NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 29TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (1986-1987) OF THE FIFTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON TUESDAY, 27TH JANUARY, 1987

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (74)

Speaker (1)

*Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., S.C., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (62)

Ministers in the Cabinet (10)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. H. Green, M.P., Prime Minister

Other Vice-President and First Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. Dr. M. Shahabuddeen, O.R., S.C., M.P., Vice-President, First Deputy Prime Minister and Attorney General (Absent)

Other Vice-Presidents and Deputy Prime Ministers (2)

Cde. R. Chandisingh, M.P., Vice-President, National Mobilisation, and Deputy Prime Minister

Cde. Viola V. Burnham, O.R., M.P., Vice-President, Education and Social Development, and Deputy Prime Minister

Other Deputy Prime Ministers (2)

Cde. W.A.L.H. Parris, C.C.H., M.P., Deputy Prime Minister, Planning and Development

Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister, Public Utilities

Senior Ministers (4)

Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs

*Cde. C.B. Greenidge, M.P., Minister of Finance (Absent)

Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Minister of Labour

Cde. W.S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Trade and Tourism

Other Ministers (15)

Senior Ministers (7)

- Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of Regional Development
- Cde. Dr. R.A. Van West-Charles, M.P., Minister of Medical Education, Environment and Food Policy
- Cde. Yvonne V. Harewood-Benn, M.P., Minister of Information and the Public Service
- *Cde. Dr. P.L. McKenzie, A.A., M.P., Senior Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture
- *Cde. D.M.A. Bernard, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Education
- *Cde. J.R. Kranenburg, M.P., Minister of Communications and Works
- *Cde. Dr. N.E. Blackman, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Health
- *Non-elected Member

Ministers (5)

- Cde. Urmia E.H. Johnson, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of National Mobilisation
- Cde. C.G. Sharma, A.A., J.P., M.P., Minister in the Office of the President
- Cde. D. Sawh, M.P., Minister of Forestry
- *Cde. V.V. Parvatan, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. J.T. Kissoon, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Medical Education, Environment and Food Policy

Ministers of State (3)

- *Cde. D.A.N. Ainsworth, M.P., Minister of State in the Office of the Prime Minister
- Cde. Dr. Faith A. Harding, M.P., Minister of State in the Ministry of Planning and Development
- Cde. Stella Odie-Ali, M.P., Minister of State in the Ministry of Home Affairs

Parliamentary Secretary (1)

*Cde. Jean M.G. Persico, A.A., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Education

Government Chief Whip (1)

Cde. Jennifer A. Ferreira, M.P., Government Chief Whip

Other Members (23)

- Cde. Agnes W. Bend-Kirton, M.P.
- Cde. A.K. Habibulla, M.P.
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. Joyce Gill-Mingo, M.P.
- Cde. M. Ally, M.P.
- Cde. Elaine B. Davidson, M.P.
- Cde. H. Doobay, M.P.
- Cde. Joyce M. Munroe, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. Edwina Melville, M.P.
- Cde. L.R. Arthur, M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. J.R.L. Bovell-Drakes, M.P.
- Cde. N. Calistro, M.P.
- Cde. F.M. Cumberbatch, M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. M.I. Deen, M.P.
- Cde. Cyrilda A. DeJesus, M.P.
- Cde. Edith Deygoo, M.P.
- Cde. Clarice A. Edwards, M.P.
- Cde. C.L. Geddes, M.P.
- Cde. G. Marshall, M.P.
- Cde. B. Persaud. M.P.
- Cde. E.W. Trotman, M.P.
- Cde. K. Sankar, M.S., M.P.

*Non-elected Member

Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)

Cde. E. Mohamed, M.P.

Cde. Rose I. Semple, M.P.

Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (10)

Cde. Nellie R. Charles, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni) Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

Cde. Bhagmatee Latchminarayan, M.P. (Regiom No. 5 - Mahaica/ Berbice)

Cde. Y. Khan, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomereom/Supenaem)

Cde. Enid E. Abrahams, M.S., J.P., M.P. (Region No. 3 -Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

Cde. I. Ally. M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)

Cde. B.L. Domingo, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)

Cde. S.I. McGarrell, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni)

Cde. M. Stephens, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)

Cde. Joycelyn Thom-Lindie, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)

Members of the Minority (11)

(i) People's Progressive Party (8)

Minoritw Leader (1)

Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M.P., Minority Leader

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Reepm Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Other Members (6)

Cde. Janet Jagan, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Collymore, M.P.

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P., Minority Chief Whip-

Cde. H. Nokta. M.P.

Cde. I. Basir, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P.

United Force (2) (ii)

Mr. M.F. Singh, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Absent - on leave) Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

(iii) Working People's Alliance (1)

Mr. E. Kwayana, M.P.

OFFICERS

Cde. F.A. Narain, A.A., Clerk of the National Assembly Cde. I. Hartman, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly



The Clerk read Prayers.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

Congratulations to the Speaker

Before Public Business was proceeded with, the Prime Minister on behalf of the Members of the Assembly extended congratulations and best wishes to the Speaker on the anniversary of his birthday.

MOTION.

BUDGET FOR 1987

The Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1987.

The Vice-President, National Mobilisation and Deputy Prime Minister, Cdes. Domingo, J. Jagan and Munroe, the Vice-President, Education and Social Development and Deputy Prime Minister, and Cde. Basir spoke to the motion.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 5.00 p.m. the sitting was suspended for refreshments

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 5.30 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

The Minister of State in the Ministry of Home Affairs, Mr. Kwayana, the Senior Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture, the Parliamentary Secretary, Education and Cde. Belgrave spoke to the motion.

CONSIDERATION OF REPORT OF BUSINESS SUB-COMMITTEE OF COMMITTE OF SUPPLY

The Assembly resolved itself into Committe of Supply to receive and consider the Report of the Business Sub-Committe concerning the allocation of time for the consideration of the 1987 Estimates of Expenditure by the Committee of Supply.

In Committee of Supply

Following a report by the Chairman of the Business Sub-Committee and a motion by the Deputy Prime Minister, Planning and Development, the Committee of Supply agreed with the Resolution of the Business Sub-Committee.

Assembly resumed

ADJOURNMENT

At 8.15 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Regional Development, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Wednesday, 28th January, 1987.

S NAPAGON S Specker 01

PARLIAMENT OFFICE 1987-01-28