NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

DF THE 8TH SITTING DF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE THIRD SESSION (1991) - (1992) DF THE FIFTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 P.M.

DN THURSDAY 2ND APRIL, 1992

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (73)

Speaker

*Cde. Sase Narain, D.R., S.C., J.P., M.P. Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (60)

Prime Minister

Cde. H. Green, M.P., Prime Minister

Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs (1)

*Cde. K.S. Massiah, D.R., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs

Deputy Prime Minister (2)

- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister, Public Works, Communications and Regional Development
- Cde. W.S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P., Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Trade, Tourism and Industry (Absent - on leave)

Senior Ministers (6)

- *Cds. C.B. Greenidge, M.P., Minister of Finance
- *Cde. Dr. P.L. McKenzie, A.A., M.P., Minister of Agriculture
- *Cde. D.M.A. Bernard, M.P., Minister of Education and Cultural Development
- *Cde. J.R. Kranenburg, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Public Works, Communications and Regional Development (Absent)
- Cde. C.G. Sharma, A.A., J.P., M.P., Senior Minister in the Office of the President (Absent - on leave)
- *Cde. Rabian Ali-Khan, M.P., Minister of Labour, Human Services and Social Security

```
Ministers (6)
```

- Cde. D. Sawh, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Trade, Tourism and Industry
- *Cde. V.V. Parvatan, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. J.T. Kissoon, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Health Cde. Dr. Faith Harding, M.P., Minister for the Public Service
- Ministry (Absent on leave)
- Cde. Stella Odi-Ali, M.F., Ministor of Home Affairs
- Cde. Jean M.G. Persico, A.A., M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Labour, Human Services and Social Security

Government Chief Whip (1)

Cde. Jennifer A. Ferreira, M.P.

Other Members (32)

Cde. Viola V. Burnham, O.R., M.P. Cde. W.A.L.H. Parris, C.C.H., M.P. (Absent) Cde. R.E. Jackson, O.R., M.P. (Absent - on leave) Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P. Cde. S. Prashad, C.C.H., M.P. Cde. Yvonne V. Harewood-Benn, M.P. Cde. Urmia E.H. Johnson, M.P. Cde. K.W.E. Denny, M.P. (Absent) Cde. K.B. Bancroft, A.A., M.P. Cde. M. Corrica, M.S., M.P. Cde. Philomena A. Rayman, M.P. Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P. Cde. Joyce Gill-Mingo, M.P. Cde. Joyce Munroe, M.P. Cde. H. Doobay, M.S., M.P. Cde. Edwina Melville, M.P. Cde. Amna Ally, M.P. Cde. N. Calistro, M.P. Cde. F.M. Cumberbatch, M.P. Cde. M.I. Deen, M.P. Cde. Cyrilda A. DeJesus, M.P. Cde. Edith Deygoo, M.P. Cde. Clarice A. Edwards, M.P. Cde. C.L. Geddes, M.P. Cde. G. Marshall, M.P. Cde. B. Persaud, J.P., M.P. Cde. K. Sankar, A.A., M.P. (Absent) Cde. E.L. Fraser, M.P. Cde. Mignon D. Griffith, M.P. Cde. P.E. Rockcliffe, M.P.

(There are two vacancies)

Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Orua

Cde. Rose I. Semple, M.P. Cde. P. Singh, J.P., M.P.

*Non-elected Member

Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (10)

	<pre>Cde. Nellie R. Charles, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni) Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica) Cde. C. Vandenburg, M.P.(Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice) Cde. Y. Khan, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam) Cde. Enid E. Abrahams, M.S., J.P., M.P. (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West Demerara) Cde. I. Ally, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne) Cde. S.I. McGarrell, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni) Cde. S.I. McGarrell, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takatu/Upper Essequibo) (Absent) Cde. M. Adjoodhia, J.P., M.P.(Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice) Cde. D. Fernandes, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)</pre>
	Members of the Minority (11)
(i)	People's Progressive Party (8)
	Minority Leader (1)
	Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M.P., Minority Leader (Absent)
	Deputy Speaker (1)
	Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly (Absent)
	Other Members (6)
	Cde. Janet Jagan, M.P. (Absent) Cde. C.C. Collymore, M.P. (Absent) Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P., Minority Chief Whip(Absent - on leave) Cde. H. Nokta, M.P. (Absent) Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P. (Absent) Cde. Dr. Roger Luncheon, M.P. (Absent)
(ii)	United Force (2)
	Mr. M.F. Singh, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Absent) Mr. M.A. Abrahams, A.A., M.P.
(ii i)	Working People's Alliance (1)

Dr. R. Roopnarine, M.P. (Absent)

•

OFFICERS

Cde. M.B. Henry, Clerk of the National Assembly (Ag.) Cde. S. Isaacs, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly. The Acting Clerk read prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

(i) Appointment of a Deputy Clerk

and the second second

The Speaker informed Members that the President, in accordance with article 57(1) of the Constitution, appointed Cde. Sherlock Isaacs, a public officer as Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly with effect from 1st April, 1992. On behalf of Members and his own, he extended warm welcome and best wishes to Cde. Isaacs.

He took the opportunity to thank Cde. Edgar Kendall, who had acted as Deputy Clerk, very much for the period he had been assigned to the Assembly. He observed that Cde. Kenall came at a crucial period and he immediately became involved in the peculiar intricacies of parliamentary administration as distinct from public administration. His wealth of knowledge was very valuable to Parliament Office.

(ii) <u>Sympathy to Cde. Shirley McKay, Cleaner</u>

The Speaker informed members of the death of the sister of Cde. Shirley McKay and on behalf of Members and his own, he expressed sympathy to her.

(iii) Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to -

- (a) Cde. Kranenburg for that day's sitting,
- (b) Cde. Dr. Harding from 30th March to 6th April, 1992, and
- (c) Cde. M.A. Abrahams from 3rd to 24th April, 1992.

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS

Presentation and First Reading

(1) ELECTION LAWS (AMENDMENT) BILL 1992 - Bill No. 1D/1992

The Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, on behalf of the Government, presented the following Bill which was read the first time:-

> A BILL intituled AN ACT to alter the Constitution in accordance with articles 66 and 164 thereof and to amend the laws relating to elections of members of the National Assembly and members of the regional democratic councils and for matters connected therewith.

(2) (GUYANA NATIONAL SERVICE (PENSIONS & GRATUITIES) BILL 1992 Bill No. 11/1992

The Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, on behalf of the Government, presented the following Bill which was read the first time:

> A BILL intituled AN ACT to provide for the granting of pensions and gratuities to officers and other ranks of the Guyana National Service.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

ITEM 1 - MOTION FOR THE APPROVAL OF ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1992

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1992.

The Minister of Agriculture and the Deputy Prime Minister, Public Works, Communications and Regional Development, spoke to the motion. Cde. A. Ally was speaking to the motion when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.00 p.m. the sitting was suspended for rafreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.30 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

Cde. A. Ally continued and concluded her speech.

The Minister of Home Affairs spoke to the motion.

ADJOURNMENT

At 5.03 p.m., on a motion by the Minister in the Ministry of Health, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Friday, 3rd April, 1992.

hanaun S NARAIN 2-04-03

PARLIAMENT DFFICE PUBLIC BUILDINGS GEORGETOWN

1992-04-02