#### NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

#### MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

# OF THE 27TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (1986-1987) OF THE FIFTH PARLIAMENT OF CUYANA HELD

#### AT 2.00 P.M.

### ON TUESDAY, 20th JANUARY, 1987

### IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

# MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (74)

### Speaker (1)

\*Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., S.C., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (62)

# Ministers in the Cabinet (10)

### Prime Minister (1)

Cde. H. Green, M.P., Prime Minister

# Other Vice-President and Pirst Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. Dr. M. Shahabuddeen, O.R., S.C., M.P., Vice-President, First Deputy Prime Minister and Attorney General

# Other Vice-Presidents and Deputy Prime Ministers (2)

- Cde. R. Chandisingh, M.P., Vice-President, National Mobilisation, and Deputy Prime Minister
- Cde. Viola V. Bunrham, O.R., M.P., Vice-President, Education and Social Development, and Deputy Prime Minister

# Other Deputy Prime Ministers (2),

- Cde. W.A.L.H. Parris, C.C.H., M.P., Deputy Prime Minister, Planning and Development
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister, Public Utilities (Absent)

# Senior Ministers (4)

- Cde: R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs (Absent on leave)
- \*Cde. C.B. Greenidge, M.P., Minister of Finance
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Minister of Labour
- Cde. W.S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Trade and Tourism

# Other Ministers (15)

#### Senior Ministers (7)

- Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of Regional Development
- Cde. Dr. R.A. Van West-Charles, M.P., Minister of Medical Education, Environment and Food Policy (Absent)
- Cde. Yvonne V. Harewood-Benn, M.P., Minister of Information and the Public Service
- \*Cde. Dr. P.L. McKenzie, A.A., M.P., Senior Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture
- \*Cde. D.M.A. Bernard, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Education
- \*Cde. J.R. Kranenburg, M.P., Minister of Communications and Works
- \*Cde. Dr. N.E. Blackman, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Health
- \*Non-elected Member

### Ministers (5)

- Cde. Urmia E.H. Johnson, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of National Mobilisation (Absent on leave)
- Cde. C.G. Sharma, A.A., J.P., M.P., Minister in the Office of the President (Absent - on leave)
- Cde. D. Sawh, M.P., Minister of Forestry
- \*Cde. V.V. Parvatan, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. J.T. Kissoon, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Medical Education, Environment and Food Policy

# Ministers of State (3)

- \*Cfa. D.A.N. Ainsworth, M.P., Minister of State in the Office of the Prime Minister
  - Cde. Dr. Faith A. Harding, M.P., Minister of State in the Ministry of Planning and Development
  - Cde. Stella Odie-Ali, M.P., Minister of State in the Ministry of Home Affairs

# Parliamentary Secretary (1)

\*Cde. Jean M.G. Persico, A.A., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Education

### Government Chief Whip (1)

Cde. Jennifer A. Ferreira, M.P., Government Chief Whip

# Other Members (23)

- Cde. Agnes W. Bend-Kirton, M.P.
- Cde. A.K. Habibulla, M.P.
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. Joyce Gill-Mingo, M.P.
- Cde. M. Ally, M.P.
- Cde. Elaine B. Davidson, M.P.
- Cde. H. Doobay, M.P.
- Cde. Joyce M. Munroe, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. Edwina Melville, M.P.
- Cde. Amna Ally, M.P.
- Cde. L.R. Arthur, M.P.
- Cde. J.R.L. Bovell-Drakes, M.P.
- Cde. N. Calistro, M.P.
- Cde. F.M. Cumberbatch, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Cde. M.I. Deen, M.P.
- Cde. Cyrilda A. DeJesus, M.P.
- Cde. Edith Deygoo, M.P.
- Cde. Clarice A. Edwards, M.P.
- Cde. C.L. Geddes, M.P.
- Cde. G. Marshall, M.P.
- Cde. B. Persaud, M.P.
- Cde. E.W. Trotman, M.P.
- Cde. K. Sankar, M.S., M.P.

<sup>\*</sup>Non-elected Member

# Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)

Cde. E. Mohamed, M.P.

Cde. Rose I. Semple, M.P.

### Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (10)

Cde. Nellie R. Charles, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

Cde. Bhagmatee Latchminarayan, M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)

Cde. Y. Khan, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam)

Cde. Enid E. Abrahams, M.S., J.P., M.P. (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

Cde. I. Ally, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)

Cde. B.L. Domingo, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)

Cde. S.I. McGarrell, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni)

Cde. M. Stephens, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)

Cde. Joycelyn Thom-Lindie, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice) (Absent)

# Members of the Minority (11)

## (i) People's Progressive Party (8)

# Minority Leader (1)

Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M.P., Minority Leader

# Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

# Other Members (6)

Cde. Janet Jagan, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Collymore, M.P.

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P., Minority Chief Whip

Cde. H. Nokta, M.P.

Cde. I. Basir, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P.

# (ii) United Force (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Absent - om leave) Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

# (iii) Working People's Alliance (1)

Mr. E. Kwayana, M.P.

#### OFFICERS

Cde. F.A. Narain, A.A., Clerk of the National Assembly Cde. I. Hartman, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

#### PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

### ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Cdes. Jackson, Johnson and Sharma for that sitting.

#### STATEMENT BY MINISTER

The Minister of Finance advised that since some papers relating to the 1987 Budget were not available on time to permit the debate, he requested that the debate be adjourned to Monday. 26th January, 1987.

#### SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 2.30 p.m. the sitting was suspended to enable the Minister of Finance to arrange for the missing pages of the 1987 Estimates to be made available to Members.

#### RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 2.53 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

#### ADJOURNMENT

At 2.55 p.m. on a motion by the Minister of Regional Development, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Monday, 26th January, 1987.

S. NARAIN , 6
Speaker . . C . . 6

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings. Georgetown.

1987-01-26