NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 42ND SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE SECOND

SESSION (1990/1991) OF THE FIFTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON TUESDAY, 26TH FEBRUARY, 1991

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (72)

Speaker (1)

Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., S.C., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (60)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. H. Green, M.P., Prime Minister (Absent)

Other Vice-President and Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. Viola V. Burnham, O.R., M.P., Vice-President, Culture and Social Development and Deputy Prime Minister

Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs (1)

Cde. K.S. Massiah, U.R., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs

Other Deputy Prime Minister (2)

Cde. W.A.L.H. Parris, C.C.H., M.P., Deputy Prime Minister Planning and Development (Absent - on leave) Gde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister, Public Utilities

Senior Ministers (8)

- Cde. C.B. Greenidge, M.P., Minister of Finance
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Senior Minister in the Ministry of Planning and Development
- Cde. W.S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Trade and Tourism (Absent on leave)
- Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of Regional Development
 - Cde. Yvonne V. Harewood-Bean, M.P., Senior Minister in the Office of the President
- Cde. Dr. P.L. McKenzie, A.A., M.P., Minister of Agriculture
- Cde. D.M.A. Bernard, M.P., Minister of Education
- Cde. J.R. Kranenburg, M.P., Minister of Communications and Works

Ministers (8)

- Cde. Urmia E.H. Johnson, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Regional Development
- + Cde. C.G. Sharma, A.A., J.P., M.P., Minister of Labour and Co-operatives (Absent)
 - Cde. D. Sawh, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Public Utilities
- Cde. V.V. Parvatan, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture Cde. J.T. Kissoon, M.P., Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister
 - Cde. Dr. Faith A. Harding, M.P., Minister of the Public Service
 - Cde. Stella Udie-Ali, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs
 - Cde. Jean M.G. Persico, A.A., M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Culture and Social Development
 - + Cabinet Member
 - * Non-elected Member

Government Chief Whip (1)

Cde. Jennifer A. Ferreira

Other Members (26)

```
Cde. R.E. Jackson, C.R., M.P., (Absent - on leave)
```

Cde. K.B. Bancroft, M.P.

Cde. K.W.E. Denny, M.P., (Absent - on leave)

Cde. M. Corrica, M.P.

Cde. Philomena A. Rayman, M.P.

Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.

Cde. Joyce Gill-Mingo, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Cde. H. Doobay, M.P.

Cde. Joyce M. Munroe, J.F., M.P.

Cde. Edwina Melville, M.F.

Cde. Amna Ally, M.P.

Cde. N. Calistro, M.P.

Cde. F.M. Cumberbacch, M.P.

Cde. M.I. Deen, M.P.

Cde. Cyrilda A. DeJesus, M.P.

Cde. Edith Deygoo, M.P.

Cde. Clarice A. Edwards, M.P.

Cde. C.L. Geddes, M.P., (Absent - on leave) Cde. G. Marshall, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. B. Persaud, J.P., M.P.

Cde. K. Sankar, A.A., M.P.,

Cde. E.L. Fraser, M.P.

Cde. Mignon D. Griffith, M.P.

Cde. P.E. Rockliffe, M.P.

(There are two vacancies)

Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)

Cde. Rose I. Semple, M.P.

Cde. P. Singh, J.P., M.P.

Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (10)

```
Cde. Nellie R. Charles, M.P., (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)
```

Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P., (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

Cde. C. Vandenburg, M.P., (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)

Cde. Y. Khan, M.P., (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supernaam)

Cde. E. Abrahams, M.S., J.Z., M.P., (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Island/West Demerara)

Cde. I. Ally, M.P., (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)

Cde. S.I. McGarrell, M.P., (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni)

Cde. M. Stephens, M.P., (kegion No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo) (Absent)

Cde. Ajoodhia, J.P., M.P., (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)

Cde. D. Fernandes, M.P., (Legion No. 1 - Barima/Waini)

Members of the Minority (10)

(i) People's Progressive Party (8)

Minority Leader (1)

Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M.P., Minority Leader (Absent)

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly (Absent)

Other Members

(iii)

Cde. Janet Jagan, M.P., (Absent)

Cde. C.C. Collymore, M.P., (Absent)

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P., Minority Chief Whip (Absent)

Cde. H. Nokta, M.P., (Absent)

Cde. I. Basir, M.P., (Absent)

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P., (Absent)

(ii) United Force (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, C.C.H., J.P., M.P., (Absent) Mr. M.A. Abraham, A.A., M.P., (Absent)

(Vacant)

Working People's Alliance (1)

OFFICER

Cde. M.B. Henry, Acting Clerk of the National Assembly

PRAYERS

The Acting Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

(i) Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Cdes. Murray, Gill-Mingo, and Geddes from that day's sitting.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC.

By the Minister of Finance:

(i) Constitutional Offices (Remuneration of Holders) Order 1991 (No. 12), made under section 5 of the Constitutional Offices (Remuneration of Holders) Act, Chapter 27:11, on 20th February, 1991.

(Circulated) (8/0^{IV})

(ii) Ministers, Members of the National Assembly and Special Offices (Emoluments) Order 1991 (No. 13), made under section 8 of the Ministers Members of the National Assembly and Special Offices (Emoluments) Act, Chapter 1:07 on 20th February, 1991.

(Circulated) (5/0^{IV})

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

MOTION FOR THE APPROVAL OF ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1991

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1991.

The Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister, Cde. Charles, the Minister of Agriculture, Cde. Khan, the Minister of Communications and Works and Cde. Edwards spoke to the motion.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.00 p.m. the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.20 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

The Vice-President, Culture and Social Development and Deputy Prime Minister concluded the debate.

CONSIDERATION OF REPORT OF BUSINESS SUB-COMMITTEE OF COMMITTEE OF SUPPLY

Assembly resolved itself into Committee of Supply to receive and consider the Report of the Business Sub-Committee concerning the allocation of time for consideration of the 1991 Estimates of Expenditure by the Committee of Supply.

IN COMMITTEE OF SUPPLY

Following a report by the Chairman of the Business Sub-Committee and a motion by the Minister of Finance, the Committee of Supply agreed with the Resolution of the Business Sub-Committee.

ASSEMBLY RESUMED

ADJOURNMENT

At 4.58 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Regional Development, the Assembly was adjourned to $2.00~\rm p.m.$ on Wednesday, 27th February, 1991.

S. NARAIN-

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN.

1991-02-26.