# NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

### MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS.

# OF THE 21ST SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE SECOND

# SESSION (1990) OF THE FIFTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

# AT 2,00 P.M.

### ON MONDAY 25TH JUNE, 1990

# IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

### MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (73)

# Speaker (1)

\* Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., S.C., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

# Members of the Government - People's National Congress (61)

# Prime Minister (1)

+ Cde. H. Green, M.P., Prime Minister

### Other Vice-President and Deputy Prime Minister (1)

+ Cde. Viola V. Burnham, C.R., M.P., Vice-President, Culture and Social Development and Deputy Prime Minister.

#### Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs (1)

+\* Cde. K.S. Massiah, D.R., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs (Absent-on-leave)

#### Other Deputy Prime Ministers (2)

- + Cde. W.A.L.H. Parris, C.C.H., M.P., Deputy Prime Minister, Planning and Development (Absent)
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister, Public Utilities (Absent)

### Senior Ministers (9)

- + Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs +\* Cde. C.B. Greenidge, M.P., Minister of Finance (Absent)
- + Cde, S. Prashad, M.P., Senior Minister in the Ministry of Planning and Development (Absent)

- Cde. W.S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Trade and Tourism (Absent)
  Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of Regional Development Cde. Yvonne V. Harewood-Benn, M.P., Senior Minister in the Office of the President
- Cde. Dr. P.L. McKenzie, A.A., M.P., Minister of Agriculture Cde. D.M.A. Bernard, M.P., Minister of Education
- \* Cde. J.R. Kranenburg, M.P., Minister of Communications and Works

# <u>Ministers (A)</u>

Cde. Urmia E.H. Johnson, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Regional Development

- + Cde. C.G. Sharma, A.A., J.P., M.P., Minister of Labour and Co-operatives Cde. D. Sawh, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Public Utilities (Absent)
- \* Cde. V.V. Parvatan, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture Cde. J.T. Kissoon, M.P., Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister (Absent) Cde. Dr. Faith A. Harding, M.P., Minister of the Public Service (Absent)
  - Cde. Stella Odie-Ali, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs
  - Cde. Jean M.G. Persico, A.A., M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Culture & Social Development
    - Cabinet Member
    - Non-elected Member

Parliamentary Secretary (1)

\* Cde. L.E. Scotland, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister

Government Chief Whip (1)

Cde. Jennifer A. Ferreira, M.P., Government Chief Whip

Other Members (25)

Cde. K.B. Bancroft, M.P. Cde. Philomena A. Rayman, M.P. (Absent-On-leave) Cde. A.K. Habibulla, M.P. Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P. Cde. Joyce Gill-Mingo, M.P. (Absent) Cde. M. Ally, M.P. Cde. Elaine B. Davidson, M.P. (Absent) Cde. H. Doobay, M.P. Cde. Joyce M. Munroe, J.P., M.P. Cde. Edwina Melville, M.P. Cde. Amna Ally, M.P. (Absent) Cde. N. Calistre, M.P. Cde. F.M. Cumberbatch, M.P. (Absent) Cde. M.I. Deen, M.P. Cde. Cyrilda A. DeJosus, M.P. Cde. Edith Deygoo, M.P. Cde. Clarice A. Ewards, M.P. Cde. C.L. Geddes, M.P. (Absent) Cde. G. Marshall, M.P. Cde. B. Persaud, J.P., M.P. Cde. K. Sankar, M.S., M.P. (Absent) Cde. E.L. Fraser, M.P. Cde. Mignon D. Griffith, M.P. Cde. P.E. Rockliffe, M.P.

(There is one Vacancy)

Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)

Cde, Nellie R. Charles, M.P., (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni) Cde, R. Bishop, M.S., M.P., (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica) Cde. C. Vandenburg, M.P., (Rogion No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Borbice) Cde. Y. Khan, M.P.; (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam) Cde. Enid E. Abrahams, M.S., J.P., M.P., (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West Dem) Cde. I. Ally, M.P., (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne) Cde. S.I. McGarrell, M.P., (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni) Cde. M. Stephens, M.P., (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo) (Absent) Cde. M. Ajoodhia, J.P., M.P., (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice) Cde. D. Fernandes, M.P., (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)

Member of the Minority (11)

(i) <u>People's Progressive Party (8)</u>

<u>Minority Leader (1)</u>

Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M.P., Minority Leader (Absent)

\* Non-elected Member

# Deputy Speaker (1)

Cds. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

# Other Members (6)

Cde. Janet Jagan, M.P. Cde. C.C. Collymore, M.P. Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P., Minority Chief Whip Cde. H. Nokta, M.P. Cde. I. Basir, M.P. (Absent) Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P. (Absent)

(ii) United Force (2) Mr. M.F. Singh, C.C.H., J.P., M.P., (Absent) Mr. M.A. Abraham, A.A., M.P. (Absent) (iii) Working People's Alliance (1)

Mr. E. Kwayana, M.P.

### OFFICERS

Cds. F.A. Narain, A.A., Clerk of the National Assembly Cds. G.E.F. Moses, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

# PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

### Leave

The Speaker announced that leave was granted to Cdes. Parris, Murray, Faith Harding and Habibulla for that days sitting.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC.

By the Minister of Communications and Works:

Annual Report of the Ministry of Communications and Works for the year 1989.

(CW: 9/1)(Circulated)

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS

#### Presentation and First R<sub>B</sub>ading

BANKING LAWS (AMENDMENT) BILL 1990 - Bill No. 22/1990

The Minister of Finance, on behalf of the Government presented the following Bill:~

A Bill intituled An Act to amend the Banking Act, the Bank of Guyana Act and the Minimum Holdings of Liquid Assets by Banks (Temporary Provisions) Act 1989.

### PUBLIC BUSINESS

BILL - Second and Third Readings

ITEM 1 LOCAL AUTHORITIES (ELECTIONS) (AMENDMENT) (NO. 2) BILL 1990 - Bill No. 21/1990 published 1990-06-14

The Minister of Home Affairs moved the second reading of the following Bill:

A Bill intituled An Act to amend the Local Authorities (Elections) Act.

Cde. Collymore and Mr. Kwayana spoke to the motion.

The motion was put and <u>carried</u>.

The Bill was read a second time and was, therefore, taken through its remaining stages and <u>passed</u> as <u>printed.</u>

### MOTION

ITEM 2 STATE PAPER ON EDUCATION POLICY

The Minister of Education moved the following motions

BE IT RESOLVED:

That This National Assembly approves of the proposals set out in the State Paper on Education Policy which was laid in the National Assembly on 9th May; 1990.

Cde. Mohamed and Mr. Kwayana spoke to the motion.

The Minister of Education replied.

The motion was then put and carried.

ADJOURNMENT

At  $4_{\circ}OO$  p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Regional Development, the Assembly was adjourned to a date to be fixed.

artur S. NARAIN Speakor of the National Assembly 91-08-29