#### NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

#### MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

# OF THE 37TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (1986-1987) OF THE FIFTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

#### AT 2.00 P.M.

#### ON THURSDAY, 7TH MAY, 1987

#### IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

## MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (73)

### Speaker (1)

\*Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., S.C., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

#### Members of the Government - People's National Congress (61),

### Ministers in the Cabinet (10)

## Prime Minister (1)

Cde. H. Green, M.P., Prime Minister

#### Other Vice-President and First Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. Dr. M. Shahabuddeen, O.R., S.C., M.P., Vice-President, First Deputy Prime Minister and Attorney General

#### Other Vice-Presidents and Deputy Prime Ministers (2)

- Cde. R. Chandisingh, M.P., Vice-President, National Mobilisation, First Deputy Prime Minister
- Cde. Viola V. Burnham, O.R., M.P., Vice-President, Education and Social Development, and Deputy Prime Minister

#### Other Deputy Prime Ministers (2)

- Cde. W.A.L.H. Parris, C.C.H., M.P., Deputy Prime Minister, Planning and Development
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister, Public Utilities (Absent)

#### Senior Ministers (4)

- Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs (Absent)
- \*Cde. C.B. Greenidge, M.P., Minister of Finance
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Minister of Labour
- Cde. W.S. Murray, C.C.H., Minister of Trade and Tourism

#### Other Ministers (14)

#### Senior Ministers (7)

- Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of Regional Development
- Cde. Dr. R.A. Van West-Charles, M.P., Minister of Medical Education, Environment and Food Policy (Absent on leave)
- Cde. Yvonne V. Harewood-Benn, M.P., Minister of Information and the Public Service
- \*Cde. Dr. P.L. McKenzie, A.A., M.P., Serior Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture (Absent on leave)
- \*Cde. D.M.A. Bernard, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Education
- \*Cde. J.R. Kranenburg, M.P., Minister of Communications and Works
- \*Cde. Dr. N.E. Blackman, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Health (Absent - on leave)

<sup>\*</sup>Non-elected Member

#### Ministers (5)

- Cde. Urmia E.H. Johnsom, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of National Mobilisation
- Cde. C.G. Sharma, A.A., J.P., M.P., Minister in the Office of the President (Absent en leave)
- Cde. D. Sawh, M.P., Minister of Forestry (Absent on leave)
- \*Cde. V.V. Parvatan, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. J.T. Kissoon, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Medical Education, Environment and Food Policy (Absent on leave)

## Ministers of State (2)

- Cde. Dr. Faith A. Harding, M.P., Minister of State in the Ministry of Planning and Development
- Cde. Stella Odie-Ali, M.P., Minister of State in the Ministry of Home Affairs

#### Parliamentary Secretary (1)

\*Cde. Jean M.G. Persico, A.A., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Education

#### Government Chief Whip (1)

Cde. Jennifer A. Ferreira, M.P., Government Chief Whip

#### Other Members (23)

- Cde. Agnes W. Bend-Kirton, M.P.
- Cde. A.K. Habibulla, M.P.
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. Joyce Gill-Mingo, M.P.
- Cde. M. Ally, M.P.
- Cde. Elaine B. Davidson, M.P.
- Cde. H. Doobay, M.P.
- Cde. Joyce M. Munroe, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. Edwina Melville, M.P.
- Cde. Amna Ally, M.P.
- Cde. L.R. Arthur, M.P.
- Cde. J.R.L. Bovell-Drakes, M.P.
- Cde. M. Calistro, M.P.
- Cde. F.M. Cumbérbatch, M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. M.I. Deen, M.P. (absent on leave).
- Cde. Cyrilda A. DeJesus, M.P.
- Cde. Edith Deygoo, M.P.
- Cde. Clarice A. Edwards, M.P.
- Cde. C.L. Geddes, M.F.
- Cde. G. Marshall, M.P.
- Cde. B. Persaud, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. E.W. Trotman, M.P.
- Cde. K. Sankar, M.S., M.P. (Absent on leave)

<sup>\*</sup>Non-elected Menber

## Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)

Cde. Rose I. Semple, M.P. (1 Vacancy)

#### Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (10)

Cde. Nellie R. Charles, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/ Mahaica) (Absent - on leave)

Cde. Bhagmatee Latchminarayan, M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)

Cde. Y. Khan, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam)

Cde. Enid E. Abrahams, M.S., J.P., M.P. (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

Cde. I. Ally, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)

Cde. B.L. Domingo, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)

Cde. S.I. McGarrell, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/ Siparuni) (Absent - on leave)

Cde. M. Stephens, M.F. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/ Upper Essequibo) (Absent)

Cde. Joycelyn Thom-Lindie, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice) (Absent)

#### Members of the Minority (11)

#### (i) People's Progressive Party (8)

#### Minority Leader (1)

Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M.P., Minority Leader

#### Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly (Absent)

### Other Members (6)

Cde. Janet Jagan, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Cde. C.C. Collymore, M.P.

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P., Minority Chief Whip (Absent)

Cde. H. Nokta, M.P.

Cde. I. Basir, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P. (Absent)

#### (ii) United Force (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, C.C.H., J.F., M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.F. (Absent)

#### (iii) Working Peopla's Alliance (1)

Mr. E. Kwayana, M.P.

#### OFFICERS

Cde. F.A. Narain, A.A., Clerk of the National Assembly Cde. I. Hartman, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

#### PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

#### ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave.

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Cde. Van West-Charles, Cde. Sawh, Cde. Kissoon, and Mr. M.F. Singh for that sitting.

#### PUBLIC BUSINESS -

BILLS - Second Reading

## ITEM 1 - GUYANA GOLD BOARD (AMENDMENT) BILL 1986 - Bill No. 16/1986 published 1987-01-10

The Prime Minister moved the second reading of the following Bill:

A Bill intituled An Act to amend the Guyana Gold Board Act 1981.

The Bill was read a second time and was thereafter taken through its remaining stages and <u>passed</u> as <u>printed</u>.

## ITEM 2 - GUYANA GEOLOGY AND MINES COMMISSION (AMENDMENT) BILL 1986, Bill No. 17/1986 published 1987-01-10

The Prime Minister moved the second reading of the following Bill:

A Bill intituled An Act to amend the Guyana Geology and Mines Commission Act 1979.

The Bill was read a second time and was thereafter taken through its remaining stages and <u>passed</u> as <u>printed</u>.

# ITEM 3 - EXPORT AND IMPORT (SPECIAL PROVISIONS) (AMENDMENT) BILL 1986 Bill No. 18/1986 published 1987-01-10

The Minister of Finance moved the second reading of the following Bill:

A Bill intituled An Act to amend the Export and Import (Special Provisions) Act 1986.

The Bill was read a second time and was thereafter taken through its remaining stages and <u>passed</u> as <u>printed</u>.

# FISCAL ENACTMENTS (AMENDMENT) BILL 1987 - Bill No. 1/1987. published 1987-01-30

The Minister of Finance moved the second reading of the following Bill:

A Bill intituled An Act to amend the Evidence Act, the Tax Act, the Income Tax Act, the Capital Gains Tax Act and the Property Tax Act, and to repeal the National Development Surtax Act.

The Minority Leader and Mr. Kwayana spoke to the motion.

Thereafter the Minister of Finance replied.

The motion was put and carried.

The Bill was read a second time and was thereafter taken through its remaining stages and passed as printed.

#### ADJOURNMENT

At 3.27 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Regional Development, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Wednesday, 13th May, 1987.

S. NARAIN

Speaker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown.

1987-05-12