NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 3RD SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE SECOND SESSION (1982) OF THE FOURTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 14:00 hrs

ON TUESDAY 1982-01-26

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (77)

Speaker (1)

*Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (64)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. Dr. P.A. Reid, O.E., M.P., Prime Minister

Other Vice-Presidents (4)

- Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P., Vice-President, Works and Transport
- Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Vice-President, Economic Planning and Finance
- Cde. H. Green, M.P., Vice-President, Public Welfare (Absent)
- Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Vice-President, Parliamentary Affairs and Party/State Relations

Senior Ministers (10)

- Cde. R. Chandisingh, M.P., Minister of Higher Education
- Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P., Minister of Regional Development
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of National Development
- * Cde. F.E. Eope, M.P., Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection
- * Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Mines (Absent)
- * Cde. Dr. M. Shahabuddeen, O.R., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Justice (Absent)
- * Cde. R.E. Mackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs (Absent)
- * Cde. J.A. Tyndall, A.A., M.P., Minister of Agriculture
- * Cde. S.A. Moore, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs
- * Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of Education (Absent)

Ministers (8)

- Cde. U.E. Johnson, M.P., Minister of Co-operatives
- Cde. J.N. Maitland-Singh, M.P., Minister, Consumer Protection, in the Ministry of Trade and Consumer Protection
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Minister, in the Ministry of Agriculture (Absent)
- Cde. Sallahuddin, M.P., Minister, _Finance, in the Ministry of Economic Planning and Finance
- Cde. R.E. Williams, M.P., Minister, Fisheries, in the Ministry of Agriculture
- * Cde. Y.V. Harewood-Benn, M.P., Minister, in the Office of the Prime Minister
- * Cde. H. Rashid, M.P., Minister, Office of the President
- * Cde. R.A. Van West-Charles, M.P., Minister, Health, in the Ministry of Public Welfare (Absent)
 - * Non elected Member

Ministers of State (3)

- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Minister of State for Culture, in the Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture
- Cde. R.C. Fredericks, A.A., M.P., Minister of State for Youth and Sport, in the Ministry of National Development
- *Cde. C.E. Wright, M.P., Minister of State for Construction, in the Ministry of Works and Transport (Absent)

Parliamentary Secretaries (3)

- Cde. A.W. Bend-Kirton-Holder, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Women's Affairs and Housing
- Cde. D.A.N. Ainsworth, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Education, Social Development and Culture
- Cde. B. Bhaggan, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Foreign Affairs

Other Members (23)

```
Cde. M. Ally, M.P.
```

- Cde. M. Armogan, M.P.
- Cde. B. Beniprashad, M.P.
- Cde. J.B. Caldeira, M.P.
- Cde. A.A. Chin, M.P.
- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. E.B. Davidson, M.P.
- Cde. H. Doobay, M.P.
- Cde, A.B. Felix, M.P.
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. P. Fredericks, M.P.
- Cde. E.F. Gilbert, M.P.
- Cde. J. Gill-Mingo, M.P.
- Cde. A. McRae, M.P.
- Cde. J.M. Munroe, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. R.N. Primo, M.P.
- Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P.
- Cde. C.G. Sharma, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. H.L.B. Singh, M.P.
- Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. B. Tiwari, M.P.
- Cde. C. Vandenburg, M.P.
- Cde. H.B. Walcott-Nacimento, J.P., M.P., Government Chief Whip

Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)

- Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. B. Latchminarayan, M.P.

Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (10)

- Cde. K.N. Jones, M.P. (Region No. 1 Barima/Waini)
- Cde. K.V. Jairam, M.P. (Region No. 2 Pomeroon/Supenaam)(Absent on leave)
- Cde. C.A. Singh, M.P. (Region No. 3 Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)
- Cde. W. Bipat, M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica)
- Cde. H.I. London, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 5 Mahaica/Berbice)
- Cde. I. Chowritmootoo, M.P. (Region No. 6 East Berbice/Corentyne)
- Cde. N.R. Charles, M.P. (Region No. 7 Cuyuni/Magaruni)
- Cde. D. Abraham, M.P. (Region No. 8 Potaro/Siparuni)
- Cde. A. Dorrick, M.P. (Region No. 9 Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)
- Cde. D. Hinds, M.P. (Region No. 10 Upper Demerara/Berbice)

Members of the Minority (12)

(i) People's Progressive Party (10)

Minority Leader (1)

Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M.P., Minority Leader (Absent)

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly (Absent)

Other Members (8)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Minority Chief Whip (Absent)

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. C.C. Collymore, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P (Absent)

Cde. I. Basir, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P. (Absent)

(ii) United Force (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.P.

Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly, Cde. F.A. Narain, A.A. Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly, Cde. M.B. Henry

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

MOTIONS RELATING TO THE BUSINESS OR SITTINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY AND MOVED BY A MINISTER

Suspension of Standing Order No. 9(2)

On a motion by the **Vice-**President, Parliamentary Affairs and Party/State Relations, Standing Order No. 9 (2) was suspended to enable the Assembly to sit from 14:00 hrs to 17:00 hrs ard from 17:30 hrs to 20:30 hrs.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

APPROVAL OF GOVERNMENT'S POLICY IN PRESIDENT'S ADDRESS

The Assembly resumed the debate on the following motion:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly approves of the Government's policy adumbrated in the President's Address which was made to the Assembly on Friday 1982-01-22. The Minister, Finance, in the Ministry of Economic Planning and Finance, the Parliamentary Secretary, Education Social Development and Culture, Cde, Armogan, the Minister, Office of the President, Cde. Davidson, Cde. Bipat, the Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection and Cde. D. Abraham spoke to the motion.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 17:00 hrs the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 17:30 hrs the sitting was resumed.

Mr. M.F. Singh spoke to the motion.

Thereafter the Prime Minister spoke in reply

The motion was then put and carried.

ADJOURNMENT

At 19:14 hrs, on a motion by the Vice-President, Parliamentary Affairs and Party/State Relations, the Assembly was adjourned to a date to be fixed.

Si NARADI Speaker 1-27.

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 1982-01-27