NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 28TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (1986-1987) OF THE FIFTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON MONDAY, 26TH JANUARY, 1987

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (74)

Speaker (1)

*Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., S.C., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (62)

Ministers in the Cabinet (10)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. H. Green, M.P., Prime Minister

Other Vice-President and First Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. Dr. M. Shahabuddeen, O.R., S.C., M.P., Vice-President, First Deputy Prime Minister and Attorney General

Other Vice-Presidents and Deputy Prime Minister (2)

- Cde. R. Chandisingh, M.P., Vice-President, National Mobilisation, and Deputy Prime Minister
- Cde. Viola V. Burnham, O.R., M.P., Vice-President, Education and Social Development, and Deputy Prime Minister

Other Deputy Prime Ministers (2)

Cde. W.A.L.H. Parris, C.C.H., M.P., Deputy Prime Minister, Planning and Development

Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister, Public Utilities

Senior Ministers (4)

Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs

*Cde. C.B. Greenidge, M.P., Minister of Finance (Absent)

Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Minister of Labour

Cde. W.S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Trade and Tourism

Other Ministers (15)

Senior Ministers (7)

- Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of Regional Development
- Cde. Dr. R.A. Van West-Charles, M.P., Minister of Medical Education, Environment and Food Policy
- Cde. Yvonne V. Harewood-Benn, M.P., Minister of Information and the Public Service
- *Cde. Dr. P.L. McKenzie, A.A., M.P., Senior Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture
- *Cde. D.M.A. Bernard, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Education
- *Cde. J.R. Kranenburg, M.P., Minister of Communications and Works
- *Cde. Dr. N.E. Blackman, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Health
- *Non-elected Member

Ministers (5)

- Cde. Urmia E.H. Johnson, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of National Mobilisation
- Cde. C.G. Sharma, A.A., J.P., M.P., Minister in the Office of the President
- Cde. D. Sawh, M.P., Minister of Forestry
- *Cde. V.V. Parvatan, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. J.T. Kissoon, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Medical Education, Environment and Food Policy

Ministers of State (3)

- *Cde. D.A.N. Ainsworth, M.P., Minister of State in the Office of the Prime Minister
- Cde. Dr. Faith A. Harding, M.P., Minister of State in the Ministry of Planning and Development
- Cde. Stella Odie-Ali, M.P., Minister of State in the Ministry of Home Affairs

Parliamentary Secretary (1)

*Cde. Jean M.G. Persico, A.A., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Education

Government Chief Whip (1)

Cde. Jennifer A. Ferreira, M.P., Govarnment Chief Whip

Other Members (23)

- Cde. Agnes W. Bend-Kirton, M.P.
- Cde. A.K. Habibulla, M.P.
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. Joyce Gill-Mingo, M.P.
- Cde. M. Ally, M.P.
- Cde. Elaine B. Davidson, M.P.
- Cde. H. Doobay, M.P.
- Cde. Joyce M. Munroe, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. Edwina Melville, M.P.
- Cde. Amna Ally, M.P.
- Cde. L.R. Arthur, M.P.
- Cde. J.R.L. Bovell-Drakes, M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. N. Calistro, M.P.
- Cde. F.M. Cumberbatch, M.P.
- Cde. M.I. Deen, M.P.
- Cde. Cyrilda A. DeJesus, M.P.
- Cde. Edith Deygoo, M.P.
- Cde. Clarice A. Edwards, M.P.
- Cde. C.L. Geddes, M.P.
- Cde. G. Marshall, M.P.
- Cde. B. Persaud, M.P.
- Cde. E.W. Trotman, M.P.
- Cde. K. Sankar, M.S., M.P.

^{*}Non-elected Member

Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)

Cde. E. Mohamed, M.P.

Cde. Rose I. Semple

Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (10)

Cde. Nellie R. Charles, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

Cde. Bhagmatee Latchminarayan, M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)

Cde. Y. Khan, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam)

Cde. Enid E. Abrahams, M.S., J.P., M.P. (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

Cde. I. Ally, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)

Cde. B.L. Domingo, M.P. (Region Ne. 1 - Barima/Waini)

Cde. S.I. McGarrell, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Petare/Siparuni)

Cde. M. Stephens, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)

Cde. Joycelyn Thom-Lindie, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice

Members of the Minority (11)

(i) People's Progressive Party (8)

Minority Leader (1)

Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M.P., Minority Leader

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. R.D. Persaud, J.P., M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Other Members (6)

Cde. Janet Jagan, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Collymore, M.P.

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P., Minority Chief Whip

Cde. H. Nokta, M.P.

Cde. I. Basir, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P.

(ii) United Force (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Absent - en leave)
Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

(iii) Working People's Alliance (1)

Mr. E. Kwayana, M.P.

<u>OFFICERS</u>

Cde. F.A. Narain, A.A., Clerk of the National Assembly Cde. I. Hartman, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

(i) Sympathy to Clerk on Death of Brother,

On behalf of Members of the Assembly and himself the Speaker extended sympathy to the Clerk of the National Assembly on the death of his brother. Cde. Lionel Edwin Narain.

(ii) Hours of Sitting

The Speaker announced that the hours of sitting for consideration of the 1987 Budget would be from 2.00 p.m. to 5.00 p.m. and from 5.30 p.m. to 8.30 p.m.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC.

By the <u>Minister of Regional Development</u>, on behalf of the <u>Minister of Finance</u>:

Report of the Auditor General on the Public Accounts of the Government of Guyana for the years ended 31st December, 1978, 31st December, 1979, and 31st December, 1980.

(Circulated)

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTIONS

BUDGET FOR 1987

The Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the Financial year 1987.

The Minority Leader, the Deputy Prime Minister, Planning and Development, Cdes. A. Ally, Collymore and Geddes, and the Minister of Trade and Tourism spoke to the motion.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 5.00 p.m. the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 5.30 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 5.31 p.m. the sitting was suspended by the Speaker because of noise outside of the Public Buildings.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 5.34 p.m. the sitting resumed.

Cdes. Deen and Nokta, the Minister in the Ministry of Health, Mr. Abraham, Cdes. Habibulla and Mohamed, and the Minister of Forestry spoke to the motion.

ADJOURNMENT

At 8.11 p.m. on a motion by the Minister of Regional Development, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Tuesday, 27th January, 1987.

S. NARAIN (7.C)

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 1987-01-27