#### NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

#### MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

# OF THE 1ST SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE SECOND SESSION (1982) OF THE FOURTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

## AT 17:00 hrs

## ON FRIDAY, 1982-01-22

#### IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

# MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (77)

# Speaker (1)

\* Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (64)

# Prime Minister (1)

Cde. Dr. P.A. Reid, O.E., M.P., Prime Minister

## Other Vice-Presidents (4)

- Cde. S.S. Naraine, A. L., M.P., Vice-President, Works and Transport
- Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Vice-President, Economic Planning and Finance
- Cde. H. Green, M.P., Vice-President, Public Welfare
- Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Vice-President, Parliamentary Affairs and Party/State Relations

# Senior Ministers (10)

- Cde. R. Chandisingh, M.P., Minister of Higher Education
- Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P., Minister of Regional Development
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of National Development
- \* Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P. Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection
- \* Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Mines
- \* Cde. Dr. M. Shahabuddeen, O.R., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Justice
- \* Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs
- \* Cde. J.A. Tyndall, A.A., M.P., Minister of Agriculture
- \* Cde. S.A. Moore, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs
- \* Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of Education

## Ministers (8)

- Cde. U.E. Johnson, M.P., Minister of Co-operatives
- Cde. J.N. Maitland-Singh, M.P. Minister, Consumer Protection, in the Ministry of Trade and Consumer Protection
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Minister, in the Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. Sallahuddin, M.P., Minister, Finance, in the Ministry of Economic Planning and Finance
- Cde. R.E. Williams, M.P., Minister, Fisheries, in the Ministry of Agriculture
- \* Cde. Y.V. Harewood-Benn, M.P., Minister, in the Office of the Prime Minister
- \* Cde. H. Rashid, M.P., Minister, Office of the President
- \*\*Cde. R.A. Van West-Charles, M.P., Minister, Health, in the Ministry of Public Welfare

/...

# Ministers of State (3)

- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Minister of State for Culture, in the Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture
- Cde. R.C. Fredericks, A.A., M.P., Minister of State for Youth and Sport, in the Ministry of National Development
- \* Cde. C.E. Wright, M.P., Minister of State for Construction, in the Ministry of Works and Transport

# Parliamentary Secretaries (3)

- Cde. A.W. Bend-Kirton-Holder, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Women's Affairs and Housing
- Cde. D.A.N. Ainsworth, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Education, Social Development and Culture
- Cde. B. Bhaggan, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Foreign Affairs

# Other Members (23)

- Cde. M. Ally, M.P.
- Cde. M. Armogan, M.P.
- Cde. B. Beniprashad, M.P.
- Cde. J.B. Caldeira, M.P.
- Cde. A.A. Chin, M.P.
- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. E.B. Davidson, M.P.
- Cde. H. Doobay, M.P.
- Cde. A.B. Folix, M.P.
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. P. Fredericks, M.P.
- Cde. E.F. Gilbert, M.P.
- Cde. J. Gill-Mingo, M.P.
- Cde. A. McRac, M.P.
- Cde. J.M. Munroe, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. R.N. Primo, M.P.
- Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P.
- Cde. C.G. Sharma, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. H.L.B. Singh, M.F.
- Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. B. Tiwari, M.P.
- Cde. C. Vandenburg, M.P. Cde. H.B. Walcott-Nacimento, J.P., M.I., Government Chief Whip

# Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2),

- Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. B. Latchminarayan, M.P.

# Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (10)

- Cde. K.N. Jones, M.P. (Region No. 1 Barima/Waini)
- Cde. K.V. Jairam, M.P. (Region No. 2 Pomeroon/Supenaam)(Absent on leave) Cde. C.A. Singh, M.P. (Region No. 3 Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

/...

- Cde. W. Bipat, M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica)
- Cde. H.I. London, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 5 Mahaica/Berbice)
- Cde. I. Chowritmootoo, M.P. (Region No. 6 East Berbice/Corentyne)
- Cde. N.R. Charles, M.P. (Region No. 7 Cuyuni/Mazaruni)
- Cde. D. Abraham, M.P. (Region No. 8 Potaro/Siparuni)
- Cde. A. Dorrick, M.P. (Region No. 9 Upper Takuty/Typer Essequibo)
- Cde. D. Hinds, M.P. (Region No. 10 Upper Demerara/Berbice)

# Members of the Minority (12)

# (i) People's Progressive Party (10)

# Minority Leader (1)

Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M.P., Minority Leader (Absent)

# Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly (Absent)

# Other Members (8)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Minority Chief Whip (Absent)

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. C.C. Collymore, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. I. Basir, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P. (Absent)

# (ii) United Force (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.P.

Mr. M.A. Abraham. M.P.

#### OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly, Cde. F.A. Narain, A.A. Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly, Cde. M.B. Henry

#### COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The 1st Sitting of the National Assembly of the Second Session of the Fourth Parliament commenced at 17:00 hrs.

## PROCLAMATION SUMMONING THE SESSION OF PARLIAMENT

The Clerk read the Proclamation which was made by the President on 1982-OL-06 and published in an extraordinary issue of the Gazette on 1982-Ol-06, appointing the Parliament Chamber, Public Buildings, Georgetown, as the place where a session of Parliament shall be held and 17:00 hrs on Friday 1982-Ol-22 as the time when such session shall begin.

#### PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

## SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 17:05 hrs the sitting was suspended to enable the Speaker to receive His Excellency the President and Cde. Viola Burnham.

#### RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 17:38 hrs the sitting was resumed.

#### ENTRY OF THE PRESIDENT AND CDE. VIOLA BURNHAM

His Excellency The President, Cde. L.F.S. Burnham, O.E., S.C., and Cde. Viola Burnham entered the Parliament Chamber and took their places on the dais.

#### ADDRESS BY THE PRESIDENT

The President addressed the Assembly and presented a copy of the Address to the Speaker.

#### THANKS BY THE SPEAKER

The Speaker, on behalf of the Members of the Assembly, and himself, thanked the President.

# WITHDRAWAL OF THE PRESIDENT AND CDE. VIOLA BURNHAM

The President and Cde. Viola Burnham withdrew from the Parliament Chamber.

## ADJOURNMENT

At 18:14 hrs, on a motion by the Vice-President, Parliamentary Affairs and Party/State Relations, the Assembly was adjourned to 14:00 hrs on Monday 1982-01-25.

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 1982-01-25