.P., Vice-President, Deputy Prime Minister and Attorney General
- Cde. R. Chanlisingh, M.P., Vice-President, National Development and Deputy Prime Minister

### <u>Other Deputy Prime Minister (1)</u>

\*Cde. W.A.L.H. Parris, C.C.H., M.P., Deputy Prime Minister, Planning Senior Ministers (9)

- \* Cde, R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs
- \* Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of National Mobilisation Cde. H. Rashid, M.P., Minister of Energy and Mines
- \* Cde. C.B. Greenidge, M.P., Minister of Finance Cde. Sallahuddin, M.P., Minister of Forestry
- Cde. Dr. R.A. Van West-Charles, M.P., Minister of Health and Public Welfare
- \* Cde. M.L. Parris, M.P., Minister of Education Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Minister of Transport

Ministers (5)

- Cde. Urmia E. Johnson, M.P., Minister within the Ministry of National Development
- Cde. Yvonne V. Harewood-Benn, M.P., Minister within the Ministry of Education \* Cde. K.W.E. Denny, M.P., Minister of Manpower and Co-operatives
- Cde. R.C. Fredericks, A.A., M.P., Minister of Youth and Sport within the Ministry of Education
- \* Cde. Dr. S.P. Da Silva, M.P., Minister within the Ministry of Agriculture

\* Non-elected Member

# <u>Ministers of State (3)</u> Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Minister of State within the Ministry of Internal Trade and Consumer Protection Cde. H.L.B. Singh, M.S., M.P., Minister of State within the Ministry of Regional Development Cde. D.A.N. Ainsworth, M.P., Minister of State within the Ministry of Education Parliamentary Secretaries (2) Cde. Agnes W. Bend-Kirton-Holder, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Housing, within the Ministry of Health and Public Welfare Cde. B. Bhaggan, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, National Development Government Chief Whip (1) Cde. Bidiawattie Tiwari, M.P., Government Chief Whip Other Members (25) Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P. Cde. R.E. Williams, M.P. Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P. Cde. Philomena A. Rayman, M.P. Cde. J.B. Caldeira, M.P. Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P. Cde. Joyce Gill-Mingo, M.P. Cde. M. Ally, M.P. Cde. M. Armogan, M.S., J.P., M.P. Cde. Bissoondai Beniprashad, M.P. Cde. A.A. Chin, M.P. Cde. Elaine B. Davidson, M.P. Cde. H. Doobay, M.P. Cde. A.B. Felix, M.P. Cdo. Patricia Fredericks, M.P. Cde. E.F. Gilbert, M.P. Cde. A. McRae, M.P. (Absent) Cde. Joyce M. Munroe, J.P., M.P. Cde. R.N. Primo, M.P. Cde. C.G. Sharma, A.A., J.P., M.P. Cde. C. Vandenburg, M.P. (Absent) Cde. Edwina Melville, M.P. Cde. Y. Khan, M.P. (Two seats vacant)

<u>Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)</u>

Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P. Cde. Bhagmatee Latchminarayan, M.P.

·/· • • •

Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (10)

Cde. Dianne Abraham, M.P., (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni) (Absent) Cde. W. Bipat, J.P., M.P., (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica) Cde. Nellie R. Charles, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni) Cde. I.Chowritmootoo, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne) Cde. D. Hinds, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice) Cde. K.V. Jairam, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam) Cde. K.N. Jones, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima Waini) (Absent) Cde. H.I. London, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice) Cde. Cora A. Singh, M.P. (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

(Vacant) (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)

<u>Members of the Minority (12)</u>

(i) <u>People's Progressive Party (10)</u>

Minority Leader (1)

Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M.P. Minority Leader (Absent - on leave)

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly (Absent)

Other Members (8)

Cde. Janet Jagan, M.P. Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., <u>Minority Chief Whip</u> Cde. N. Persaud, M.P. Cde. C.C. Collymore, M.P. Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P. Cde. I. Basir, M.P. (Absent-on leave) Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P. Cde. H. Nokta, M.P.

(ii) United Force (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

### OFFICERS

Cde. F.A. Narain, A.A., Clerk of the National Assembly Cde. M.B. Henry, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

#### PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

### ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

#### Special Sitting

The Speaker informed Members that the sitting had been specially fixed for the purpose of enabling the Assembly to record its profound grief at the death of Cde. Linden Forbes Sampson Burnham, O.E., S.C., late President of the Co-operative Republic of Guyana and as there were no matter to be dealt with on the agenda the Assembly would proceed with the motion on the matter.

### PUBLIC BUSINESS

### MOTION

### TRIBUTE TO COMRADE LINDEN FORBES SAMPSON BURNHAM, O.E., S.C., LATE PRESIDENT OF GUYANA

The Prime Minister moved the following motion:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That we, the Members of this National Assembly, at this Special Sitting assembled, record our profound grief at the loss sustained by Guyana on the death of Comrade Linden Forbes Sampson Burnham, O.E., S.C., President of the Co-operative Republic of Guyana, and pay tribute to the distinguished service which he rendered to Guyana and direct that an expression of our heartfelt sympathy be conveyed to his sorrowing widow, children and relatives.

Cdes. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P. Chowritmootoo, Mr.M.F. Singh and Cde. Beniprashad spoke to the motion.

Before the motion was put, the Speaker informed Members that he had just received a telegram from Member of Parliament, Cde. Isahak Basir, in which he requested that his deepest sympathy be extended **to Cde. Viola** Burnham, her bereaved family, the Parliament and the nation.

/...

Thereafter the motion was put and <u>carried</u> with Members standing in silence for two minutes.

# ADJOURNMENT

At 15:45 hrs, on a motion by the Minister of Home Affairs, the Assembly was adjourned to a date to be fixed.

S. Narain Speaker 17 Sr.08-17

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown, Guyana. 1985-08-17