NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 46TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE SECOND

SESSION (1990/2991) OF THE FIFTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON TUESDAY, 5TE MARCH, 1991

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBLRS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (72)

Speaker (1)

Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., S.C., J.P., 1.P., Speaker of the National Assembly *

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (60)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. H. Green, M.P., Prime Minister +

Other Vice-President and Deputy Prime Minister (1)

- Cde. Viola V. Burnham, O.R., M.P., Vice-President, Culture and Social + Development and Deputy Prime Minister (Absent)
- Attorney General and Himister of Legal Affairs (1) +*
- +* Cde. K.S. Massiah, O.R., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs (Absent - on leave)

Other Deputy Prime Minister (2)

Cde. W.A.L.H. Parris, C.C.H., M.P., Deputy Prime Minister + Planning and Development (Absent) Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister, Public Utilities (Absent)

Senior Ministers (8)

- +* Cde. C.B. Greenidge, M.P., Minister of Finance
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Senior Minister in the Ministry of Planning + and Development (Absent)
- Cde. W.S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Trade and Tourism
- + Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of Regional Development Cde. Yvonne V. Harewood-Benn, M.P., Senior Minister in the Office of the President (Absent) Cde. Dr. P.L. McKenzie, A.A., M.P., Minister of Agriculture
- *
- Cde. D.M.A. Bernard, M.P., Minister of Education (Absent)
- Cde. J.R. Kranenburg, M.P., Minister of Communications and Works

Ministers (8)

Cde. Urmia E.H. Johnson, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Regional Development (Absent - on leave)

- Cde. C.G. Sharma, A.A., J.P., M.P., Minister of Labour and Co-operatives Cde. D. Sawh, M.P. Minister in the Ministry of Public Utilities +
 - - Cde. V.V. Parvatan, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture Cde. J.T. Kissoon, M.P., Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister (Absent)
 - Cde. Dr. Faith A. Harding, M.P., Minister of the Public Service
 - Cde. Stella Odie-Ali, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs
 - Cde. Jean M.G. Persico, A.A., M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Culture and Social Development
 - + Cabinet Member
 - and and it if a com

Government Chief Whip (1)

Cde. Jennifer A. Ferreira

Other Members (26)

Cde. R.E. Jackson, O.R., M.P., (Absent) Cde. K.W.E. Denny, M.P. Cde. K.B. Bancroft, M.P. Cde. M. Corrica, M.P. Cde. Philomena A. Rayman, M.P. (Absent) Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P. Cde. Joyce Gill-Mingo, M.P. Cde. H. Doobay, M.P. Cde. Joyce M. Munroe, J.P., M.P., Cde. Edwina Melville, M.P. Cde. Amna Ally, (Absent - on leave) Cde. N. Calistro, M.P. (Absent) Cde. F.M. Cumberbatch, M.P. (Absent) Cde. M.I. Deen, M.P. Cde. Cyrilda A. DeJesus, M.P. Cde. Edith Deygoo, M.P. Cde. Clarice A. Edwards, M.P. Cde. C.L. Geddes, M.P. (Absent - on leave) Cde. G. Marshall, M.P. (Absent) Cde. B. Persaud, J.P., M.P. Cde. K. Sankar, A.A., M.P., (Absent) Cde. E.L. Fraser, M.P. Cde. Mignon D. Griffith, M.P. Cde. P.E. Rockliffe, M.P.

(There are two vacancies)

Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)

Cde. Rose I. Semple, M.P. Cde. P. Singh, J.P., M.P.

Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (10)

Cde. Nellie R. Charles, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)
Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P., (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica) (Absent)
Cde. C. Vandenburg, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)
Cde. Y. Khan, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supernaam)
Cde. E. Abrahams, M.S., J.P., M.P. (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Island/West Demerara)
Cde. I. Ally, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)
Cde. S.I. McGarrell, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni) (Absent)
Cde. M. Stephens, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo) (Absent)
Cde. Ajoodhia, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)
Cde. D. Fernandes, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)

Members of the Minority (11)

(i) <u>People's Progressive Party (8)</u>

Minority Leader (1)

Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M.P., Minority Leader (Absent)

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly (Absent)

Other Members

```
Cde. Janet Jagan, M.P. (Absent)
Cde. C.C. Collymore, M.P. (Absent)
Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P. (Absent)
Cde. I. Basir, M.P. (Absent)
```

(There are two vacancies)

(ii) United Foree (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Absent) (There are one vacancy)

(iii) Working People's Alliance (1)

(Vacant)

OFFICER

Cde. M.B. Henzy, Acting Clerk of the National Assembly

PRAYERS

The Acting Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

(i) <u>Leave</u>

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Cdes. Massiah, A. Ally and Geddes for that day's sitting.

(ii) <u>Vacation of Seat</u>

The Speaker informed Members that Mr. M.A. Abraham, had been absent without leave from seven consecutive sittings of the Assembly within a period not longer than two calender months and which had been held on -

(i)	Monday, 4th February, 1991
(ii)	Wednesday, 20ch February, 1991
(iii)	Monday, 25th February, 1991
(iv)	Tuesday, 26th February, 1991
(v)	Wednesiay, 27th February, 1991
(vi)	Thursday, 28th February, 1991
(vii)	Monday, 4th March, 1991

Therefore in accordance with articles 54 and 156(1)(b) of the Constitution and Standing Order No. 77(2) he had vacated his seat in the National Assembly.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

BILLS - Second and Third Readings

ITEM 1 - INSTITUTE OF CHARTERED ACCOUNTANTS OF GUYANA BILL 1991 - Bill No. 2/1991 published 1991-01-12

The Minister of Finance moved the second reading of the following Bill:

A BILL intituled AN ACT to provide for the registration of persons as Chartered Accountants, to regulate the practice of accountancy and for matters connected therewith. The motion was put and carried.

The Bill was read a second time and was, thereafter, taken through its remaining stages and passed as printed.

ITEM 2 - TAXATION LAWS (RELIEF) BILL 1991 - Bill No. 4/1991 - published on 1991-02-08

The Minister of Finance moved the second reading of the following Bill:

A BILL intituled AN ACT to repeal the Estate Duty Act, and to amend the Deceased Persons Estates' Administration Act, the Tax Act and the Capital Gains Tax Act to provide for substantial tax relief.

The motion was put and carried.

The Bill was read a second time and was, thereafter, taken through its remaining stages and passed as printed.

ADJOURNMENT

At 2.37 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Regional Development the Assembly was adjourned to a date to be fixed.

S. NARAIN Speaker GI-03-25

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN.

1991-03-05