NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 1ST SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE SECOND

SESSION (1990) OF THE FIFTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON WEDNESDAY 24TH JANUARY 1990

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN.

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (74)

Speaker (1)

* Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., S.C., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (62)

Prime Minister (1)

* Cde. H. Green, M.P., Prime Minister

Other Vice-President and Deputy Prime Minister (1)

+ Cde. Viola V. Burnham, O.R., M.P., Vice-President, Culture and Social Development and Deputy Prime Minister (Absent - on leave)

Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs (1)

+* Cde. K.S. Massiah, O.R., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs

Other Deputy Prime Ministers (2)

- + Cde. W.A.L.H., Parris, C.C.H., M.P., Deputy Prime Minister, Planning and Development
- + Cde. R.H.O.,Corbin, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister, Public Utilities

Senior Ministers (10)

- Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs
 ** Cde, C.B. Greenidge, M.P., Minister of Finance (Absent)
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Senior Minister in the Ministry of Planning & Development

- Cde. W.S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Trade and Tourism

 Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of Regional Development

 Cde. Yvonne V. Harewood-Benn, M.P., Senior Minister in the Office of the President

 * Cde. Dr. P.L. McKenzie, A.A., M.P., Minister of Agriculture (Absent)

 * Cde. D.M.A. Bernard, M.P., Minister of Education

- * Cde. J.R. Kranenburg, M.P., Minister of Communications and Works
- * Cde. Dr. N.E. Blackman, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Health

Ministers (8)

- Cde. Urmia E.H. Johnson, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Regional Development
- Cde. C.G. Sharma, A.A., J.P., M.P., Minister of Labour and Co-operatives
 - Cde. D. Sawh, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Public Utilities
- Cde. V.V. Parvatan, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture * Cde. J.T. Kissoon, M.P., Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister
 - Cde. Dr. Faith A. Harding, M.P., Minister of the Public Service

 - Cde. Stella Odie-Ali, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs
 Cde. Jean M.G. Persico, A.A., M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Culture & Social Development
 - Cabinet Member
 - * Non-elected Member

Parliamentary Secretary (1)

* Cde. L.E. Scotland, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister

Government Chief Whip (1)

Cde. Jennifer A. Fereira, M.P., Government Chief Whip

Other Members (25)

Cda. K.B. Bancroft, M.P.

Cde. Philomena A. Rayman, M.P.

Cde. A.K. Habibulla, M.P.

Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.

Cde. Jayce Gill-Mingo, M.P.

Cde, M. Ally, M.P.

Cde. Elaine B. Davidson, M.P.

Cde, H. Doobay, M.P.

Cde. Joyce M. Munroe, J.P., M.P.

Cde, Edwina Melville, M.P.

Cde. Amna Ally, M.P.Cde. N. Caliston, M.P.

Cde, F.M. Cumberbatch, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. M.I. Deen, M.P.

Cde, Clarice A. Edwards, M.P.

Cde, C.L. Geddes, M.P.

Cde, G. Marshall, M.P.

Cde. B. Persaud, J.P., M.P.

Cde.K. Sankar, M.S., M.P. (Absent)

Cde. E.L. Fraser, M.P.

Cde. Mignon D. Griffith, M.P.

Cde. P.E. Rockliffe, M.P. !

(There is one Vacancy)

Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)

Cde. Rose I. Semple, M.P.

Cde. P. Singh, J.P., M.P.

Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (10)

Cde. Nellie R. Charles, M.P., (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)
Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P., (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)
Cde. C. Vandenburg, M.P., (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)

Cde. Y. Khan, M.P., (Region No.2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam)

Cde. Enid E. Abrahams, M.S., J.P., M.P., (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West Dem.)
Cde. I. Ally, M.P., (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)
Cde. S.I. McGarrell, M.P., (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni)

Cde. M. Stephens, M.P., (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo) (Absent)

Cde. M. Ajoodhia, J.P., M.P., (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice) (Absent)

Cde. D. Fernandes, M.P., (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)

Members of the Minority (11)

(i) People's Progressive Party (8)

Minority Leader (1)

Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M.P., Minority Leader

Non-elected Member

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly (Absent)

Other Members (6)

Cde. Janet Jagan, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. C.C. Collymore, M.P.

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P., Minority Chief Whip

Cde. H. Nokta, M.P. Cde. I. Basir, M.P. Cde. C.C. Beligrave, M.P.

(ii) United Force (2)

 M_{Γ} • M.F. Singh, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Mr. M.A. Abraham, A.A., M.P.

(iii) Working People's Alliance (1)

Mr. E. Kwayana, M.P.

OFFICERS

Cde, F.A. Narain, A.A., Clerk of the National Assembly (Absent on leave) Cde. G.E.F. moses, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

PROCLAMATION SUMMONING A SESSION OF PARLIAMENT

The Deputy Clerk read the Proclamation which was made by the President on the 3rd day of January, 1990 and published in the Gazette on the 6th day of January, 1990 appointing the Parliament Chamber, Public Buildings, Georgetown, Guyana, as the place where a Session (Second Session) of Parliament shall be held at 2 o'clock in the afternoon on the 24th January, 1990 as the time when such session shall begin.

PRAYERS

The Deputy Clerk read Prayers.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 2:05 p.m. the sitting was suspended to enable the Speaker to receive His Excellency the President, Cde, Hugh Desmond Hoyte, S.C., and Cde. Joyce Hoyte.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 2:30 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

ARRIVAL OF THE PRESIDENT AND CDE JUYCE HOYTE

The President and Cde. Joyce Hoyte entered the Chamber and took their places on the dais.

WELCOME TO THE PRESIDENT AND CDE JOYCE HOYTE

The Speaker welcomed the President and Cde. Joyce Hoyte.

ADDRESS BY THE PRESIDENT

The President addressed the Assembly.

THANKS TO THE PRESIDENT

The Speaker, on behalf of the Members, thanked the President.

<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

At 3:00 p.m. the Assembly was adjourned to 2:00 p.m. on $M_{\hbox{\scriptsize o}}$ and 29th January, 1990.

S. NARAIN Speaker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown.